We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #263 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Claridge Hotel is a prime example of how "you get what you pay for". This is a below average hotel with dark, old rooms that clearly show their age. The receptionist wasn't terribly friendly either. The area where the hotel is located (Omonia Square) is not the best place in the world either. It's full of questionable characters (mainly illegal immigrants) and I've heard that it can get dangerous at night. The good thing is that there is a subway station right next to the hotel with access to the red and green Metro lines. This being central Athens, one can find a ton of restaurants and shops nearby which is a plus. Overall, this is a cheap hotel and you can tell right away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WideBodyroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    21
    17
    36
See reviews for
6
24
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I booked this hotel through venere.com. The photos of the hotel on the website were pretty decent and nice.So i zeroed in on claridge after looking at various options. I got the deal for 48euros a night and booked for 3 nights. It was supposed to be our first trip to Greece and obviously we were very excited about it.
From the airport we took a taxi right to the ommonia square where the hotel is located. The hotel is located in the centre of Athens and quite close to Acropolis. The moment i entered the hotel i felt that something was going wrong.The hotel was no where close to the photos that were posted on the web. It was not bad but very very ordinary compared to what i believed it would be. The man at the reception desk gave us our room key which was in the second floor. So we dragged our luggage and opened a door, which was supposed to be the door of the elevator. Please trust this with no exaggeration IT WAS THE WORST ELEVATOR THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN IM MY LIFE. It was so old and dirty that floor of the elevator was shaking. I felt so bad about it.
Then the second part, the moment we opened the room door i was shocked to look that the room hadnt been cleaned after being used by the previous occupant. There were glasses, beer bottles and waste papers being thrown everywhere.It was smelling really bad. I informed the reception desk about this and they asked us to wait for a while to clean it.I was so frustrated that i used this opportunity to cancel my room.The manager however obliged to me without any problems.We then walked around the area dragging our luggages and bags and finally found Hotel Iniohos In the vicinity.
All factors put together, i would not recommend this hotel.The hotel absolutely has no proper maintenance.Staying in this hotel is an absolute disaster!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikramHercop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

delicious breakfast, the staff are very helpful. nice, and kind. We will recommend everyone to live here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and it was a very pleasant experience. There were 6 of us and we were divided into 2 bedrooms of 3. The stay was inexpensive, breakfast included and the location was great. The metro station was right next to the hotel, and you could walk to Acropolis in 10 minutes.
The staff were very kind and the rooms were tidy. All the necessary things were available (inlcuding a fridge and a working air conditioner).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Stay away. It's in a dangerous neighborhood, the hotel is dirty, and the staff is mean.

My sheets had pubic hairs on them and strange stains, and I had to fight with the hotel to change the sheets (they refused to change the pillow cases). They wouldn't clean the hairs and trash in the bathroom when I complained. I left my luggage in the hotel for 2 hours while I found a new one. They still charged me for an entire night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey4165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The location is good, right in omonia square literally 20metres from the metro, shops and restaurants right in the heart of athens, from this spot you can get to all the tourist attractions easily, which also makes it easy to find. Thats all the good points to this hotel unfortunately, it is so basic the lifts are very shady! The bathroom is as basic as they come. The surrounding area at night is suppose to be quite rough but we didn't come accross this, there's actual a few nice restaurants just around the corner! The shopping is great and it gives you a good feel of what athens is about. The price was quite expensive for what it is and there are no extras included. If you want to stay for a short visit and to experience athens this area is good starting point, just maybe not this hotel.. we had to book due to many hotels being booked already! Don't expect anything spectacular just a simple hotel right in the heart of athens.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Diethnes
#250 of 326 in Athens
113 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#167 of 326 in Athens
305 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#225 of 326 in Athens
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#177 of 326 in Athens
190 reviews
Hotel Moka
#156 of 326 in Athens
164 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#132 of 326 in Athens
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Property: Claridge Hotel
Address: 4 Dorou, Athens 104 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Claridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing