We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to locate”
Review of Zappion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zappion Hotel
Ranked #114 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were arriving late and leaving early so we weren't looking for much. The taxi driver and the car rental company had a hard time finding the hotel. We had a 3 person room and it was a very tight fit! It was clean, but uncomfortable. We learned that most beds in Greece are uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mills19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

We had gone for a conference to Athens, my colleague and I when we stayed at this hotel...just 2 women! it was very neat, clean . the rooms very tastefully done and location was very central. Well connected by bus to major sightseing areas as well as our conference venue. Staff friendly

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocReshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I enjoyed my stay. The hotel does have a distinct decor and the mirrors on either side of my bed encouraged me to think about losing some weight. It did smell of old smoke. The showers are very small but the manager said they were planning on some updating after the tourist season. The staff was very helpful. I was there during the riots and demonstrations and the staff kept me informed of when and where it was safe to go. I liked the neighborhood and it was easy to get around by foot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gladswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The décor was reminiscent of a brothel with its furry zebra skin wallpaper and curtains, faux antique chandelier and candelabres, and large mirrors. I was quite excited to discover that my room had a balcony, until I saw it had become a store for broken electrical equipment and its only view was of a very deep hole. Allied to that, the room was very small and there was distinct aroma of smoke. The dancing cockroaches in the shower every evening were also an added bonus and made the room feel just that little bit more welcoming each evening . However, the room did have a fridge, the towels were replaced on a daily basis, and the location has easy access to Symtagma Square and Plaka.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WhitedragonCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Small hotel on a pedesrian street. Peaceful location, not far from Syntagma Square and main attractives. Rooms has a little bit strange and funny interior which reminds x-rated movies from the 80s with red colour and plenty of mirrors, but our rooms was very clean despite of small size. Rooms equipped with air conditioner and fridge. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olezhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

Horrible, dirty, there is a disgusting smell of cigarette smoke in the room. We paid the room the day before (we paid the agrred price), then the day after they asked us extra-money we did not understand why. I suggest to find another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Maurissio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

This place has the most ridiculous décor I’ve seen in any hotel, where to start, leopard-print curtains, fake chandelier, wall-to-wall mirrors, light dimmers, more ashtrays than bed… ohh yeah, and a black light. The room was very clean nonetheless and at a very cheap price. If you can stand a perpetual pungent smell of urine and old cigarette smoke this place is worth a night of laughs.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank csws05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
No photo provided
Foivos Hotel Athens
#182 of 281 in Athens
7 reviews
Exarchia
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#113 of 281 in Athens
67 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#69 of 281 in Athens
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Alter Athens Hotel
Alter Athens Hotel
#126 of 281 in Athens
15 reviews
Victory Inn
#48 of 281 in Athens
302 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#109 of 281 in Athens
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zappion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zappion Hotel

Address: 4 Ironda, Athens 116 35, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Pangrati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £30 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Zappion Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zappion hotel is located close to the Kallimarmaron Stadium, where the 1st modern Olympic Games (1896) were held. The hotel is situated on a quiet pedestrian street, a short distance from the National Garden and the Zappion Megaron. Not far from the historical city center and Syntagma Square. All the rooms have modern and simple decoration, their own bathroom, telephone, TV, air-conditioning and central heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zappion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zappion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing