We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hellinis Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Athens(Athens)
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$666
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$536
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
22
28
38
23
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
28
38
23
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stoprooms are cleanthe hotel staffsyntagma squaregreeksgreeceeuro
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2007

First of all the hotel is not centrally located as advertised.
Upon arrival the staff was very friendly but the rooms are small and not very clean.
We were given three rooms during the first day. The Air conditioner barely put out any cool air in the first room and the drain in the shower backed up in the second room. The entire room was flooded.........The third room was not much better.........But they do offer free PC / internet in each room.........I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The manager was not helpful at all.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Greene55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

At first sight seems to be in a noisy dangerous part of the city. Then we discovered that was really safe. The room has a PC with free internet. The breakfast is over the average. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. For a quick, low cost trip is really a good option.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tivolijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

My girlfriend and I, who have been to Athens before, stayed at this hotel. DO NOT BELIEVE THE PICTURES ON HOTELS.com. This hotel is NOT near any of the attractions in Athens. This is a ten minute bus ride from Plaka. *note-the buses are hard to navigate as they are in Greek.

The rooms aren't too bad. They have internet, tv, air conditioning, balcony, and overall ok for a modest traveler. *note-our room had a weird odor that we couldn't get rid of. That being said, the location is not good! Downstairs is a strip club, the area of the hotel is somewhat dodgy and loud(it is on a main highway).

I guess the bottom line is that the hotel is fine if you are looking for a cheap stay and don't mind taking a bus back from the attractions. I will say this, the breakfast is really good considering the price.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonasboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hellinis while attending an academic conference in Athens. The room was so small, the bathroom was so cramped that the door didn't open all the way and the SMELL...UGH! I swear something was wrong with the sewer system because everytime you turned on the water the whole room filled with that stink! The bed was so hard it was difficult to even call what we were sleeping on a mattress, it was more like a box spring. The staff, while pleasant, did not speak English very well at all and we had a difficult time expressing our disappointment in the quality of the accomodations. Yes, the room has a DSL connection, big whoop! Good luck using it since everytime it starts to rain the power goes out in the whole hotel and then it is 4 hours before the connection is restored once the power comes back on. As for the satellite TV... um unless you're fluent in Greek, do not consider this a feature. The only thing in English was CNN International and the reception was fuzzy and choppy. Don't even get me started on the location... 10-15 minutes by bus from anything worth looking at, I wouldn't recommend walking it because... first, it is way too far away and, second, because it is definitely not the friendliest part of town. Pretty seedy indeed. Unfortunately the conference we attended was scheduled during the European Football Championship so we couldn't change hotels because everything was booked solid. Believe me, we would've changed hotels in a heartbeat if it was possible. BEWARE!
--cheers
D.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank olseda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2007

My friends and I ( young adults, seasoned travelers) stayed here in April 2007 during a three-week tour of Europe. We stayed mainly at budget hotels. I would have to say that out of the seven or so hotels we experienced, Hellinis was probably the worst in terms of cleanliness. I would not recommend it to others traveling in Athens.

Room (triple that came with four beds)
- Our room (and the hotel as a whole) smelled of cigarette smoke. Usually I wouldn't mind it as the nose gets acclimated to the smell (and we were in Europe after all). However, the odor remained unusually intense throughout our stay to the extent that it was nauseating at times. I don't think the hotel differentiates between smoking and nonsmoking rooms.
- We had a computer with free internet which was a big plus (don't expect to upload your digital pictures though, the computer won't allow it).
- There was a TV with many channels, including one that played American movies. Be forewarned, however, that the last three channels are hardcore porn.
- The comforters were tattered, with seams loose all over (didn't inspire much confidence in hotel quality).
- The ensuite bathroom had a tub and shower head but no shower curtain. The floor got drenched after each shower. Moreover, the bathroom smelled of mildew.
- The toilet didn't flush well and paper (used conservatively) kept getting clogged. The bathroom started getting unpleasant odors after the first few nights.
- There is a huge balcony with a non-significant view of Athens' urban buildings.

Location
- The main tourist area of town is about 10 minutes away by bus, which was convenient. We didn't mind since we paid less to stay a little out of the city center. The bus stop is steps away from the hotel and you can buy tickets from the reception.
- However, I'd say the hotel is in a pretty seedy area, with a strip/sex club right next door (the ashtray in our room was from that club) and many others down the street.
- There is a huge street - actually I'd call it a highway since you can't cross it and cars go about 80 miles an hour - right in front of the hotel. You have to take an underground tunnel to the other side of the street (also close to the hotel) when you're coming back from the town center by bus. The tunnel was well lit but I probably wouldn't go down there alone.

Misc
- There is an elevator
- Breakfast isn't appetizing at all. Skip it and get some amazing Greek food in the town center.

Overall I was not totally satisified. I don't consider myself an overly picky person when it comes to hotel amenities and aesthetics. All I ask for is a clean room - not matter how small it is! - which I don't think was provided at Hellinis. The main issues for me were the mildewy bathroom, poorly flushing toilet, and very old bed linens.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bonvoyage07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews