We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would've been great if rooms were cleaner. Small issues add up.”
Review of Athens Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athens Studios
Ranked #10 of 53 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Athens Studios in early May 2010, before and after a 4 day tour of the mainland. Good points are that it is situated very well, so close to the Acropolis and tourist strip. The people that work there- we saw a new face each of the 3 times or so we went to reception- were friendly. It's really only the rooms, tiny little elevator that couldn't even comfortably fit 2 people with a luggage each, and the very basic included breakfast that were a bit of a let down.

For our first day, we'd paid for a deluxe couple/double room, advertised to have a TV and microwave. Yet we were given a room without either. We didn't bother complaining, and judging from another reviewer's experience, it was just as well we didn't. A TV is pretty much a must-have for me, so this was very disappointing. The bed was horrible- there was no firmness at all and you sleep in the dip. The bedspreads did not appear to be fresh since I found strands of hair and it all looked wrinkled. There was a credit card phone in the room, but no way to call reception. There's no free soap or anything in the bathroom, no hairdryer and no shower curtain, so the place got wet. On the other hand, there was free tea/coffee, which was appreciated.

Our second night was in a 2 person apartment and this was a better experience- the place was spacious, there was a TV (yes!) and microwave. However, again there were little things that niggled- the shower pressure was dismal and the toilet flushed equally weakly. There wasn't a shower head holder or it was broken, and wires were hanging exposed on one wall. And our feet were black from walking on the tiles in the apartment.

In both rooms (2nd and 4th floor), there were issues connecting to the wireless internet (albeit, it was free) on our netbook and my smartphone. Each time, it took 30-45 mins to get a working connection, eventhough signal strength was strong. An IP address conflict message would show up each time, just before a successful connection's made. I've never had this much trouble getting an internet connection anywhere- not even on Santorini. It was particularly frustrating when I also didn't have a TV to watch that first night.

Despite all these little issues that add up to make it a less than ideal stay, the place is definitely liveable and staff are friendly. The Euro$6 pizza at the sportsbar is good value too. For its location, it's quite hard finding a cheaper place, although we still paid the most for our accommodation in Athens. Hence, it was all the more disappointing and is unfortunately, the least comfortable stay of our trip in Greece.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping and F&B management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed for one night pre islands in a studio and one night post islands in an apartment and our feelings were a bit mixed. The rooms are basic and clean which was what we were expecting. The location is great! Walking distance from Acropolis Museum, Acropolis, lovely restaurants and the metro which makes all of Athens easy to access. Only minor problems were with the staff, some were very helpful and others we felt were not interested in the slightest. Having said that, if you want no frills accommodation, with not much customer service but in an extremely convenient location, this is a great place for you.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank MGMHCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Guest. Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hostel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Athens and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.
However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some of our staff members. This has been communicated to the concerned staff.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed 3 nights initially before heading to the greek islands and then one night on return from the islands.

Free wi-fi was great, beds really comfy. The first apartment we had did not have a tv but the second one did. (Not that we watched or wanted to watch it.) The staff were all very friendly. The laundry was handy. Something that wasn't the best was noise, poor insulation meant it travelled very easily, so when drunk people get back to their room and cant use their key card properly it can be a little annoying. (you do have to remeber it is still basically getting a backpacker crowd.) Prices were also very reasonble for the location it was in and service provided.

But the best thing about it was the location, only a few minutes from everything you would want to check out in the city centre, loads of places to eat out close by and you can view the acropolips from there other sites (Athens backpackers) rooftop bar which is not to be missed in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

The big, big plus for Athens Studios is the location! It couldn't be in a better location for travellers. It is one or two minutes walk from the Acropolis metro station, and only five minutes from lovely walks down the Plaka, with local shops and restaurants which aren't a total rip off considering how close they are to the Acropolis. It really was very well located. Also on the plus side, the rooms were comfortable and clean. The wet room/bathroom was very nicely finished and it was nice to have a comfortable sofa in the room. However, the sheets are not changed "bi-weekly" as it says on the website and on their welcome pack. Cleaning literally consists of the bins being changed and in the floor being swept. Also, after paying for a "Deluxe Couple Apartment", we didn't have the TV that everyone else had mentioned and was all over their website, which was annoying, as my boyfriend was ill one of the days we were there and it would have been nice, especially as we thought we had paid for that. Also, it was impossible to stay in our room any past 10/11am, as our air conditioning didn't work and it was really hot. My boyfriend asked at reception about the air conditioning, and was told that some of the rooms were missing a remote and that he would sort it out, but nothing was done. We thought that paying 460E for 5 nights with these things missing was a bit steep. But overall, we did enjoy our stay. The breakfast was a nice idea - toast and hardboiled eggs. Most mornings they had run out of bread/eggs by the time we got there, but that's probably coz we're too slow off the mark. We also thought the internet was quite expensive to use. We got caught up in the flight cancellations because of the Icelandic volcano, so trying to sort out a way home was quite pricey. But we did have free wi-fi in our room, although we didn't have anything with us with which we could take advantage of that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat-laar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The apartment was clean and generally pleasant, but had lousy insulation, it got very cold.
I stayed 4 nights, and these things went wrong:
- toilet was blocked (problem started before I entered the apartment)
- heater stopped working
- electrical break
After I complained the problems were promptly fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dporrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethreid, owner at Athens Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

It is always annoying when the Electricity and Water Department cut off power and water, but both happened the day of this reviewers arrival. We would like to take credit for fixing the problems quickly, but in fact street repairs only took 6 hours that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

I traveled to Athens with my 11 year old granddaughter and needed budget accommodations. I rented a studio apartment that included a kitchenette, bedroom, living room and bath. It also provided flat-screen TV, free wi-fi and access to laundry facilities. Breakfast is included in the daily rate. Having stayed in numerous hostel type facilities around the world, I definitely place Athens Studios at the top of my most favorite list. However, the very best feature of this place is it's outstanding location!!! It is within steps to the Acropolis Metro and the Acropolis Museum. The neighborhood is primarily residential and with numerous restuarants, shops and food markets nearby. If you are a budget traveler not concerned for fancy digs, you can't go wrong with this place. The staff is very out-going, friendly and helpful. All of the staff speak English and seem to go out of their way to offer warm hospitality. For the younger crowd, there is a sports bar with regularly scheduled activities. You will find computers in the office where for a fee you can check your e-mail.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaMuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Travelling with a young family is so much easier if you stay at Athens Studios. Not only is the accommodation very affordable, but it is very convenient. Our apartment was super clean, modern and self contained with a flatscreen TV. The kitchen allowed us to stay in and cook a healthy, home cooked meal for the children which was a nice change after eating out every night for a month (and much cheaper too!) In addition, there is a laundromat downstairs which was a godsend! Next to the laundromat is a sportsman bar which served coffee and breakfast in the morning and cheap beer and entertainment at night. The location was excellent, right in the heart of Athens. Only a few minutes walk to the Acropolis, Museum, Plaka (shopping and restaurants) Monastiraki (Flea Market). There is also a metro train entry just across the road and a great bakery and supermarket down the street. Just ask the Australian owners and they will show you where everything is on the map. They were very helpful and super friendly. During our last stay, they were building an internet cafe next door - if it was up and running when we were there that would have been the icing on the cake. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serenety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
784 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Studios

Address: 3A Veikou | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: £18 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet 2015 "Relaxed, spacious apartments, open plan, equipped kitchen, colourful bathroom, a well-priced alternative to hotels - with luxuries like LCD TV's with satellite, Free WiFi everywhere and a modern, stylish feel in a very central location beside the Acropolis and Plaka".In Your Pocket city guides March 2015 "Our Top low-budget favourite - a couple of steps from the Acropolis New Museum and the Acropolis, - your apartment looks pretty much like home."The Apartments and Studios have a laundry mat,Sports Bar, Internet Cafe and the famous "Fish Cafe"- a one stop shop for your every need in Athens.In a location that you say is unbeatable. We tend to agree. We accept all major credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Athens Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Studios Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing