We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent hotel which we would use again if in Athens”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #134 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Basic hotel in a central location, only just around the corner from the Metaxourgio metro station. We paid less than £30 a night for room & breakfast. Some days we walked to Acropolis area in 20 mins.
Clean with towels arriving daily wrapped in plastic. Additionally we had a balcony facing the front. We had a safe in the room as well.
The only downside was that with marble floors in the corridors, it could be noisy from about 8am when cleaning staff seemed to start working.
Staff were very friendly with a very good standard of english.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel late evening, I found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. I had Pre-requested a room with a view of the Acropolis, as this is one of the positives this hotel boasts. I was given a room without a view but the staff had no problem in offering me an alternative. The view of Acropolis was wonderful. I had booked in for 4 nights.

Room
Positives:

Very clean; clean towels every day ( in sealed plastic bags, which was a nice touch); everything working - fridge, air con, hairdryer, Tv (but only 1 English speaking channel); safe; balcony; phone in room; room service; writing desk/chair; free wi-fi. No problem getting wifi connection in room.

The not so good stuff:
I have stayed in many Greek hotels/accommodation and there were TWO main gripes with Apollo - 1. The constant loud door banging in the morning was very unsettling and frequently woke me up. Often this was the cleaner going in and out rooms, with little respect for guests who were sleeping. Although the cleaner knocked on my door, she just opened it anyway without waiting which was extremely annoying. The hotel would benefit from addressing these issues. (eg get rubber door trims to prevent banging on bedroom doors?)

2. The quality of the breakfast was extremely poor, the same every day. This consisted of tasteless cheese/ham, cornflakes, watery orange juice, cool hard boiled eggs, cold scrambled eggs, and only margarine for the bread! The coffee was barely lukewarm and just awful. The only chance of a hot coffee is if you order one and pay for it (€2.50). Breakfast staff could be more friendly as they often looked bored and did not engage with guests. Again, it would not cost the hotel much to make the whole breakfast experience better for guests. It would be much better too if you had the option of having tea/coffee making facilities in your room.

In general:

The Apollo has excellent reception staff. The hotel is well situated right next to metro station Metaxourghio. I stayed previously in Omonia area of Athens which I felt much less safe in as a solo traveller. I did not find this the case at this hotel. No problems at all that other reviewers have reported about it being a dodgy area. The hotel is basic but clean. Although the shower is small, I have seen a lot worse in other basic Greek accommodation. The view of the Acropolis is great. Note that the rooftop restaurant is not open in March/April. The hotel is value for money in general. An added bonus is the little cafe directly across the road open 24hrs. I found the noise from the busy main road outside horrendous, but found that when the double glazing patio doors were fully closed, street noise was not a problem. Rather, the constant door banging IN the hotel was a problem!

This is not the type of hotel you can sit out and relax on the balcony, due to road noise, but this is understandable if you want a city hotel close to the sights at a budget price.

Yes, the beds are very firm but after you've viewed all the sights in Athens, you should still get a decent sleep. The lift is very small ( hardly wheelchair accessible), but a welcome addition for heavy suitcases as stairs are narrow, steep and marble. Finally, there were no problems in luggage storage once you vacate your room. I would return to this hotel for a short stay, mainly due to value for money and hotel location but what would make this hotel excellent for a 3-star is to address the issues I mentioned earlier.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank GatCat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed in Apollo Hotel for 4nights.Location is really perfect, few metres from metro station and who likes walking,very easy can reach city center. Reception staff was really kind and nice,especially blond lady with smile any time ;o) Room was clean,only TV control and hairdryer should be cleaner, towels were changed every day. Another positive was available computer with free internet. Two negatives in the end - uncomfortable mattress on the bed and quite poor breakfast. It was noise from outside main street, but this you have to expected,when the hotel is located in city center.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Apollo for 3 nights. It is a great base for discovering Athens, a 1 minute walk from the metro station. We had a room on the top floor with views of the acropolis. The room was very clean and the towels changed every day, plenty of hot water. The breakfast is continental with a good selection. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Although it is on a busy road there is no road noise in the room because of 2 x double glazing and I am a light sleeper but had no problem. There is a safe, air conditioning, a fridge and a hair dryer all inclusive of the price. Our only criticism was the coffee could be a little hotter at breakfast. A tip for people travelling to Greece or anywhere for that matter, learn at few words of the language, at least hello, please and thank you it goes a long way.

Room Tip: high floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gretan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The staff was very friendly at first and we got our room fast. Cozy room and the close proximity to the metro was great. The safe was good for storing passports and important stuff. Hot water was sways there. Breakfast was good. My wife and I would stay here again. The price was also good. The neighbor hood is nice, but the traffic is a little noisy. We feel very safe walking wound.

Room Tip: We took the blue line metro from the airport. 15 stops get off at the Syntagma station and take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights & had a great stay here. We found the hotel easily enough after leaving the metro station.Check in was efficient & friendly with the receptionist apologising for the disruption that was going to be caused over the next couple of days because of the strikes.We had room 505,which has a newly refitted shower room & twin beds pushed together.The room was spotless,free air conditioning,free safe & a fridge.Breakfast was adequate but the coffee could have been a lot hotter & fresh orange juice would have
been good especially as all the trees are laden with oranges.
The hotel is about a 15-20 minute stroll from Syntagma Square.
The coffee shop opposite was great & really friendly
A free massage chair in reception (great for after a days sightseeing)
All in all a great budget hotel for a weekends city break when you are there for being out & about.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as there is road noise & try & get a room ending in 06 because you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Rooms were very small especially the Bathroom.
The personnel at reception were friendly and helpfull especially Marion.
The rooms and not sound proof we could hear people talking very loudly at night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allseas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 281 in Athens
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#109 of 281 in Athens
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crystal City Hotel
Crystal City Hotel
#104 of 281 in Athens
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#108 of 281 in Athens
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pythagorion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 10 Achilleos Street | Metaxourghio Square, Athens 104 36, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing