We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Accommodation with Arrogance”
Review of Hotel Neos Olympos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neos Olympos
Ranked #239 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
“Terrible Accommodation with Arrogance”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I should have stayed here for 2nights last 11-13Jan; but it turned out to be a terrible experience with display of arrogance from Anastacio, an old man reception personnel. Since my wallet was stolen on my first day at Monasteriki that i needed to temporarily blocked my credit cards, i decided to appear and negotiate with him to still charge the 32Euro against my accounts (as my cash was as well taken away by the thugs and my card will be replaced after a week). The fact that i appeared and gave my passport and situation, this man instead CANCELLED my booking and bluntly displayed his arrogance and stated that he NEEDED cash so he would sell my booked room than having my presence at all.

I couldnt believe that there exists a single individual in the industry having no breeding at all, nor a proper training to display polite service for the guests. The fact that their location is not at all impressive and enticing (industrial area and too far from from the point-of-interests), this property would only give insignificant experience to enjoy Athens for all the tourists alike... Even a penny is not worth-spending for this slum-hotel...

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter42373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    64
    64
    36
    35
See reviews for
17
92
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I spent one day at Neos Olympos Hote in Athens and the impression are:
- the hotel didn't exceeded my expectations, but it didn't disappointed me as well
- it is on a crowded street, so it is a litlle bit noisy ( the fact didn't affected me very much because I arrived there after one night without sleep and one day strolling in Athens)
- the room was clean, but the furniture seemed quite old ( I had a room at the first floor).
- the buffet breakfast was ok, you can't expect much from a 1* hotel
- I couldn't pay the room with my credit card due to some technical problems with the POS
- I arrived at the hotel before checking in time ( at 9 AM), but the room was available at that time
- the staff is friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sibiu_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel. It represents exceptional value for money and exemplifies the best in Greek hospitality. Although this hotel is not right in the city centre (it is located almost opposite Athens main railway station) there are excellent trolley bus and metro connections which quickly get you into the city. The hotel is also well situated for easy transfers to the airport and the main ferry port at Piraeus.
Despite arriving after midnight (due to a flight delay) we were given a warm welcome.
We purchased food at a nearby restaurant and brought it back to the hotel, eating it on the balcony overlooking the old Peloponese Railway station. Our room was comfortable, clean and there was plentiful hot water for showers even at that time of night and even although the hotel is on a main road the traffic noise didn't cause us a problem. We had forgotten to put our watches forward and after a very comfortable night went downstairs for breakfast - thinking it was 9.15am - however it was 11.15am, so we had missed it!
A Neos Olympos breakfast fairly sets you up for the day so we had to make do with a cup of coffee up at the Plaka instead.
We were taking a ferry to the Dodecanese later in the evening so asked if we could leave our cases at the hotel while we went into the city - which was no problem, in fact we also arranged to leave our cases at the hotel (even although we weren't staying there) on our return from the islands until it was time to catch our flight home, again leaving us free to explore the city.
Giorgos and Giorgia run a well established hotel, which is always a good introduction for foreigners coming into Greece.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had stayed 2 nights at neos olympos. The staff was helpful and rooms were clean; only thing is there are too much noise due to traffic. There are not too many choice in the breakfast but it was satisfactory. Its a cost-effective alternative of staying. One of the guest's car is stolen on the next street on the first night. If you travel with car you should park in a safer place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkayDikici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a busy main street. I asked for a quiet room but as I had booked a triple room I had to get a room on the main road as all the triples were there. The room was on the fourth floor and there was no lift. The sound proofing of the room was poor and road noise was quite loud. Other breakfast was plentiful but the quality was average.

Helpful?
Thank DesmondM89
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

location is kind of good,slightly off the city, but not too far,me and my fd arrived at night... not easy to find if its ur first time there, but theres a police station near by , so ppl are willing to help. there are many travel agency near by, so if your going to albania next, you could easily get a ticket . staff dont speak great english but very helpful share bathroom is clean , breakfast is GREAT considering this price.

I stayed there 3 nights and we are like long-term traveler , we really need internet for information, and the wifi wasn't working for 2 days there....so.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlykww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hotel is family-run, very friendly and clean. For the money you can't get much better than this place. Ask to stay on first or second floor as rooms are newest there, although top floor also seems nice ... Just not as up-to-date. Owners take a lot of pride in their hotel and are very helpful arranging for taxis, etc. Only serious drawback is the location ... Do you want to save 25€ for 3-4 block walk? I'll let you decide that one for yourself. For me the decision was easy.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floors are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Cosmos
#137 of 326 in Athens
301 reviews
Hotel Semeli
#141 of 326 in Athens
31 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#220 of 326 in Athens
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#168 of 326 in Athens
186 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#170 of 326 in Athens
301 reviews
Hotel Moka
#156 of 326 in Athens
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neos Olympos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neos Olympos

Property: Hotel Neos Olympos
Address: 38 Diligianni Theodorou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Neos Olympos 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neos Olympos Hotel is a beautiful building in the heart of Athens, in front of central railway station and metro, free fast internet access ADSL, large Coffee Shop, 24 hours reception, free luggage storage, fully air-conditioned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neos Olympos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neos Olympos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing