We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, amazing location, would definitely book again!”
Review of Athens Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Studios
Ranked #7 of 75 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing value, amazing location, would definitely book again!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I booked accommodation for 22 people as we were performing at Athens Pride in our choir - The Pink Singers. Varying sizes of studios and apartments and we could not fault it. The location was perfect, right next to all the major sights, the rooms were all very well equipped - most with balconies, microwave, TV, separate lounge and en-suite bathrooms and air con. A basic breakfast was included and an added bonus. The rooms were very secure with key cards and optional safe. The staff were lovely and the bar downstairs was handy for late drinking.

Room Tip: Apartments for 2, 4 or 6 were the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briggsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    108
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
86
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I'm surprised to be writing an average-good review for this place rather than an amazing review like those below. Perhaps, unreasonably high expectations made me forget that it really is glorified hostel accommodation.

My friend and I stayed in a twin room apartment in Studios for two nights in May 2011. We'd received an email with directions to the sister lodgings at Backpackers and headed there first and were rather annoyed to be redirected to Studios at 11pm, but this seems to have been a problem with the website through which we booked rather than Studios itself.

When we arrived (around midnight), we weren't impressed to find the guy at reception drinking alcohol. We found him a little unhelpful, and he insisted on holding my passport overnight as it was too late to pay which while fair enough did make me a little uncomfortable.

We were initially impressed by our room, but we did find that the toilet didn't flush, the air conditioning didn't work (so we needed to sleep with the door open which was very loud on a friday night) and the tv had no stations in english which was rather unfortunate (others we met here claimed to have CNN so must just have been our tv).

Although other reviews below report otherwise, our room was not cleaned in the 2 days we stayed (we didn't stay on a Sunday or Public Holiday so would have expected better).

Breakfast was ok at best, the second morning we just went to a café up the street.

The reception staff, while friendly and warm didn't seem to have the best knowledge of Athens. This was our second two-day stretch in Athens, having spent some intervening time on Santorini, and had seen the little red "Happy Train" around Athens but didn't know where the stops were. We were advised by the receptionist to go all the way to Syntagma Sq even though we later found out that the train stops right at the Acropolis Museum which is about five minutes from the door of the hostel!

These are all little annoyances really but... just didn't give the best impression and we weren't thrilled with the place. Having also stayed in Students and Travellers Inn for around half the price, we'd be more likely to stay there instead although we had our problems with both.

In short - good but certainly not great by any means.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Pros: fantastic location; nice room w/ great mattress; great balcony.

Cons: Our door is essentially broken -- the dead bolt doesn't work and the handle routinely comes off in our hand. We informed the front desk staff about this two days ago, and they have yet to fix it. Yesterday housekeeping walked right into our room without knocking (and, not having a functional dead bolt, they were able to just waltz right in, especially unwelcome given that I was only partially dressed). This morning, mercifully, they knocked, but as we're still quite jet-lagged and they came by fairly early (well before check-out time), this knocking woke us up. Finally, the shower is just a joke. You can't shower without getting water all over the bathroom and your belongings soaked.

Overall: The set-up of the room really is nice and you can't beat the location. If the door and housekeeping weren't issues, we would easily give this place a thumbs-up (despite the shower).

Room Tip: make sure your door works!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katystava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping and F&B management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed from 13th to 16th May in an apartment with 6 beds. Location is to die for because it is so near the Acropolis Metro Station. Just a couple of minutes walk.

Rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh bed linen and towel. They also provide loads of toilet paper, hand soap and detergent for washing the kitchen utensils. Well equipped kitchen with kettle, fridge, stove, pots and pans, plates, cups, etc.

Breakfast is sufficient with toasts, cheese, tomatoes, boiled eggs, coffee and tea. Fruit juices are extra charge at 1 Euro.

Will be going back next year to Athens and definitely staying with Studios again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

After travlling through a lot of Europe we were so pleased to arrive here to what seemed like a small house! Big kitchen, bedroom and then a bathroom as well with a couple of balconies. It was clean, and had a small kitchenette with kettle, microwave and stove etc. There was even coffee and tea in the cupboard! Everything you could need is downstairs, a bar, cafe where breakie is served, laundromat, internet cafe plus we had our laptop and had high speed wireless for free in our room. Fantastic stay, we were safe and comfortable and would return for sure! Around the corner is the backpackers by the same owners and there is a rooftop bar there that we visited. The walking tour at 10am is fantastic, great way to see the city with someone who knows the way and also to meet new people!

Highly recommend this hostel and studio apartments!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketlisting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

A great value. I stayed at the Athens Studio for a long weekend with my 12 year old son. It was fantastic all the way around. Location, Staff, Price, Accomedation.

To give you an Idea of what you can expect, Think Ikea Showroom because that what is was from the bed down to the hangers. Comfortable studio with a balcony.

And the Walking Tour is the best value in Athens. They said 2 1/2 hours but 3 hours would have been more accurate, and the guide was ever so knowledgable. And to entertain my son for the entire morning is very impressive. At EUR 5.-- person, you can't pass it up.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

this was a great place to stay! I stayed here with a large group of students for 6 weeks. they were spacious for a hostel, even though i shared a room with several people. it's very clean and has a nice kitchen area for your daily needs. there is free wifi, but it can be kinda choppy, but you'll make do, there's also a business center with computers with internet for a small cost. the breakfast was basic, but good....toast, cheese, jams, tomatoes, tea, coffee, etc. it was usually pretty quiet. it's a 5 minute walk to the Akropoli metro station, which is SOOOOO convenient!! (plus, you walk by the parthenon every day!!!!)
athens is a great city and greece is beautiful!! enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwebb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
995 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,236 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#69 of 326 in Athens
1,519 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#21 of 326 in Athens
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Studios

Property: Athens Studios
Address: 3A Veikou | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet 2015 "Relaxed, spacious apartments, open plan, equipped kitchen, colourful bathroom, a well-priced alternative to hotels - with luxuries like LCD TV's with satellite, Free WiFi everywhere and a modern, stylish feel in a very central location beside the Acropolis and Plaka".In Your Pocket city guides March 2015 "Our Top low-budget favourite - a couple of steps from the Acropolis New Museum and the Acropolis, - your apartment looks pretty much like home."The Apartments and Studios have a laundry mat,Sports Bar, Internet Cafe and the famous "Fish Cafe"- a one stop shop for your every need in Athens.In a location that you say is unbeatable. We tend to agree. We accept all major credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Athens Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Studios Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing