We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for our 2nd trip to Athens and for exploring the city's fun side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for our 2nd trip to Athens and for exploring the city's fun side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Our trip was a mix of business and pleasure. It was the perfect place for our second visit to Athens. We visited Greece and Athens for our honeymoon in June 2010 and stayed at the Grand Bretagne. That was also wonderful. Our last visit mostly focused on the key sights, but we missed some of the neighborhood sightseeing. On this trip, I particularly wanted to see more of Thissio, Plaka, and Gazi and just take in more of Athens cultural side. I think the GB hotel is perfect for honeymooners and anniversary celebrations, but O&B was good for this second trip since we had already had the hotel room with the view, etc. in our last trip.

We liked the location of O&B. It's not on the prettiest street. On your way to one of the metros, you do pass shops selling the most random junk (err...or someone else's treasure). But it's so close to Psirri's main hub which is actually almost quaint with cobblestone streets and various restaurants, cafes, and small bars. We stopped by the gelato place daily (Gelatamania?) and found a small, hip bar (name is in Greek but it sounds like Othirio or Thirio) with great loungy music (fabulous DJ) and some creative drinks.

It's within walking distance of Thissio, Plaka, and the Acropolis, as well as Gazi. It's also convenient to two different metro stops so getting around the city is not bad at all.

We hit Athens during Easter weekend so things were a little slower and quieter. Yet, we were surprised by the amount activity despite the holiday. And, we got to take in one of the country's greatest celebrations.

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are a little small but just fine. The bathroom was a good size and the shower (no tubs) was fabulous. All the little things (except for the scratchy toilet paper)—comfy beds, sheets, toiletries, turndown service—are what you might expect in a hotel like the GB. The breakfast is included and is very good even if it doesn't vary from day to day...lattes made to order and eggs as well. They left little treats in our room on a couple of the days, too.

The internet was mostly okay but it was a little spotty sometimes. This is also free.

The staff is very nice and accommodating. They don't have irons in the room but they'll iron your item for free!

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you've been to Athens before and are interested in some of the hotel's surrounding social scene (though our room was adequately quiet with the windows closed). Sure, the Grand Bretagne was nice but we had to either cab or walk further to some of the better dining options and to get a drink. I personally like the location of O&B more than those in Syntagma if you're interested in exploring some smaller restaurants, cafes, and want more of a neighborhood feel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    423
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
236
1,169
83
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Positives, mostly -- Staff service is as good as the reviews say. They helped us make a very good car rental arrangement (a local company, Avanti, which was better value and more convenient than a major). We walked easily to the sights of classical Athens. The churches in the neighborhood, from Psiri to Monastiraki, were all readily accessible. Psiri itself has an interesting nightlife scene, much more so than the conventional Plaka area. The hotel dining room was good for breakfast and there is a cute bar that should be utilized more. Negatives -- the rooms are small, though adequate. Psiri is a neighborhood "in transition," so that once you leave this very clean, new, comfortable hotel, you see "shops" selling things like someone's old Patty Playpal doll; plus a bunch of dumpsters, and a crumbling building or two. If you need a lot of insulation from local life, this is probably not your best choice. Lastly, the rate scale is such that the O&B becomes a better value if you're staying two or three nights, which we were. Conclusion: would we stay here again? Definitely. Far better and way more fun than the Marriott, for example, where we stayed one night. When you're here, you are in Athens, no mistaking it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed at the O&B hotel for three nights and have nothing but great things to say. They were welcoming and helpful, the rooms and hotel are beautiful, the breakfast was amazingly good, and the location is very central to the sights and metro. They even graciously allowed me to check out a night early with no penalty, even though i was outside the cancellation window. I would have paid more for this hotel without complaint, but we got a great deal. All around, one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Europe -- would recommend without hesitation to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

The service is simply outstanding. The staff is extremely helpful. They helped us with all our travel planning and booking. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZulfiKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I cannot say enough about this small boutique hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Ochre and Brown is within walking distance of so many sites in Athens. We only took a taxi to/from the airport. The rooms are very nice and modern- and they offer free internet which is so helpful. Each morning, a variety filled breakfast is served. Definitely our 'go to' hotel destination when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaFamilleAventureuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

We have just stayed here for the weekend and must recommend the hotel. We have been to Athens many times and last time stayed at the Grande Bretagne which was beautiful, however the O and B is just as fine in our opinion, if not better.
THe location is fantastic, so close to all the sights and great restaurants that are far less touristy than the Plaka area.
The hotel is beautiful, clean and the staff so helpful. They accommodated us so nicely with a late check out and the breakfast spread was lovely.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Incidently, regarding the noise that some people have mentioned, we stayed on a Friday night and slept with the patio door open for the entire night without being disturbed,

Room Tip: The third floor rooms offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHoskisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We have just spent the weekend here and it was the perfect choice. You can walk to the acropolis very easily and the abundance of restaurants that are on the way.
It is a small hotel so has limited facilities but the food we had was excellent and the service spot on. The staff really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinklady041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O&B Athens Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O&B Athens Boutique Hotel

Property: O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Address: 7 Leokoriou Str. | Psiri, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O&B Athens Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O&B is a cozy Boutique Hotel, in the centre of Athens, next to the main sights of the city and just one minute walking from Thisio Metro Station and Monastiraki area. With its Acropolis Suites featuring private terraces with view of the Parthenon, its elegant rooms and its trendy Bar Restaurant, O&B Athens Boutique Hotel provokes you to experience the new meaning of hospitality and care, giving a new flavor and meaning to the urban lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O&B Athens Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o And b Athens Boutique Hotel
o b Athens Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing