We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average hotel; far from comfortable”
Review of Hotel Niki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Niki
Ranked #122 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good location for a short stay but err not a place I wud normally opt for :-/ We were transiting thru Athens on our way back frm Meteora and chose this hotel looking at d pictures and thot of giving a benefit of doubt to the reviews for once! But, we learnt our lesson well! A very shoddy reception, a lift u had to squeeze oneself into! A claustrophobic room quite stuffy! And my husband even found a hair strand on the bed and when he complained about it to d old, extremely disinterested man at d reception - he actually got no response just a lame 'u cud stay or leave' sort of expression! Gosh! We were only too glad that we just had a couple of hours to spend at this hotel! D only good thing was tht we requested for early breakfast and that surprisingly was served to us since we had an early flight to Santorini! Wud definitely not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divinedivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Niki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a very convenient location with easy access to everything.

Rooms are very small. Our room had a nice big balcony but only a double bed while some other rooms have king size beds.

Problem with broken hair dryer and lights were attended to immediately which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelab2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have known this hotel for the last 30 years. In the early days whilst visiting Athens as tourist's we used the hotel bar to meet up with our Greek friends. Many happy evenings were spent here with lots of music and singing with the local people. Sad to say this is not so now.
The hotel was modernised in 2004 for the Olympics. The rooms and facilities have improved greatly but we miss the happy evenings we enjoyed so much in the early 80's. From a business point of view the hotel is often full and we have had difficulty in recent years booking a room.
We were lucky this month as they had a vacancy and we were able to renew our relationship with the hotel which has been owned by the same family since the 70's.
Our small room with city view was clean and comfortable with a large balcony and good wi-fi. We remember all rooms do not have balcony's which is not unusual for Athens city centre.. Buffet breakfast was good although didn't have the hot dishes many hotels offer these days. The location is perfect for the Plaka, sightseeing, shopping and public transport.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The chamber maid has been at the hotel for about 15 years and is friendly and efficient. We hope we are lucky enough to find a room here on our next visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Enquire about a balcony when bookibg
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Overall is a good hotel for the price paid. Is close to main attractions in Athens and public transportation. In fact you can take the bus from the airport and walk a few blocks to this hotel.I visited Athens in September the atmosphere of the city was awesome! I walked all the time :) this is a perfect place to stay in if you are traveling in budget without compromising comfort and quality, meaning rooms are small, clean, provided with fare facilities, modern and enough considering you will be back to sleep, rest and refresh. Breakfast is included, it was good enough for me (bread, boiled eggs, cereal, juice, yogurt and coffee). The service desk attention was helpful and friendly :) I will book here traveling in budget solo, with friends and couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MssPalmerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I just finished staying at Hotel Niki, and I must say that it was value for money. It is central to Syntagma Square, Plaka and everything that a tourist might need. As a single woman traveling alone I didn't feel unsafe in this area, as there was a great little restaurant a minute away from the hotel that served excellent traditional Greek food.
The reception staff are friendly and helpful and were able to help book tours etc. The breakfast is simple, and satisfying enough until you find your Greek coffee and pastry fix while wandering around Athens.
I stayed in a twin room, while small, it was big enough for me and the bathroom served it's purpose well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Niki, whilst on business in Athens. The hotel is centrally situated and close to many historical attractions. Rooms are small (exactly what you would expect from a city centre hotel) but comfortable and clean. The room rate is fantastic value for money. Staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catielettuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very good hotel in exelent location , Very close to the x95 bus from the airport and metro
The rooms are nice and cleen ,
Bathroom a bit small but nice and cleen .
The loby and the salon are nice and Convenient
The wifi in the lobi is good but in the rooms not all the time.
The brekfast is continental plus , dont expect for Something special
The staff was very nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: Some rooms hes smooking smell , ask to change
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moshe1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#108 of 282 in Athens
236 reviews
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#111 of 282 in Athens
454 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#74 of 282 in Athens
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#46 of 282 in Athens
592 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#63 of 282 in Athens
956 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niki

Address: 27 Nikis, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £47 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Niki 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Niki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niki Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing