We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated Stalis - Dirty as Athens”
Review of Stalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stalis Hotel
Ranked #245 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hated Stalis - Dirty as Athens”
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Once in a rare while you come across a hotel that leaves such a bad taste in your mouth that it virtually ruins the entire city for you. Stalis was just such a place for me and my girlfriend.

When I booked the hotel I knew my flight would not be arriving in Athens until 3AM, so I put a special note under comments that we were booking for the night but would not arrive until 4AM. I was so concerned about this, that I wrote an email the day of the reservation again informing that I would not arrive until very early the in the morning of the next day. I specifically requested that they not give away my reservation and stated that I would be there as planned.

When we arrived in Athens we took a great 24 hour bus to Syntagma Square from the airport, hoping to avoid a hefty cab fair. We then took a cab from the square to Stalis - a 5 minute drive that cost us 25 Euros and took us down sketchy hooker-lined streets prompting the crooked cabbies quote "Welcome to Africa". But the best was yet to come...

When we finally arrived at the destination, the cabbie warned that we not take all the bags in just yet - apparently Stalis has a reputation for what was about to happen...

The hotelier told me upon arrival that he had a problem with our reservation. His lame excuse was that one of the floors of the hotel was without power and so they did not have a room for us. I told him that I specifically emailed him about this and asked why they had not responded to me before about not having a room for me. He had no answer. He said they could have a room for me at 7AM when an electrician was coming. I suggested that since it was 4 AM we would not be needing power until the morning because we were going straight to sleep. He still could not provide me with a room. Obviously this was a lousy excuse for overbooking.

After much bickering, he sent me to their sister hotel Parnon, an otherwise normal hotel where we finally slept but which did not have some of the amenities for I had specifically booked Stalis - especially no luggage room for when we were touring the Greek Islands. I cancelled my return reservation to Stalis from the Islands. The last thing you want at 4AM is a hotel that gave away your reservation. Thanks Stalis, for being the worst hotel I have every encountered.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — they gave away my reservation and it is located on an alley with hookers
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    13
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed at Stalis for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Payed 60Euro/room/night, could've payed 50. There was parking in front of the hotel for 10Euros/day. Was clean, was ok, this is the word. Our only worry was the area, which, even though downtown, looked quite fishy. A bigger problem was that next to our room, in the other building, there were some 4-5 black people that were quite loud and I was a bit afraid to go out on the balcony. Anyway, to be in a worry-free location, I definitely recommend Plaka or Monastiraki.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nony4lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Cheap and basic no frills hotel that met our needs. This hotel is very basic but only cost EURO 50 for both of us, including basic continental breakfast.

The rooms are clean and have air-co and private bathroom. It is within walking distance of all the main attractions in Athens, but be careful to stick to the main streets, as some of the surrounding streets are quite rough. There is also lots of parking close by, if you have a car like we did. The price for parking is reasonable (around EURO 18 for up to 24 hours).

  • Liked — Good location - walking distance from the shops and historical sites; cheap and clean
  • Disliked — Some of the surrounding back streets were a little dodgy!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beansley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 May 2006

A small hotel in the center of Athens . The rooms are nice and very clean . The price of the rooms is great .Ideal for budget travellers .

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#145 of 326 in Athens
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cosmos
Hotel Cosmos
#137 of 326 in Athens
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal City Hotel
Crystal City Hotel
#132 of 326 in Athens
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#122 of 326 in Athens
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evripides Hotel
Evripides Hotel
#50 of 326 in Athens
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stalis Hotel

Property: Stalis Hotel
Address: 10 Akominatou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stalis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Stalis Hotel provides the ideal location for your next visit to Athens. Fully renovated in January 2010, the Hotel offers quality services for low budget rates. The Stalis Hotel has 31 guest rooms with en-suite showers. The rooms have been tastefully furnished and have a welcoming atmosphere that will ensure a peaceful night’s sleep. Stay connected with free high speed Wi-Fi internet access in every room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stalis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing