We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choise”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #55 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Algeria
1 review
“Perfect choise”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I found this hotel while I was walking in the area and the HUGE tree outside got my attention. Rooms are not big but are very clean and have a fantastic view to the Acropolis. The view is even better from the roof top where breakfast is served. Front desk is very helpfull, especially Kostas, that is usually there during the day. My stay there was pleasant and I would reccommend this place to anyone that needs a basic hotel right in the center of everything. The value for money is also somehting to consider this place is the cheapest in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reda09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    215
    76
    20
    16
See reviews for
96
277
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed for one night at the beginning of our Greece trip before heading off to various islands, and stayed for 3 additional nights on the tail end of our trip before heading home. We found the hotel very easily from the Metro our first night, after 34 hours of no sleep. We found the gentleman who greeted us that evening very courteous and helpful.We also found the others working at the reception desk very friendly - we were happily provided restaurant recommendations and quick routes to different areas of the city.
On both stages of our trip our rooms were very clean, comfortable, and what we were expecting. This is not a luxurious hotel, but when travelling in Athens for the first time, we had no intentions of spending more time in our room than necessary, thus we found that for our money we were not disappointed. The view from the balcony at breakfast (5 euro each, worth it for one breakfast, but we had gotten a little tired of the same style breakfasts so in Athens we didn't take breakfast at our hotel) is incredible. To get to the balcony you take the small lift to the 5th floor, then get off and take a flight of stairs. Very worth it - and it would be great for an evening snack and drink too. The bathrooms were quite small, but about average for our trip. Other than a lack of electrical outlets (we needed one for the camera battery charger so we unplugged the A/C for a few hours) the only real downside for the hotel was really, really hard towels. They were really clean, but ouch. The location of this place was great - we walked everywhere we wanted to, and the metro was so close. The morning we left we had a very early flight so we took the x95 to the airport - less than 5 minute walk from the hotel. If you are looking for a clean, basic room in an ideal location of Athens to see the major sites, and you can sleep on any type of bed, this should suit you fine.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We paid 75€ (breakfast available for 5€ per person extra, not worth it). Best thing about this hotel is it’s location, halfway between Syntagma and Monastiraki Squares, about 5 min walk to either, and 5 min to the main Plaka shopping street. Easy to find and to access from either metro station or the airport bus stop. Right across the street from the Mitropoli (cathedral). The second best thing about this hotel is the view – of the acropolis (and the dome of the Mitropoli). I think only the first two rooms on each floor (there are five floors) have the view, and probably only the top two or three floors, but there is a roof top terrace anyone can use with the view. The hotel did have free wi-fi (which unlike several hotels that had free wi-fi, this hotel’s worked), AC, lift. But it was definitely a tad run down. Not so much dirty as it’s seen better days. The floor tiles were cracked, bedspread dingy, etc. But the room was actually a very good size, plenty of space for our stuff, and we had a small balcony. For the price, and given the location, view and wi-fi, we were content.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Good location, easpecially if arriving on the X95 bus from the Airport. We booked a family room but got 1 double and 1 twin - the twin didn't have bathroom, but the double did...it worked out fine, but if our kids had been younger then would have meant different sleeping arrangements.

Rooms are basic and just about acceptable - for 20 euro more we could have got a Novotel room.......use this as a base to get over your flight but then get something better a bit further out.

A/C was very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thurlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmet, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, 27 August 2009
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and be sure that we use all comments to improve our selves and our hotel. Our family rooms have two double beds and can accommodate small families with young children. The two rooms you were offered instead are used, at our expense and when available, for families with teenagers that can not share 1 bed.The rooms are next to each other using the same bathroom that locks. Our rooms are indeed not high end but only offer what we advertise on our site. The location you have wisely chosen to spend your stay in Athens is the safest and most interesting, being in the old part of the city. Of course you can find in different areas cheaper accommodation but we are proud to admit we are one of the cheapest hotels in Plaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Excellent location, right in the middle of everything. The hotel is extra clean although it is very busy. We had an Acropolis view from our room, which was big enough for our needs, clean and kept clean for all 3 nights we spent there. Bathroom is a little small but acceptable and hot water 24 hours. What won me and us and know taking the time to write is the SERVICE!, the manager ( Kostas ) gives you the impression that nothing is impossible and had answers to everything. We had a good stay and would recommend it to our friends and anyone asking for a clean budget place in Plaka.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Perfect location, easy walk to all destinations, airport bus stop and metro.
The room is clean and tidy, traditional European style building with a very tiny lift.
The only thing I may suggest is if there is a fridge inside the room, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at Metropolis in a double room from May 13-16, 2009. From this hotel, you are a short walk from all the sights other than the Archaeolgiacal Museum, which is a metro and short walk away. You can't beat the location. The express bus to the airport or Piraeus is about 5 blocks away.

The hotel is small but serviceable. It has a small elevator, which helps when you arrive with your bags. The staff is very pleasant. The rooms are very small, but we are talking about a European hotel, and how much time will you be sitting in your room in Athens anyway. The bathrooms are also very small with the shower, toilet, and sink all crammed into a 3 ft by 6 ft area, but that also did not really cause any problems. When you do decide to rest at the hotel, the balcony is where you will want to hang out anyway, get one of the rooms with the Parthenon view. Grab some water and Mythos (75 cents) from the supermarket behind the hotel and sit on your balcony people watching. The flowers growing up the front of the building are apparently a big hit, as we sat amused on our balcony for an hour watching literally 35 people take pictures of our hotel.

There is also a cool rooftop area to hang out if your balcony does not have the Parthenon view. The road is loud, as (surprise) there are a lot of scooters and motorcycles in Athens, but the double paned windows and AC make this a non factor at night. They also have free wifi. The wake up call for us at 3am was made with no problems for our trip to the airport.

I recommend this hotel for those that are budget minded but want a convenient and safe area with a clean room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#76 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Athens
#40 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing