We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing! The place to stay!!!”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #48 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed there last year in August and it was amzing! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and so close to everything. Acropolis, syntagma square, train station. Most of all the owners were so helpful and so friendly. I would only stay there again on my return to Athens. I just had a fantastic experience there! Please look no further than this place! A hotel sometimes is about the people more than anything else! Simply amazing! -Evaggelia from Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms and both were fantastic. Balcony outside. Comfortable beds in both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfect location for all the attractions of central Athens including the Acropolis et al. Clean and comfortable rooms in a district that is both relaxing and lively. Hotel staff cannot do enough for you, providing excellent and accurate advice. Roof top view at breakfast takes your breath away.A great central location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Germany for the past 3 years and travelled to most major tourist destinations in Europe, I have no qualms in saying Inder (staff) is without a doubt the best hotel staff member I have witnessed. All other staff were pleasant as well. Excellent rooftop view for breakfast. Room for 2 is a tad small, but was clean and functional. A/C was very nice. Location is awesome for walking the sites and a short walk from the metro.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bunny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located in Plaka and offers a fantastic view on the Acropolis for breakfast or drinks at night on the rooftop.
The hotel is right by Ermou street where you can go shopping, and it will take you just 10/15 min to go to Monastiraki, the flea market, Hadrian's Library etc. It is also close to Syntagma where you will see the guards, to the national gardens, and to the Cycladic museum (15 min walk) where you'll discover what inspired Modigliani, Picasso and Brancusi!

The staff is very helpful and extremely kind. Inder, at the reception will give you great tips on what to do in Athens day time and night time!

A 5 min walk takes you to the Hop on Hop off bus, and a 10min walk to the metro or to the airport bus.

The only dowside in my opinion is the overnight price for thin walls and an old shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleonoreAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We got off the plane, took X95 bus all the way to Syntagma Square and walked two blocks to this hotel. This was our second visit, and the rooms have been updated beautifully since our visit three years ago. We arrived on Easter Sunday, and we walked across the street to the plaka area and had a wonderful meal, shopping, music, next to the the beautiful cathedral. Everything is close, (restaurants, bakeries, shopping) and it is in a safe area. Breakfast is served on the rooftop where you enjoy a view of the parthenon. This family is very accommodating and knowledgeable, and provided great assistance and suggestions for our trip. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjhBozemanMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel could not be better located. The area is lively, but surprisingly peaceful for a city this size. The rooms, while small by most American standards, are larger than most in Paris or New York and are nicely appointed. The mattresses are very comfortable and the pillows high quality. Nice sheets ( not a polyester as in many small hotels) and fluffy towels. The crowning glory is the rooftop breakfast terrace with panoramic view of the Acropolis, so even if you don't score a room with a view, you will have it there. Our room, #51, is a triple. I booked it for the fantastic bougainvillea covered huge balcony facing the Acropolis, and a bit extra room to move around, and we were delighted. A large mirror over the desk reflects the vista so you can even see it from the bed. We expect to return to Athens, and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nonnagumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was my first stay in Athens in 9 years and I was unsure about which hotel to book and where, but the Metropolis Hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff were all very friendly, hospitable, accommodating and patient with us, and were incredibly helpful in providing us with whatever information and guidance we needed to find our way around the area.

The location is superb - close to many restaurants, the Plaka with its many tourist shops, and the hotel is only a comfortable and picturesque walk away from the Acropolis and the other ancient sites.

We stayed in room 31 which had a beautiful view of the Parthenon (particularly spectacular by night). It was perfectly sized for a couple or two people, with a television (though we didn't watch very much of it and it would be a sin to, with so many incredible things to see in the area), fast wifi, a beautiful bathroom and a lovely balcony bordered by the gorgeous Bougainvillea's branches. The bed was also probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and it was a joy to climb into it at the end of a busy, tiring day. The church bells ring every hour and half-hour, and although I was worried that I'd find them irritating at first, I actually didn't mind the sound at all. All part of the Athenian charm.

I'm the kind of person that sticks to something they've tried and enjoyed, so I'll definitely be back to the Metropolis in the near future. It has everything a tourist could want or need, and if you're unsure about which hotel to book in the area, I'd strongly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Book a room with an Acropolis view - even though you shouldn't be spending too much time indoors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FloraGiannakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,410 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 282 in Athens
618 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £45 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing