We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super cheap but nice!”
Review of Hotel Cosmos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cosmos
Ranked #127 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super cheap but nice!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and we didn't expect much from this super cheap hotel. But the rooms we're quit ok, the beds were good and the shower as well (besides the broken thing to hang the shower head). The location is good, it's a few stops from the acropolis and if you are in a good mood you can even walk there. There are a few bars/restaurants across the road as well. So it's a very good spot for a short and cheap stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    127
    103
    18
    16
See reviews for
53
114
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is a 2-minute walk from the Metaxurgio metro stop in a neighbourhood that is not overly touristy. In some places the Cosmos might even be rated as a 3-star. The staff are competent, professional and friendly and the rooms are clean with tile flooring to each wall. As to be expected the rooms are small and the bathrooms a little tight. The TV has very limited options but the WiFi was decent and the AC works. This hotel is what it is; a well-run hotel providing good value for the budget-minded traveler. Just what I like!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Roughly speaking, there are 2 categories of hotel-dweller:

A: mega rich
B: the rest

I'm in the second category, and this can be sub-divided further:

B1: not quite mega-rich, but trying hard
B2: budget
B3: broke

I'm in category B2 so that's the kind of hotel I go for. Now, if the hotel I'm staying in also lives up to the B2 standard, then I'm happy. Furthermore, I'll judge the hotel according to that standard. Unfortunately, some of the other reviewers seem to have judged this hotel while peering through a pair of A-class spectacles. Mistake.

Hotel Cosmos is a great budget option - in the full meaning of the word - in a convenient location. The staff were friendly and helpful. I also liked the fact that the vending machine in the lobby had cold beer for 1 euro.

The only reason I didn't give 5 was the faint yet distinct lingering odour of cigarette smoke in the room.

If you can live with that, book it. 25 euros a night - you don't argue with that!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kingoftheslums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayd here for one week in June 2014. Although the price range is the same, this hotel in Metaxurgio has better location than the ones in Omonia and it is just one metro stop ahead. The hotel is located just 50 metres to metro.
Pros:daily cleaning, easy access, very good price.
Cons:no shampoo/shower gel, no fridge, no breakfast, there is an AC but they didn't provide the remote. I didn't ask since I didn't need it.

There are a lot of places to see and eat/drink/enjoy in Athens. I only came to the hotel late at nights and left in the mornings, so I did not mind the cons..

Overall, the cost benefit ratio is high. So I could still consider staying here next time..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haksent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in hotel cosmos. The room is spacious and clean, with a balcony that brings natural sunlights.

The location is of the best. It's only a few mins walk from the metro and 20-30mins walk to national archeological museum and acropolis if you preferred to walk - we did it, pretty straightforward. There's also restaurants with reasonable price and a supermarket nearby.

Very basic but good room. Very good option for budget traveller.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hofami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staying 4 nights for usd 111 (sgd 139) is quite cheap considering that this place is very close to metro station Metaxourgio (airport to syntagma sq, then changed lines). When just came out from the elevator and when we turned right saw the board of the hotel. initially, when we first arrived we felt the neighborhood is not safe. However, it is not so and we felt quite safe and specially as it is less than 1 min walk to hotel.
Also, it is very close to acropolis (if you go by metro its just only 4 metros and also we once walked to acropolis and it took around 35 mins to reach there)

There is a balcony in the room. No extra payment for air con or wifi.

However, there was no electric jug in the room. When we checked with the reception as we wanted to have a morning tea, we got to know that there is a one in the pantry and it cant be taken to our rooms as there is only 1 to the hotel. In the pantry (near reception) there is a fridge (no fridge inside rooms). Also there is no iron in the room.

The TV is very old. Even the furniture is old. But the room is quite clean.

The wifi is very poor (available inside rooms) and loose connection always. We stayed in 3rd floor and in the early morning (around 5am to 7 am) it is quite ok compared to other times. To use viber, we had to go to metro (e.g. acropolis metro, they have free wifi with very good connection).

We can hear sound from other rooms (e.g. flushing of toilets).

Better if there is a waste bin the room.

We didnt try the hotel breakfast as we felt that we can buy breakfast from pastry shops outside.

In overall if you are looking for a clean place very near to metro for budget travelling (not concerned on amenities) I suggest you this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean room with airco. Hosted in a quiet area. Subway station is around the corner, so is the busstop for the hop on hop off bus.
Cheap water in the machine downstairs. Friendly and helpfull staff.
The rooms are a bit noisy and the bed is hard.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#157 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Hotel Semeli
#138 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Hotel Neos Olympos
#233 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exis Boutique Hotel
#171 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#229 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Hotel Moka
#145 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmos

Property: Hotel Cosmos
Address: 16 Psaron, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cosmos 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-fi,free luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cosmos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing