We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest and rude”
Review of Iniohos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iniohos Hotel
Ranked #214 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dishonest and rude”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

In the past year, we have been traveling from Uk, to France, Portugal, Morocco, Spain, Italy and now Greece staying in different hotels almost every day. This is the worst experience we have ever had. When we arrived at the reception of the Iniohos Hotel in Athens, a certain George pretended that the hotel only had rooms for 65 euros. We were surprised because we had checked the Internet and had learned from the hotel website that double rooms were available for 51,5 euros. So we booked only one night. Then we used the Internet and booked two extra nights for 103 euros.
When we left our keys at the reception to go for a walk in town, George was obviously unhappy about it and told us we would have to be downgraded to another room which we totally accepted.
But the next day, another member of the staff, despite acknowledging the fact that we should be downgraded, told us that we could keep the same room.
However today, as we returned from a visit in town, we met the same George again and he demanded that we pay an extra 12 euros because we had not changed room. We tried to reason him about the fact that his colleague had agreed to let us keep the same room but he rudely ignored it and wouldn't give us our room key without receiving the 12 euros first.
We consider that we have been cheated and that George is a dishonest employee. Again, this is the first time in a long journey that we have been treated so badly.
We strongly recommend that you avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    42
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
20
43
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

a good hotel if you want to visit Athens for business because it is near major public services, stadiums, night life and hospitals.
The hotel is basic, don't expect much and the area is dangerous but next to the hotel is the Omonia police station .
Some rooms are good but some are old.
They have undrground parking which is ideal for the centre of Athens

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_lewis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Sure the area isn't the best in Athens, but it will definitely entertain. Great service, room had everything we needed, free wifi access, Staff speak English and will help you out with everything you need. Great if all you need is a bed for the night before visiting the islands or heading to the airport. The police station is right next door and metro just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licketylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The hotel itself was very enjoyable. For 50eu a night it was clean, good wifi, helpful front desk and spacious enough room. The only downside was the neighbourhood. although it was very close to the subway station so it was very easy to get around the city it was a bad area. we never felt unsafe (especailly since the walk to the subway is 3 blocks away and there is a police station next door) but the cab drivers laughed at us when we even mentioned walking around there. the breakfast was decent also. other than the neighbourhood i can't fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This hotel might just be in the most seedy area to most folks yet I felt like I got the best seat in the house . I really was a bit Leary pulling up to see Tranny hookers and Nigerian drug dealers on the same street but at the same time Greek Orthodox priest roaming around .
I'm an adventures solo woman traveler and still felt very safe . The police station is right next door , so to see the hot men in uniforms and all the Roma gypsy women handcuffed in groups was very entertaining . Also it's central to everything . And great lil' shops to buy great souvenirs cheap . I got some great buys at the jewelry store across the street .
The rooms were clean and the service and free breakfast was excellent .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

good location..
good service..
the staff was very eager to help when asked..
the room was good..
the bed a little hard but gav enough comfort to sleep..
the bathroom was nice but tiny and could use a showercurtaine..
eventhou the policestation was nextdoor we werent bothered by it..
the breakfast was ok eventhou the coffey was not so good...
otherwise the price is afordable..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laslei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Nice and clean. They cleanded our room 3 times a day(everytime we went out)

Breakfast ok Dimitris who worked there was very kind and helpful

George at The Front Desk was really helpful and funny. He made me laugh many times and is the best!! Hope that he workes there next time we visit!!

Central located at the Omnia Square and near to Acropolis about 20 min walk

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra78sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Solomou Athens
#183 of 326 in Athens
214 reviews
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#233 of 326 in Athens
211 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Parnon
Hotel Parnon
#140 of 326 in Athens
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#176 of 326 in Athens
120 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#117 of 326 in Athens
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iniohos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iniohos Hotel

Property: Iniohos Hotel
Address: 26 Veranzerou | Omonia Square, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Iniohos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iniohos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing