We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Plans got changed”
Review of Hellinis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellinis Hotel
Ranked #205 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This review is for my Honeymoon back in July 2006
The Hellinis Hotel was a place to go and shower and sleep, but not much more than that. The rooms were outdated, although they did come with a desk top computer which was great as we could look for places to go later in the evening.
The bathroom had a sewage smell that came from it everyday.
Also, the hotel wasn't convenient to the attractions or the touristy parts of Athens, we had to spend so many Euoros on taxi's. You could walk to the public transportation, we just weren't confidnt enough to use it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank husni76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Hellinis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

After staying at a fabulous hotel in Santorini for my sons wedding, we had the unfortunate experience of staying at this hotel for 2 nights. The rooms were absolutely filthy, stained carpets, dirty windows, dirty bedding, dirty bathrooms that you could hardly fit in. We tried finding another hotel, but because we had a group of 10 people, this proved impossible at such short notice. I was bitten by something in the room, we did not dare walk on the carpets barefoot. DO NOT stay here ever!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barrachibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I booked a room at the Hellinis hotel in Athens for one night and was absolutely horrified by the experience. As I got there past 2am, they gave me the only room left which was the worst room I have ever been in (and I have been to some pretty awful rooms. There was a big hole in the bathroom floor with massive cockroaches. The carpet was old and full of recent cigarette ash. The bed sheets looked dirty and they looked as though someone had used the bed recently. The area was clearly full of prositution and am pretty convinced that the hotel is used for non-travellers judging by some of the guests in reception.

I was so disgusted that despite it being 2am I checked out and found another hotel in a more decent area (cheaper, cleaner and safer)!! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Femaletraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We actually stayed there several years ago. Took me along time to write this review. We arrived late evening and were hungry. After checking in we went to the restaruant and were greeted by a older gentleman who sat us and was also our waiter. His name was Kostas. He was also the main bartender. He was awesome! We were there for 14 days and he truely made our stay great. I sat many a night sitting at the bar talking to him and asking him many questions about Athens. He was extremely helpfull. After a night out my wife and I would come back to the hotel, retire to our room, and awhile later there would be a knock on the door. There would be no one there but a plate of fruit and cheeses would be on the floor in front of our room. The rest of the staff was very friendly also. Many thanks to Kostas I would return just to see our friend again. I found the hotel very nice. Not a Hilton but for what we payed it was overall very adaquate.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahn3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The hotel is located quite a way from the center of Athens and any metro stations- you could walk (30-40 minutes) but you really need to get a bus. This is not at all difficult, as the hotel sells bus tickets and the bus stop is right outside. The buses are also very frequent and the journey is along one straight road and does not take long.

The rooms were functional and clean, but not spectacular; they were equipped with a fridge, a safe and a computer. The bathrooms are also fine, but there is no way to attach the shower head to the wall, making showering difficult.

Breakfast was passable, consisting mainly of bread, cheese and ham. There were also boiled eggs and plentiful tea, coffee and fruit juice.

The staff were all helpful and I would recomend this hotel to someone looking for a cheapish, basic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie4113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The hotel has all you need except meals can be expensive but you can go on the bus to Syngrou Fix, get off and up the hill lots of little affordable restaurants or go to Neos Cosmos about three streets back from the hotel and you will find a big shopping centre and affordable restaurants - choose where the locals go. An all day pass will cost you 3 euros for transport or 10 euros for all week. Once at Syngrou Fix you can connect to other lines for the centre. Athens used to be one of the safest places but be aware there are pickpockets around - it happened to me and I was wearing a bumbag. Once at the Plaka head towards the Acropolis at the back of all the tourist shops and you will find things cheaper. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayceeathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Stayed at the Hellinis a few weeks ago for several days and found it quite acceptable. I found the rates to be quite reasonable considering the size and condition of the room. The people at the Hellinis are where this hotel really shines. Their staff is so friendly and helpful, I can't thank them enough.

With that out of the way, you've probably read some reviews here that talk about tiny bathrooms, no shower curtains, hardcore porn on tv and a strip club in the basement. These are all true. But keep in mind the price you're paying for this hotel, it's no a 5 star hotel and doesn't claim to be. It's certainly not the sort of place I'd recommend for families with children, but for younger couples and single travelers, I think it's great.

I believe I saw at least one review that complained about the area the hotel was located in, saying that it wasn't safe. This couldn't be further from the truth. At no time did I feel I was in an unsafe area, even when I was outside late at night.

To me the biggest downside of this place was it's location right along what is basically a busy highway. It does get a bit noisey at night with the traffic, but even this I was able to live with.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alone_in_a_crowd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Lacoba Hotel
#190 of 282 in Athens
11 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#145 of 282 in Athens
130 reviews
Nestorion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilissos Hotel
#92 of 282 in Athens
576 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Parnon
Hotel Parnon
#123 of 282 in Athens
177 reviews
Athens Avenue Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kallithea
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellinis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellinis Hotel

Address: 177 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 17121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £32 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellinis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HELLINIS hotel has undergone a total renovation and it appeals to the demanding guest who looks a subtle luxury and a high level of services. Centrally located close to Acropolis , Constitution Square, next to the business, shopping and entertainment area of Athens.The 86 modern rooms are all equipped with air-conditioning, sound proof double glazing windows, electronic door locks, direct dial phone, satellite TV, hairdryer, mini fridge, electronic safe, PC free access to internet services and WiFi.The Hotel offers an elegant Restaurant, a Cocktail Bar, Cafeteria, room service, a comfortable TV lounge, internet corner, dancing club that make your stay more pleasant. Profile:Hellinis Hotel is known for the comfort and services that offers to the guests. It is easily accessible by all means of transportation but also provides fast access to all city attractions.Our location, our rooms, our low prices, the free internet services are some of the reasons that you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hellinis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellinis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing