We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money! You get what you pay for people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #137 of 325 Hotels in Athens
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value for money! You get what you pay for people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I don't know why people complain about this hotel when they no doubt got it for a very cheap price!
We stayed at the Apollo for two nights in a triple room, yes the beds weren't the most comfortable or the TV wasn't new, but who spends their holiday in their room watching TV anyway?
For 14 euros, per person per night, it is a great hotel for value. This also included a good breakfast (it was limited, but who complain about free food).
The roof top bar is great! Once again, cheap beers and great staff serving. All the workers here were welcoming and pleasant. This hotel is a steal, if you are looking for somewhere to say on the cheap, with great transport links, bite the bullet and book.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    245
    193
    54
    50
See reviews for
109
263
83
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The value for this hotel is OK. We stayed here 2 nights in flat and uncomfortable beds. But we didnt expect much more.
When we came back the first day the room was full of ants. I could se them coming out of the wall. When i told the guy in the reseption about it, he asked me why i could not kill them..... wow

After i made him look at it, he changed the room.

We asked for a double bed, but got two small ones put together. The A/C was either very hot or very cold.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 nights here in July 2014.
The hotel looks old, with old furniture, tiles all over (you can only imagine the noise made by simply walking), very old wooden doors which don't filter any of the halls noises.
I was at the 3 rd floor out of 6. There is a janitor's room just a few doors away and he starts his job at 7 am. So no late sleeping here, it's unbearable.
Moreover, the bathrooms have a strange stench whenever you enter the room.
The TV is old and small. The A/C is directed to the bed so you will spend nights with it blowing in your face.
I would NEVER come here again.
The only thing i enjoyed was the view from the bar on the penthouse. It opens at 7 pm and offers a nice view to the Acropolis. But that's all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

So this isn't the place to go if you're looking for luxury, but if you're looking for a base from which to check out Athens, it is great.

Pros: I got a room with an Acropolis view, and the view was amazing. There is also a roof "garden" that has a great view of the Acropolis and the rest of the city. It was about a 20 minute walk from the Agora and about a 30 second walk from the a metro station that can take you there or anywhere else in the city. The staff was very helpful and informed. The Wifi was good for me.

Cons: Not very fancy. The decor, bed, towels, and shower were all basic. Also, there was music outside until about 3am. It wasn't extremely loud, but it was noticeable (I was on the top floor).

Room Tip: Get the Acropolis view. It is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMfchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in June 2014. The only good thing is location. But horrible service, rubbish towels, very unresponsive WiFi, uncomfortable camp beds, cold breakfast even at start and horrible TV channel service. Also they took shower box doors without notice for some repair or another. And when we asked or enquired, the man at the desk just laughed but offered no solutions.

I would strongly advise you to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Dont choose one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I'm glad we only stayed at this hotel two nights - but that was two too many. The bed was flat and uncomfortable; the towels were dingy and threadbare; no strong WiFi. We should've listened to our cab driver as he unloaded our luggage. He told us to be very careful at night b/c it's a bad neighborhood.

Redeeming qualities: just a few steps away from a metro station. One of the desk clerks was friendly. The room wasn't dirty, but was showing its age.

It doesn't take much to install a wireless router and buy some new towels. I'd be willing to pay more for those amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maximumlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#216 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#110 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#101 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 10 Achilleos Street | Metaxourghio Square, Athens 104 36, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing