We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but in desperate need of "Do Not Disturb" signs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Athens Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Studios
Ranked #7 of 68 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, but in desperate need of "Do Not Disturb" signs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Pros: fantastic location; nice room w/ great mattress; great balcony.

Cons: Our door is essentially broken -- the dead bolt doesn't work and the handle routinely comes off in our hand. We informed the front desk staff about this two days ago, and they have yet to fix it. Yesterday housekeeping walked right into our room without knocking (and, not having a functional dead bolt, they were able to just waltz right in, especially unwelcome given that I was only partially dressed). This morning, mercifully, they knocked, but as we're still quite jet-lagged and they came by fairly early (well before check-out time), this knocking woke us up. Finally, the shower is just a joke. You can't shower without getting water all over the bathroom and your belongings soaked.

Overall: The set-up of the room really is nice and you can't beat the location. If the door and housekeeping weren't issues, we would easily give this place a thumbs-up (despite the shower).

Room Tip: make sure your door works!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katystava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    104
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
80
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed from 13th to 16th May in an apartment with 6 beds. Location is to die for because it is so near the Acropolis Metro Station. Just a couple of minutes walk.

Rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh bed linen and towel. They also provide loads of toilet paper, hand soap and detergent for washing the kitchen utensils. Well equipped kitchen with kettle, fridge, stove, pots and pans, plates, cups, etc.

Breakfast is sufficient with toasts, cheese, tomatoes, boiled eggs, coffee and tea. Fruit juices are extra charge at 1 Euro.

Will be going back next year to Athens and definitely staying with Studios again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

After travlling through a lot of Europe we were so pleased to arrive here to what seemed like a small house! Big kitchen, bedroom and then a bathroom as well with a couple of balconies. It was clean, and had a small kitchenette with kettle, microwave and stove etc. There was even coffee and tea in the cupboard! Everything you could need is downstairs, a bar, cafe where breakie is served, laundromat, internet cafe plus we had our laptop and had high speed wireless for free in our room. Fantastic stay, we were safe and comfortable and would return for sure! Around the corner is the backpackers by the same owners and there is a rooftop bar there that we visited. The walking tour at 10am is fantastic, great way to see the city with someone who knows the way and also to meet new people!

Highly recommend this hostel and studio apartments!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketlisting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

A great value. I stayed at the Athens Studio for a long weekend with my 12 year old son. It was fantastic all the way around. Location, Staff, Price, Accomedation.

To give you an Idea of what you can expect, Think Ikea Showroom because that what is was from the bed down to the hangers. Comfortable studio with a balcony.

And the Walking Tour is the best value in Athens. They said 2 1/2 hours but 3 hours would have been more accurate, and the guide was ever so knowledgable. And to entertain my son for the entire morning is very impressive. At EUR 5.-- person, you can't pass it up.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

this was a great place to stay! I stayed here with a large group of students for 6 weeks. they were spacious for a hostel, even though i shared a room with several people. it's very clean and has a nice kitchen area for your daily needs. there is free wifi, but it can be kinda choppy, but you'll make do, there's also a business center with computers with internet for a small cost. the breakfast was basic, but good....toast, cheese, jams, tomatoes, tea, coffee, etc. it was usually pretty quiet. it's a 5 minute walk to the Akropoli metro station, which is SOOOOO convenient!! (plus, you walk by the parthenon every day!!!!)
athens is a great city and greece is beautiful!! enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwebb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Convenience: 3 minute walk to an extensive pedestrian roadway and a metro station, plus a rich density of eateries. Wi-fi worked.
Friendly: next to a 24-hour Internet facility. Nice staff.
Other bonuses: free breakfast, a singing school across the street so a little operatic serenading, and hot showers were great.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

I stayed at Athens studios a few weeks ago and I believe this is an excellent place to stay. It is well located - 1 minute at a walking distance from Plaka, Acropolis and Metro station. Also, I got a very good room with a small kitchen and a private bathroom for $95 euro. The bed was the best I have ever slept in, it was really comfortable. The only thing they could do better is the front desk service. The staff are young people that are very concerned about chatting in facebook so you will get only the minimal attention. In addition, you must pay if you want to use a computer and internet there. Eventhough, wifi is free. If I go back to Athens, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shehla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Studios

Property: Athens Studios
Address: 3A Veikou | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet 2015 "Relaxed, spacious apartments, open plan, equipped kitchen, colourful bathroom, a well-priced alternative to hotels - with luxuries like LCD TV's with satellite, Free WiFi everywhere and a modern, stylish feel in a very central location beside the Acropolis and Plaka".In Your Pocket city guides March 2015 "Our Top low-budget favourite - a couple of steps from the Acropolis New Museum and the Acropolis, - your apartment looks pretty much like home."The Apartments and Studios have a laundry mat,Sports Bar, Internet Cafe and the famous "Fish Cafe"- a one stop shop for your every need in Athens.In a location that you say is unbeatable. We tend to agree. We accept all major credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Athens Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Studios Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing