We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and tasteful start of greek tour”
Review of O Kipos Tis Troon

O Kipos Tis Troon
Ranked #566 of 2,520 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived in Greece our host adviced us to go to throon street for good restaurants. We ended up in Tou Kipos where we ordered far too much. Our very kind waiter, Bill, smilingly ordered us to finish all dishes, but tasteful as it was, we didn't manage. Nevertheless, it was a good introduction in the greek cuisine, also enjoyed by my 13 year old son. We were also very well served by Anna. The second night the food was equally well. Looking back on our trip through greece, this was our second best testaurant.
Minor advice, don't order everything, you'll get all at once.

Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orestis B, Owner at O Kipos Tis Troon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2015

We are far to happy from your dining experience .
Thank you berry much.
Hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've been visiting more restaurants looking for something beyond moussaka and pastitsio. I'd heard that in Petralona there were some wonderful new restaurants, so my family and I decided to explore the area. We had no recommendations and not even a good map, but wandered around until we came to Troon street, which had several restaurants near each other. We chose this one because it was so beautiful -- tables put in a gap between buildings with a retractable roof for shade. We looked at the menu and found lots of things we'd not had. The mushrooms with greens and cream sauce, bacon and cheese rolls, graviere cheese-balls, mussels, salad with arugula and gooseberries... everything was delicious! The service was great, too. We will definitely return!

1  Thank lesliekaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orestis B, Owner at O Kipos Tis Troon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2015

Hello sir .
It's been a long time .
But thank you very much for your review .
We apologize for the late reply .
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

On Troon, easy to get to from Thisio Metro with a map. Or cab.
had awesome mushroom app. suggested by waitress and a cheese pie, both outstanding. had octopus for a main and a liter of white wine. Total bill 25E.
many fine restaurants on Troon and outdoor movie theater across the street.
Dinner starts at 8, movie at 9 and 10:45

Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We came across this hidden garden on our way to find a ouzeria in Ano Petrallona. This is a full service restaurant with a very lovely and relaxing atmosphere. The food is very traditional Greek cuisine. The appetizers are very large - easily shared with your partner. We sampled the grilled octopus (which was fresh), their fried zucchini cakes, and village sausage. The zucchini cakes were nicely flavored with dill and just the right amount of cheese. The village sausage was grilled, very light - unusually free of fat - the octopus was also grilled and nicely prepared. It is obvious the restaurant actually has a chief at work. This is a hidden gem - we plan to return for a full meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eur0peanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orestis B, Owner at O Kipos Tis Troon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you very much for your review .
We're happy to see that you find our restaurant and you enjoyed a good meal.
Yes , we do have a chief and a complete staff at the kitchen .
Thank you very much once again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Sabrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Kipos Tis Troon also viewed

Athens, Attica
 

Been to O Kipos Tis Troon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing