We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Golden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden City Hotel
Ranked #194 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The hotel itself was not bad.It was three of us staying there, our room was OK, spacious and comfortable,though, could be a bit cleaner. But, some of the hotel stuff wasn't very polite.Of course,we had many questions, but if you work at the reception it is your duty to be polite.
In addition,one morning, the man working in the restaurant where we had breakfast, literally forced us to finish and leave the restaurant and then shut the door loudly behind us!
But, putting that aside, the area where this hotel is situated is the worst part of Athens, you cannot go out alone in the night, many homeless people, drug addicts, prostitutes, not safe at all!
Wouldn't reccommend it for those who want to stay longer and explore the city, because this is your first impression, and believe me, you would be surprised.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra_Montenegro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

I stayed here for one night the room was basic but very clean and warm. The tv was broken when i arrived but i phoned reception and it was sorted quickly. Breakfast was very good with a big choice of warm and cold foods and plenty of juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 144loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The service was great, the price even better and the breakfast served quite decent. Daily room service, a nice environment, friendly staff and a more-than-decent room. I've got to note that due to high traffic there was some noise and the bathroom had a bad odour potentially from the pipes. There was a bath (sort of) in the bathroom, but almost half the regular size. Still better than just a shower though. The location is great for easy access to the city, although not in one of the best locations, some people would feel insecure moving around alone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manos_Som
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Service is good. The hotel rooms are very clean, breakfast is good (not excellent), the location is very central about 300m from Metaksourgeio Metro Station and at walking distance (20min) from Monastiraki. Although the area is central I wouldn't recommend it to families because of the high number of (illegal?) immigrants that make an unsafe feeling to the area. Although Athens is still one of the safest capitals in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

i stayed almost 2 weeks and is a very nice hotel very clean and the stuff ALL are very kind helpfull and professionals.... anytime i will be in Athens i will never change it.... very good value for money and breakfast was also nice .... the stuff is always help and make your stay as easy and comfortable is possible......

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drosos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

We were so happy to arrive at golden city!!! It was lovely! The service was great giving up a wake up call, take away brekky because we had to leave at 6am, gave us a map and showed us around and good places to eat! The rooms were clean and big. bathroom is great ( has a bath)! The restaurant downstairs was very nice, fresh juice is Delish!!! Overall very nice, would highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessipica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel is great, super super clean everything feels brand new in the room. People at the reception were super helpful, i even got sick one day and had a high fever due somthing i ate and they were up and running quickly with medication and a doctor. Its 3 minutes walk from the metro station, 10 minutes walk from the nearest bus station which i actually dont recomend, metro is much faster and efficient Would recommend this hotel very much.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MahmoudN36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.3 mi away
Crystal City Hotel
Crystal City Hotel
#103 of 282 in Athens
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#108 of 282 in Athens
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#111 of 282 in Athens
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Phidias
Hotel Phidias
#130 of 282 in Athens
216 reviews
97.5 mi away
Byzantion Hotel
Byzantion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mystras
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City Hotel

Address: 46 Marni, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £37 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Athens
Hotel Golden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing