We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #46 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Super convenient to see the sights, get in and out of Athens (metro or bus) and sample nice restaurants and nightlife.
The hotel is clean, well organised. The rooms are tiny but super comfortable and for a couple of nights in Greece you couldn't beat the location and the view! Our balcony had direct view to the Acropolis. The service was good.
Only problem is that it can be a bit noisy - probably more if you are on the lower floors next to the street.
Breakfast was average so might be better to sit in a nearby cafe.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 days in this perfect located hotel just 3 block from tgr Parlament, the subway ststion and the bus stop to the airport, in front of the cathedral and a short walk distance from the Monastiraki market and the Agora, 15 minutes walk from the Zeus temple, the Acrópolis and the Acrópolis museum. Plaka and Monastiraki are plenty of taverns, bar and restaurants modern and traditional. The hotel has lift and free wifi in all rooms. Helpful owners and stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay for two nights after a cruise waiting for a flight home. A friend recommended this hotel as it was half the price of the one I had chosen. I did it, but then worried about what I would find. It was actually okay. It was clean but small. The bathroom was tiny, with a shower curtain to separate the toilet and sink from the shower head. Entertaining. The room was small, not tiny, and seriously clean. The staff consisted of the owner, his son, and another young man taking turns manning the 'front desk'. If they stepped out for a minute, they locked the front door, so we were locked out of the hotel for 5 minutes once, but I realized it was for our safety and appreciated it. There were plenty of restaurants on the street, a fancy bakery, a department store, and it was just a block from the changing of the guard at the tomb of the unknown soldier. Don't miss that. If you go up on the roof, there is a nice view of the acropolis - especially at night. I recommend taking the silly little tourist train around town and getting off to climb up to the acropolis for a close up view. I thought it was worth the climb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiehmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you're looking for a small, inexpensive hotel near to all of the things to see, then this hotel is a good option. Easy walking distance to the Acropolis, parliament, and Monasteraki square.

The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The room was VERY small and bathroom had a very interesting shower setup which had the toilet inside the the shower curtain area. My biggest gripe was with the church bells directly across the street - every 30 minutes. Closing the windows helped, somewhat but then the temperature was hard to control.

The people were nice and efficient. Also, note they aren't taking cards and accept cash only.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The room was very formula one style clean and efficient . Was very easy to find and close to everything you want to see and do in Athens. Could see the acropolis from the balcony. We stayed on a weekend and the street noise and church bells were quite bothersome if you left the window open. The fix was to shut the windows and turn on the air. Much better sleep then. Helpful staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vancouvermtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our room was just big enough for the bed and the bathroom matched and it was very new and spotlessly clean. Staff were super helpful and friendly. We had a good view of the Acropolis (3rd floor). Bed soft, new and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 22, 32 and 42 probably have the best balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you are looking for a small hotel in the heart of Athens, this is the right place for you. The hotel is located just next to Ermou. Our room was small, bed was comfortable enough and bathroom was OK. I guess other rooms have renewed bathrooms but ours had not which was not a big deal for us. Our beddings and towels were not changed during three nights stay but what else you can expect from 50 Euros per night. At least our room was a no smoking one and we enjoyed smoke free stay. We had no breakfast, but it was available for 5 euros in the roof terrace. There were nice bakeries around, so it is also possible to try greek pies with spinach and cheese together with tea around 3 euros. Staff was friendly and wanted to help us for going to the airport since there was a strike on the Syntagma Square. Our value/price ratio is 6/10 for this hotel. With the same price per night, we would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank polly_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,795 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#43 of 281 in Athens
979 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#67 of 281 in Athens
965 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#79 of 281 in Athens
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £42 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing