We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They lost our booking”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #45 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My friend and I booked 2 single rooms here a few days before arriving in Athens. We booked through the hotel's own web site, and they send us confirmation by mail.
When we arrived at the hotel, they said that they had seen the booking "a day or two before" but the hotel was full. "We sometimes have a problem with our site about bookings" the owner (?) said. (Eh, well, fix it? And when you know about the problem before we arrive, send a mail?)

The owner had found another hotel for us, he said. But the "new" hotel was too close to the seedy streets around Omonia for comfort., besides the fact that we had booked Metropolis because we wanted to live close to Plaka. The owner called other hotels, and eventually found two rooms in Pan hotel. They did not have balconies, there were no roof terrace, and one of the bathrooms was shoe box size. Nothing wrong with Pan Hotel as such, but not what we wanted.

And the owner didn't even say he was sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank Malianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmet, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

I would firstly like to apologize for any trouble caused.

Booking engines and Online Travel Agencies are software that send automated confirmations, we do not send them ourselves, to the guest and a fax from a fax server to the property, sometimes, rarely, that doesn't happen, this is why we enter every day on the extranet of all our partner sites and check manually, when we realized your bookings we did send mail explaining, please check your spam or junk file, that also is a problem we can not control or fix.

We have made alternative arrangements to a hotel 320 meters from us nowhere close to Omonia square, of the same rating and category as we are obligated to do but I can understand your objections since it was not your choice.

Please accept my apologies again and I hope this incident did not have an impact on your last night in our Country.

Sincerely,

K.Tsiaktanis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

For the price you pay, this is a great little place to stay in Athens. It's clean, centrally located and has friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to all of Athens' amazing attractions and near great shops, restaurants and bars. The rooms are quite small but if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep, shower and store your bags this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flippo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Staff is so pleasant that it is a pity. Church works close to the hotel woke us up at 7:30 am. Rooms are small , bathrooms smaller even, and get wet very easily. It could be avoided with some investments. But location is unique,as roof terrace, night & day.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st and 2nd floor to the noise from the street and works.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel was clean, and was new and fresh. Staff was very friendly . The view from some of the balconies and from the roof top terrace is amazing. Beautiful night time view of the acropolis. Room was a little small but not a problem for a short stay. This was a great find and I woul certainly stay there again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great location. Walking distance to attractions, restaurants and shops. Clean hotel, comfortable beds, good air conditioning, balconies. Good breakfast roof top. Friendly helpful staff. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Central and easy to find-between Monastiraki and Syntagma. Comfortable beds, quiet at night-a good sleep. 24 hour reception. Newly redecorated and swish clean decor. Air conditioning working well. Good value 65 euros. Breakfast extra on rooftop. Will stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and have all the basics including great air conditioning and fantastic location. Close to several great restaurants, shopping, metro and attractions. The roof top patio is amazing at night and allowed for great pictures. There is an elevator. The rooms are clean and the bathroom was a riot to use. The shower drained into a drain in the middle of the bathroom so be prepared to have wet floors after a shower. Our shower had a leak in the hose and the toilet seat wouldn't stay up on its own. But other than those two things everything was great. I would stay here again if I come to Athens in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,340 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,890 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
957 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#40 of 282 in Athens
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £43 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing