We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katerina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Katerina Hotel
Ranked #36 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Only stayed one night last weekend, at the end of a longer trip and before our flight next day.

As others have said, it is well located for transport connections to and from the airport and within the city itself. The Metro entrance at the end of the street has an elevator which is convenient if travelling with luggage, the other entrance across the square has only a very steep flight of stairs.

We were able to access our room ahead of the official time as opted for a potentially quieter room overlooking the rear which was available earlier than the balcony room to the front would be. The rooms overlooking the rear have no balcony. Although the room was smaller than we expected, it had everything in it we expected and was extremely clean. The very efficient (and much welcomed) A/C kept the room cool when we were in it, and although the bed was firm we had a good nights sleep.

The breakfast buffet had a much bigger selection than we had expected for the price of this hotel and there was a very good choice of eggs, pastries, breads, cereals, cold meats, yogurt cake etc. We enjoyed everything we chose.

Staff went above and beyond when we had difficulty checking in for our flight the following day due to a lack of some detail from our travel agent on our e-tickets. Thanks to their efforts we finally got checked in and even our boarding passes were printed for us. There was no charge for this despite the amount of time which was spent helping us and their customer service was better than we have experienced in higher grade hotels in other parts of the world.

Should we ever return to Athens we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    217
    54
    4
    2
See reviews for
98
189
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this while staying in the hotel. It is clean, has the basics amenities, but it's incredibly tiny for two. Friendly staff. Minus-the cigaretts smoke smell in the lobby, but I guess that's still the Greeks :)
I have also seen ants in the lobby while waiting to be checked in but it's not the end of the world.
All in all is not too bad, for short stay it's worth it.
Price wise, was not too cheap probably because of the busy Athens these days with various conferences. We paid 95/room/night. Wi-fi ree all over the place

Helpful?
1 Thank Marya M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel as we saw on trip advisor comfortable, very clean, good breakfasts, very good location hop on hop off bus station and metro station approx 100 metres. On the way to the hotel from metro call into PS restaurant very hospitable very nice owner good food and good size portion. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay and would stay again good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed from 12-14th June 2014. Place is centrally located specially if you are using hop in and hop off service as the station no 13 is right in front of the hotel. This is what we did, and we saved a lot of time and money travelling around the city. Staff is excelling and they take care of you very well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GautamNaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is small and homey. Has very quaint tiny elevators which were a lovely experience and saved 5 flights of stairs with luggage. Centre of Athens was extremely easy to access via metro. Watch out for taxi drivers who love to over charge! Breakfast was excellent and kept us going until late afternoon. Staffs very helpful. Parking available and free of charge. Small quibble: only one glass provided in room and although we asked for another and got it, every day the cleaner left only one. No kettle either but that is usual in Greece. Loved balcony looking over square. Noisy when doors open but very quiet when closed. We found the bed was hard as well- this also seems to be common in Greece. We would definitely stay here when we return to Athens.

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floors. Quieter. Seafood restaurant straight across road was fantastic. We ate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My friends and I booked a family suite for 5 people through Booking.com. Arriving at the hotel was not difficult as it is located about 3 minutes away from the Metaxourgeiou metro station. You could simply take the metro from the Airport to the station, changing lines at Syntagma. Check-in was rather slow and we had to wait almost half an hour at the reception.

Our family suite was essentially two rooms that are combined into one - one was a small double room with an ensuite toilet, the other was a larger twin room with an additional bed and ensuite toilet. Both rooms each had a television, cupboards with hangers, air-conditioning, etc. The twin room was rather cramped because of the additional bed which resulted in almost no walking space. The double room was small but comfortable.

The toilets were good - shower was good with hot water readily available. Clean towels were provided, and the room was made up every morning. Everything in the room was clean - although some facilities were not working well (eg. one of the toilet door lock does not work, one of the hairdryers emits a burning smell if used).

Breakfast was included in our package, and there was a pretty decent selection. There was the usual bread and pastries, cereals, sunny side-up and hard boiled eggs, fruits, ham, etc. It was a good way to start the day. The seating area is not very big though so it may take a short while to find seats.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel because it has pretty good facilities and location, and the price was reasonable for what it offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharingan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is on the corner of a busy square and is close to Metaxurgio metro station. The rooms are comfortable with a good shower over a small sit in bath. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is very good. It can be noisy outside in spite of the triple glazing but this is a small quibble because the hotel is great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Hotel Tony
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marble House
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Victory Inn
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina Hotel

Property: Katerina Hotel
Address: Karolou 20 | Psaron, Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Katerina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Katerina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing