We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful little place to stay”
Review of Brazil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brazil Hotel
Ranked #108 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Australind, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most wonderful little place to stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The taxi driver said this is not a very good area to stay. BUT the place is wonderful and the area is fine. The family that runs the hotel are the loveliest people I have met. They made us feel so at home, sitting with us in their courtyard. Making coffee for us and generally treating us like a family member.

The room was comfortable, bathroom nice and clean and good air condition. We were very close to the train station and also the bus. Heaps of cafes close by altogether the best place to stay in Athens. Don't look any further, we will come back here again if ever in Athens. A very big thank you to our hosts.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony over looking their court yard, but I'm sure any room would be as co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    18
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
32
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lárissa, Larisa, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Location: just 2min from the nearest metro stop and just 1 min from the nearest central square, with cafeterias and local restaurants.

Room: we stayed with my sister and PET!!!! They allow pets on specific rooms and made our stay as convenient as it gets! In Greece is really hard to find a clean and repsectable hotel that allows pets and not overpay!! Keeara felt at ease and had a really nice stay too! The double bed was more than comfortable and our bathroom was renovated and had jacuzzi installed! Everything was perfect!
*plus everything was spotless clean and marked A at my hygiene standards.

Breakfast: which was included in the price, was made by Mrs Theoni who mixed cypriot and greek cusine and had the best outcome...! What is more you can pick your breakfast and let Mrs Theoni know and you will readily have it!

I recommend it to everyone..! No wonder that people stay there for weeks and even months! GREAT value for money!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

There are two kind of people that I simply can't stomach: People who BRAG how much they spent on something and People like me who do the opposite. If someone brags about how much they spent on something you can a.) Call them a Liar b.) Call them Undeserving or c.) Dismiss their purchase as being 'Filthy Lucre' or 'Blood Money'. But how do you defend yourself against creeps like me? "Nice Phillip Patek watch, Mr. T****---you paid $200K for it? Gee, I have the same watch on and I paid $500.00 for it. Seems the lady down the street caught her husband cheating on her and now she's getting rid of his things before he gets back in town . Wanna do lunch tomorrow? I need to put some miles on this new Bentley I just bought for $10K... See? Even with all his MONEY, I would make Mr. T**** sick with envy because I got something he'd have to pay full price for. Do you see why I have such self loathing? I hate showoffs ESPECiALLY when they brag about how cheap they got away with paying for stuff.

I'm sorry, I feel the need to show off again. I spent F-O-U-R days in a hotel room that was easily 400 Euros ($600 a night) in downtown Athens. Where do I begin? A nice, frosty SOUNDPROOF ROOM in a quiet, crime free neighbor hood in downtown Athens, Grease (Yes, I said GREASE, not Greece--- as these people put greasy French fries on everything). Did I mention the spacious King size bed, the marble floors and the IN ROOM JACUZI?!!! Did I mention that when you put your head down on the pillow, the beveled ceiling has a LED light show that makes you think that you are looking up at the stars? And that the Stars change colours? Did I mention that I had previously stayed in a 400 Euro a night room at a small boutique hotel (it was an free upgrade, how about that) and that that room wasn't as nice as this room? Did I mention that I paid only 60 Euros ($90.00) a night which is only 5 Euros more than the Mosquito infected Flop-house SRO room I was forced to stay the previous night?!!!

Did I mention the location? You are but one block up from the upscale shops on Victoria Square (and the underground rail network) and one street down from the main drag? Screw taking an AirPort taxi!!! Pop 5 Euros for the bus from the airport that goes to Central Athens (Near Hotel Bretaigne), take the train to Ammonia Square (sic) then take the opposite train to Victoria Square and walk one street up (1.5 Euros) and you're there. Did I mention how safe & quiet the street where Hotel Brazil is---street crime is virtually unheard of there due to the area's heave Police Presence. A cheap, quiet, stylish room in the middle of Athens for 60 Euros a night---OK, what's the catch?!!!

Catch #01 FREE STAIR-MASTER machine!!! Kinda-Sorta. OK, so it is a two story hotel and there is no elevator. Hey, I consider this a plus, considering how Grease puts Greasy French fries on everything (even inside Gyro sandwiches?!!!)---since gyms are a luxury item in Grease, here is your chance to burn off some calories!!!

Catch #02 On Filis Street, the Greeks are so kind that they will leave their porch lights on (all thirty of them) to help guide you back to your hotel room!!! Kinda Sorta. OK, so I'm lying---those little white lights are actually faded red lights as you are smack dab in the middle of Grease's lawful Bordello District. So when your man says he needs to get a pack of cigarettes and he'll be back in 15 minutes---get your coat and tell him you're going with him!!! No Big!!!

RECAP: You get to stay in a 400 Euro a night, indoor spa, stylish décor & bar on a street where Muslim women and children stroll and that is centrally located for 60 Euros a night? Do you see why I have such self loathing---I hate being me (Reverse Snobbery). FYI, If you do book with Brazil, walk up to Ruby, the hotel's white Jack Russle Terrier Mascot and scratch his little back near his tail---his little eyes will roll towards the back of his head and you will have a friend in Greece for life. Opa!!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms with the in room Jacuzzi for 60 Euros---they call it the Superior Room upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debauchee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in Brazil Hotel in Athens in 2007, and I think, it is good hotel for that price.

We arrived much more earlier, but hotel's receptionist gave us a room in the middle of night. Perfect. After 2 days stay we taste only breakfasts, which were ok, and we enjoyed modern look of room and good state of equipment.
View from the window is not romantic at all :), you can see TV's antennas only, but what you can expect in center of town.
Room was clean, small, but with all you need for few nights. You can hear activities from other rooms, but it was not so disturbing.

I thing, that I can recommend this hotel, if you are young couple and are you visiting Athens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

i was there last summer and we enjoied the stay with our friends and the familly the stuff very helpful they come out of there way to help and the hotel is clean and tidy we had a very nice room with a large bathroom the mini bar was usefull
hope we get chance to visit it again
thaaaanks every 1 for making our holliday the best xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Hello,
My name is Janina J /Angelica/ I am From Toronto. I stayed in Brazil Hotel 7 nights on July. I was an extremely happy, Very clean . An extremely friendly service. Also such quiet- I felt like at my home- like a family-- very safe. I strongly recommended this lovely hotel. If I go to Athens again- 100% i go there again. Thank you for an excellent service.

I send to everyone who work there my best wishes. sloneczko55@gmail.com
Thank you. Love you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We found the hotel clean and basic but have to complain about the rude managers - first we were shouted at for talking in the lobby and then I was harrassed about having my friends who stayed the previous night still spent some time in my room the next day - a room for which I have paid. The management should brush up on friendliness and public relations. Unfortunately I cannot advise any one to stay here because of their rude attitude.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dekoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
New Dream Hotel
#158 of 326 in Athens
3 reviews
Exarchia
Alter Athens Hotel
Alter Athens Hotel
#179 of 326 in Athens
9 reviews
Hotel Semeli
#142 of 326 in Athens
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victory Inn
#42 of 326 in Athens
297 reviews
Exis Boutique Hotel
#168 of 326 in Athens
40 reviews
Athens City Hotel
#143 of 326 in Athens
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brazil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brazil Hotel

Property: Brazil Hotel
Address: 62 Filis | Victoria Square, Athens 104 34, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#50 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brazil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brazil Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing