We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Gem”
Review of Athens Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Studios
Ranked #8 of 75 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real Gem”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, perfect kitchenette for cooking. Bathroom was great. Plaka and the Acropolis is right on your doorstep. I always felt safe as a woman on her own.
Takeaway food shop downstairs was delicious and filling.
The staff are warm and helpful. No complaints :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFeeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Traveler. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hostel. Hoping to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    108
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
86
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

we stayed 1 night in a 4 people apartment.

The location is perfect, so close to the new museum, and in a very nice area of Athens.

Rather clean, it had a small kitchen, very small bathroom, but TV and air cond.

However we were not lucky to get the apartment on the 1st floor, just above the bar + the windows would not close properly + the street is quite busy day and night.

ask for a high floor apartment.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabanddave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is fantastic for the young traveler on a budget and has all the things you need - great location (walking distance to everything in the city centre), clean rooms, air-con, small fridge, easy access to a laundromat, simple breakfast, large and affordable storage lockers. The service is a little bit random at times, but in a charming, friendly sort of way. It's not luxurious, but definitely convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtrain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hostel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

An ok place to stay. Its not bad but for what i paid i would rather consider staying in an apartment with air bnb. As apart from the apartment(which is pretty nice) you don't get any other perks of being staying in a hostel(as advertised on there website). The very first day we have been greeted by the very friendly and helpful staff, but after that it was pretty average. The girl who was on the reception on the second day wasn't very helpful, wasn't really bothered to tell us anything about this beautiful city. Where as the other staff were completely opposite. This place is located in the one of the finest places in the city and i will give it 5 out 5 for location. It is easily accessible from port or airport.Room were cleaned and comfortable, with cooking facilities, two air conditioner and balcony in each room. There is a sport bar downstairs which is a good way to kick start the night. Also the open air cinema is also 10 mins walk.

Overall not a bad place to stay but there is room for improvement when it comes to customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aks1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that that you enjoyed our location and your overall stay. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the reception and that they were not as helpful as they usually are and should be. This has been communicated to the concerned staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The room was big and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Location was so great. Although noisy outside at night, it was quiet in our room. Towels were old but clean. A little disappointed no towel service while there 3 days, but room was serviced. Overall was a great room and location and would stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hostel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location is great.
The studios are not luxury as they said. Actually, the towels are clearly old the chicken is not fully furnished and if you want to cook you need some basic things.
The worst thing is breakfast. You receve only a small slice of bread and you can chose among three options (beans, cooked eggs or scrambled ages) if you want a juice or a small cupo of fresh fruit you have to pay extra.
The studios are expensive and we expected a better service, cleaning and full equipped apartment. You are paying a luxury price and you receive the service of a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleonore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hostel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the area. I am disappointed to hear that our breakfast didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in changing it and making it better. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Athens Studio is close to the Archeology Museum and a great walk way where there are bistros where you can buy Doners for 2-3 euro. The restaurants are more expensive.

The office is in one location, but all the stores work together to support the block. Next to the office is the Fish & Chips shop where you get breakfast. Breakfast is basic eggs and bread but for another 1 euro you can get yoghurt or 1 euro for fruit cup. Large water bottles are also 1 euro here. Next to Fish and Chips is the laundry mat. There are 4 washers and dyers that take about 45 min. each. Washer cost 5 euro and dryer is 2-3 depending on how dry you want you clothes. Laundry Mat is busy at night when tourist are done. We did our laundry early in the morning and then rotate during breakfast. This worked well. Next to the Laundry Mat is the door to the apartments. There is an elevator which only holds one person, but 2 can squeeze on. Rooms are clean, beds are nice, great little kitchen. AC works only if all the doors and windows are shut. Last shop is the sports bar at the end. This is where coffee and water is offered.

Staff is helpful and friendly. Great place to stay and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hostel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the area. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,205 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 327 in Athens
997 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 327 in Athens
3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 327 in Athens
3,240 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#67 of 327 in Athens
1,523 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#49 of 327 in Athens
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Studios

Property: Athens Studios
Address: 3A Veikou | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet 2015 "Relaxed, spacious apartments, open plan, equipped kitchen, colourful bathroom, a well-priced alternative to hotels - with luxuries like LCD TV's with satellite, Free WiFi everywhere and a modern, stylish feel in a very central location beside the Acropolis and Plaka".In Your Pocket city guides March 2015 "Our Top low-budget favourite - a couple of steps from the Acropolis New Museum and the Acropolis, - your apartment looks pretty much like home."The Apartments and Studios have a laundry mat,Sports Bar, Internet Cafe and the famous "Fish Cafe"- a one stop shop for your every need in Athens.In a location that you say is unbeatable. We tend to agree. We accept all major credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Athens Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Studios Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing