We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Pergamos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pergamos
Ranked #175 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here last year (2012). The hotel is well positioned for the attractions of Athens. The reception staff were excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was acceptable. It represented excellent value for money.
Others have mentioned beggars, etc - we had no problems with this, even late at night when we returned. Any 'beggars' left us alone and we didn't feel threatened at all. The only negative thing about the hotel was the other guests having noisy mobile phone conversations and slamming doors late into the night - it echoed up the stairwells. However this was not the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    109
    103
    31
    19
See reviews for
29
148
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. People complain about the bad area, but we had no trouble. You do see an occasional beggar and prostitute, but this was all over Athens, not just by this hotel. We walked at night and had no issues at all.

The room was comfortable with an adequate bathroom (my only complaint is the water pressure wasn't that great on the 7th floor) nice cold fridge, English TV channels (Was nice to watch CNN in English) on a LCD flat screen. The bed was comfortable although we had two twins pushed together. From the seventh floor there were steps that led up the eighth floor. We would buy Gyros and take them up to the roof to eat. There was a very nice view of downtown Athens from the roof, including the lighted acropolis.

The front desk was very helpful with directions, maps, suggestions of places to go. They also let us keep our luggage there overnight for free while we did an overnight island tour.

Breakfast was adequate, although had no produce. It had boiled eggs, lunch meat, cheese, melba toast, bread, orange drink (not juice), and tea. They also had corn flakes and chocolate corn flakes. I was hoping for some produce and greek yougurt, but considering the cheap room, I was satisfied with the breakfast.

It was about a 5-10 minute walk from the Omonia station. As we toured, we sometimes wished for a hotel closer to center, but that is the only wish we had.

For only 20 euros a night, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Lower floors have better balconies and better water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klippan, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Though it is a 2 star hotel, service is 5 star for sure. Sakis welcomed us in a warm manner. we were given number of room keys to have a look and choose. Rooms and toilets were very small but very well furnished. LED TV, Locker, Hair dryer, Mini Fridge, split AC etc. As we went out for a walk, Sakis reminded us that it is about to rain and gave us an umbrella. Very good WIFI signals everywhere, 3PCs in the lobby (one is a user friendly touch screen monitor). Noise of the lift is disturbing in the night, so try to avoid 7th floor. Linen is changed daily. Breakfast is 2 star. Manolis helped us with a guide book, maps and travel tips etc. 2km to Syntagma square, 3km to Acropolis, 1/2km to Omonia square. Prostitutes, beggars and drug abusers are not rare in the area but police officers are more common. My wife was shocked on arrival, but by day 2 she learned to ignore the surrounding.

Room Tip: Avoid 7th floor. 4,5,6th floor may be the best. Front rooms are noisy but has balconies. They allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

For the price, I think it's a great deal. About a 20 minute walk to everything Acropolis. Train station is 10 minutes away but we didn't use it to get to the sights and Parliament and museums. Hotel staff was helpful when we had electricity problems with our room. The bathroom and shower were a little small but again can't complain. Neighborhood wasn't the best but I get the feeling that every area of Athens is like that. Only problem we had was our air conditioner kept turning off at about 4am and it got very hot very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Hotel was nice, we had a twin room and the bed had the most uncomfortable mattress ever. Next day we asked for a double bedroom and we were granted one the next day with no problems. Bedroom was lovely with comfortable bed and modern facilities, room had balcony too. Breakfast was ok- a bit cheap - cheap cornflakes which i personally refused to eat, orange juice was in fact orange squash, cheap butter and jam, the milk was not nice either it made the coffee taste really weird. I thought the lady in the breakfast room could have tried to smile, i understand there might have been a language barrier but she could have used welcoming body language. Everyone in the reception was very helpful and we were given a book on Greece which we were told we could keep. The hotel was 10 minutes to town centre on foot but the area was extremely rough. I would personally recommend going somewhere else or much closer to a metro station. The area is full of drunks, prostitutes and a lot of homeless people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dessislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

It was a good stay, except the neighborhood. We were scared that something might happen to our car but after all everything was OK. Dangerous to walk during the night.

The staff was really helpful and the rooms were just perfect for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedo-Bela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

So it's not a 5 star hotel, but for what your paying, it was great. I stayed with my husband & found the service is great, air-con worked really well, clean rooms with a frig & safe, small beds & small shower. Water pressure & hot water was good. $22 a night it was an great bargain.
Had dinner at the Romanian restaurant just off the parking lot and great meal, cheap price. Try the cabbage rolls!
The surrounding location was a little dodgey. & looked rough when it got dark. I would suggest that women shouldn't go out on their own when it starts to get dark. Other than that there was no other real worry. I would stay there again if I need to stay a t a clean cheap hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Cosmos
#137 of 326 in Athens
302 reviews
Hotel Moka
#156 of 326 in Athens
163 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#166 of 326 in Athens
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Epidavros Hotel
#124 of 326 in Athens
300 reviews
Exis Boutique Hotel
#168 of 326 in Athens
40 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#224 of 326 in Athens
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pergamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pergamos

Property: Hotel Pergamos
Address: 14 Acharnon | Vathis Square, Athens 104 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pergamos 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pergamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergamos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing