We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in central location. Small changes could make all the difference”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #143 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in central location. Small changes could make all the difference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival at the hotel late evening, I found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. I had Pre-requested a room with a view of the Acropolis, as this is one of the positives this hotel boasts. I was given a room without a view but the staff had no problem in offering me an alternative. The view of Acropolis was wonderful. I had booked in for 4 nights.

Room
Positives:

Very clean; clean towels every day ( in sealed plastic bags, which was a nice touch); everything working - fridge, air con, hairdryer, Tv (but only 1 English speaking channel); safe; balcony; phone in room; room service; writing desk/chair; free wi-fi. No problem getting wifi connection in room.

The not so good stuff:
I have stayed in many Greek hotels/accommodation and there were TWO main gripes with Apollo - 1. The constant loud door banging in the morning was very unsettling and frequently woke me up. Often this was the cleaner going in and out rooms, with little respect for guests who were sleeping. Although the cleaner knocked on my door, she just opened it anyway without waiting which was extremely annoying. The hotel would benefit from addressing these issues. (eg get rubber door trims to prevent banging on bedroom doors?)

2. The quality of the breakfast was extremely poor, the same every day. This consisted of tasteless cheese/ham, cornflakes, watery orange juice, cool hard boiled eggs, cold scrambled eggs, and only margarine for the bread! The coffee was barely lukewarm and just awful. The only chance of a hot coffee is if you order one and pay for it (€2.50). Breakfast staff could be more friendly as they often looked bored and did not engage with guests. Again, it would not cost the hotel much to make the whole breakfast experience better for guests. It would be much better too if you had the option of having tea/coffee making facilities in your room.

In general:

The Apollo has excellent reception staff. The hotel is well situated right next to metro station Metaxourghio. I stayed previously in Omonia area of Athens which I felt much less safe in as a solo traveller. I did not find this the case at this hotel. No problems at all that other reviewers have reported about it being a dodgy area. The hotel is basic but clean. Although the shower is small, I have seen a lot worse in other basic Greek accommodation. The view of the Acropolis is great. Note that the rooftop restaurant is not open in March/April. The hotel is value for money in general. An added bonus is the little cafe directly across the road open 24hrs. I found the noise from the busy main road outside horrendous, but found that when the double glazing patio doors were fully closed, street noise was not a problem. Rather, the constant door banging IN the hotel was a problem!

This is not the type of hotel you can sit out and relax on the balcony, due to road noise, but this is understandable if you want a city hotel close to the sights at a budget price.

Yes, the beds are very firm but after you've viewed all the sights in Athens, you should still get a decent sleep. The lift is very small ( hardly wheelchair accessible), but a welcome addition for heavy suitcases as stairs are narrow, steep and marble. Finally, there were no problems in luggage storage once you vacate your room. I would return to this hotel for a short stay, mainly due to value for money and hotel location but what would make this hotel excellent for a 3-star is to address the issues I mentioned earlier.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GatCat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    247
    195
    55
    51
See reviews for
110
266
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prerov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed in Apollo Hotel for 4nights.Location is really perfect, few metres from metro station and who likes walking,very easy can reach city center. Reception staff was really kind and nice,especially blond lady with smile any time ;o) Room was clean,only TV control and hairdryer should be cleaner, towels were changed every day. Another positive was available computer with free internet. Two negatives in the end - uncomfortable mattress on the bed and quite poor breakfast. It was noise from outside main street, but this you have to expected,when the hotel is located in city center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Apollo for 3 nights. It is a great base for discovering Athens, a 1 minute walk from the metro station. We had a room on the top floor with views of the acropolis. The room was very clean and the towels changed every day, plenty of hot water. The breakfast is continental with a good selection. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Although it is on a busy road there is no road noise in the room because of 2 x double glazing and I am a light sleeper but had no problem. There is a safe, air conditioning, a fridge and a hair dryer all inclusive of the price. Our only criticism was the coffee could be a little hotter at breakfast. A tip for people travelling to Greece or anywhere for that matter, learn at few words of the language, at least hello, please and thank you it goes a long way.

Room Tip: high floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The staff was very friendly at first and we got our room fast. Cozy room and the close proximity to the metro was great. The safe was good for storing passports and important stuff. Hot water was sways there. Breakfast was good. My wife and I would stay here again. The price was also good. The neighbor hood is nice, but the traffic is a little noisy. We feel very safe walking wound.

Room Tip: We took the blue line metro from the airport. 15 stops get off at the Syntagma station and take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights & had a great stay here. We found the hotel easily enough after leaving the metro station.Check in was efficient & friendly with the receptionist apologising for the disruption that was going to be caused over the next couple of days because of the strikes.We had room 505,which has a newly refitted shower room & twin beds pushed together.The room was spotless,free air conditioning,free safe & a fridge.Breakfast was adequate but the coffee could have been a lot hotter & fresh orange juice would have
been good especially as all the trees are laden with oranges.
The hotel is about a 15-20 minute stroll from Syntagma Square.
The coffee shop opposite was great & really friendly
A free massage chair in reception (great for after a days sightseeing)
All in all a great budget hotel for a weekends city break when you are there for being out & about.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as there is road noise & try & get a room ending in 06 because you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Rooms were very small especially the Bathroom.
The personnel at reception were friendly and helpfull especially Marion.
The rooms and not sound proof we could hear people talking very loudly at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allseas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We arrived quite late and had an average dinner on the rooftop, washed down with beers and a fabulous view of the acropolis. Our room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and had a very modern and clean bathroom with great water pressure. I enjoyed the room, unfortunatley we left too early to enjoy breakfast, but there is one each morning. It is noisy depending on where your room is, but it is on a busy street and when you're as tired as I was you don't even notice it. Also it is very convenient to the metro station - which is why we picked it in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandlover39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#223 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#113 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#39 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#102 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 10 Achilleos Street | Metaxourghio Square, Athens 104 36, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing