We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in athens!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spacious, clean and comfortable room, right in the middle of the flea market and walking distance from major attractions in Athens. The staff were so nice and helpful! My husband and I had to change a flight at the last minute, and they called the airline to help us. Also do yourself a favor and eat breakfast there! i believe it was 7Euro per person but buffet style with fresh OJ, coffee, tea. Of course delicious greek yogurt with many, many toppings to choose from, baked goods, hot dishes, etc. On our return to Athens we plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItaliaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Getting there:
If flying in to Athens international airport, the hotel is a 45 minute (16 stop) ride on the Metro. The Metro leaves directly from the airport and costs 8 EU one way to Monastraki station. A taxi from the airport will cost you about 40 EU. The metro is very easy to navigate. All stops are announced in both Greek and English. It is about a 10 min walk to the Hotel from the station.

The Hotel:
Quick and easy check in. The room was small but adequate for what we needed (room #6). The washroom was big and clean. The room was equipped with a TV, DVD player and CD player. Robes and slippers are available in the room for guests. There are no outlets for electronic devices being brought from Canada except for one in the washroom for shavers. iPads will not charge in this outlet. The area looks a bit shady with graffiti and street vendors lingering everywhere but we didn't have issues with our safety as we walked around after we were acclimatized. The Acropolis is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Thanasis restaurant in Monastraki had awesome food as reported by Andrew Zimmer the travelling chef. Breakfast at the hotel was good ( fruit, cereal, eggs, juice etc). The room had a mini bar available. For those Canadians who like their rye and ginger... Be ware..ginger ale is difficult to find. If you want to chill out with a drink after a long trip, grab a can of beer from the many street variety stores, cheaper then the mini bar. My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't have an area outside to sit and people watch when you want to escape from the very busy streets of Athens. If leaving early morning to the port or other destination, boxed breakfasts are offered by the hotel. Unfortunately after reminding the front desk twice that we would like one they forgot. Kudos to the hotel though for sending us an email and refunding us some money for the mix up.
One other minor indiscretion was that the front desk told us that we could collect our pre booked ferry tickets from one of the travel agencies on Niki Street Athens. This was incorrect. The travel agencies we inquired with (3 of them) informed us that this is NOT the case. Get your tickets at the port.

Travelling from the hotel to the port (Pireaus):
Thissio Metro station is about 100 metres from the front door of the hotel. Trains leave roughly every 10-15 mins to the port. The cost is 1.40 EU! It is 6 stops / 15 mins to the port. A couple at the hotel paid a taxi 30EU to be driven there. It is much easier and cost effective to take the Metro. Once at the station head towards the Ferries to pick up your tickets if ordered on line.

The Ferry:
Economy tickets mean, find a plastic chair on the deck and buckle in for the ride. We sat on the top deck at the rear of the boat. No issues with motion sickness but we filled our lungs with our fare share of fumes from the boat exhaust. Pay the extra for the next level up of seating - assigned seating inside the ferry.

Overall the hotel was good value for money. Booked on booking.com. Shady area but apparently that is part of the Athens experience. Food and market/bakery items are close by. We stayed 2 nights in Athens and left for Mykonos. That was a enough for us. Don't let your Athens experience dictate the rest of your ideals about what Greece offers. We are in Mykonos now and cannot even begin to compare the two..

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed there recently with our two sons. The service throughout the entire stay by all the staff was fantastic.

A few points however for those considering their stay in Athens.
First night when we were walking in the neighbourhood for dinner we came across the following:
1. There is a sex shop at the bottom of the street
2. Someone was being arrested for drunk and disorderly
3. A man was urinating against a shop.

The 'Grand Suite' is not that grand and in fact feels very cramped. The sofa was a bed and there was another bed in the lounge. There is no complimentary water in the rooms, so stock up.

I think the hotel is over-priced for what it is.

On the plus side - apart from the friendly and knowledgeable staff, the breakfast is very good. The hop on hop off sightseeing bus stops just at the bottom of the street. There are loads of restaurants and bars in close proximity. The view of Acropolis was amazing from our windows.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thesaint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After seeing the great reviews and the pictures of this hotel I was a little disappointed when I walked in and the reception area needed painting, the wooden floors were badly scratched (particularly the elevator), and the bed cover was slightly stained. Also as others have mentioned the immediate neighborhood is a little concerning at first. Although there are pictures of large bathrooms, don't expect every room to have a large one - our's was tiny (at least the shower was on the larger side compared to a lot of European hotels). BUT, those were the only negative issues with the hotel. The customer service was great - everyone was very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff even allowed me to use their laptop to check in and print boarding passes for our flight when I couldn't get my phone app to work. The neighborhood does look sketchy (lots of graffiti and a sex shop on the corner) but we didn't at any time feel unsafe even walking around in the evenings. The actual location is very convenient to most tourist destinations - we only took the Metro once when going to the National Archeological Museum - we could have probably walked if we'd known the actual distance. Although the hotel has become a little worn, the linens are nice, the bed was very comfortable, the staff were great, and overall we enjoyed our stay. We would stay again (with lowered expectations), but I'd probably ask for a room with a larger bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirlinmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel right in the heart of Athens. 10 min walk to the Acropolis, 5 min walk to some great restaurants! The service was fantastic. They let us check in early and brought us fresh squeezed juice and some delicious homemade treats. We had to leave early the next morning and they were kind enough to pack up a "breakfast box" for us. Also, the A/C was great and the shower was incredible. I had heard bad things about Greek hotel showers but this one was truly delightful. Great water pressure and a rainfall shower head. This was very appreciated after walking around in the hot sun all day! I think my husband and I took a combined total of 7 showers in 24 hours!

Despite the location right in the middle of the city, we slept great. Very quiet and relaxing!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emilyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I started our two week honeymoon with two nights in Athens. We found the O&B on TripAdvisor and loved what we read in the reviews. We can only ehco what we read in the reviews.

Some of our favorite things were the incredibly attentive staff, amazing location (never took a single taxi other than to the airport), and waking up to a fresh breakfast that had good variet (breakfast was included with the room).

I would suggest this hotel to friends traveling to Athens without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mnight85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel in an awesome location for touring central Athens. Yes, you pay a premium for this type of access, but it allowed us to make the most of our time in the city without spending an excessive amount of time on the metro. We never set foot in a taxi either.

Since we were traveling with our son and his wife, we had reserved the Acropolis suite. The rooms were spacious, with a sleeper sofa in the living room, and an additional sleeper cot brought in. There is a lavish breakfast buffet that runs until 1130, which is very helpful as you accommodate to ‘Athens time’. The view of the acropolis was great, minus a few antennas in the way (but aren’t the daily cranes just as distracting?).

The neighborhood was certainly interesting and I would take this for what is was, a daily flea market that swells on the weekend, strolling onlookers, and the most graffiti I’ve seen in any city. With that being said, the location beat out of all of these distractions, especially since you could walk to the pedestrian areas in only a few minutes. Once you were tucked in your room, the solid double-paned windows kept out ALL of the street noise, something that is definitely appreciated, but very hard to find in a large city!

It was especially nice to be close to some of the other little areas off the beaten path of the Plaka, we would definitely prefer this location if staying in central Athens again. We have stayed in other top trip advisor hotels in the Plaka, but this hotel beat them all. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 281 in Athens
1,728 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O&B Athens Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O&B Athens Boutique Hotel

Address: 7 Leokoriou Str. | Psirri, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £93 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O&B Athens Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O&B is a cozy Boutique Hotel, in the centre of Athens, next to the main sights of the city and just one minute walking from Thisio Metro Station and Monastiraki area. With its Acropolis Suites featuring private terraces with view of the Parthenon, its elegant rooms and its trendy Bar Restaurant, O&B Athens Boutique Hotel provokes you to experience the new meaning of hospitality and care, giving a new flavor and meaning to the urban lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your O&B Athens Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o And b Athens Boutique Hotel
o b Athens Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing