We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat this value”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Centrotel is a lovely, medium-sized hotel with most of the comforts one wants for a city visit. At this price, it is not going to have a pool or gym, but the rooms are great, the service friendly and there is parking if you are crazy enough to drive in Athens. Some reviewers don't like the area too much, but we found it to be perfectly safe to walk around day and night. While the Metro stations are not on the doorstep, they are only a 5 minute walk and there are supermarkets, bakeries, cafes and most of the other conveniences close by. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Side rooms quietest with lge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnno2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

There is a lot to like about Centrotel Hotel. The rooms are clean, rates affordable and staff friendly. However, it is located in a fairly poor part of town and you'll need to take a train to the main tourist area. Definitely not walkable.

Whilst the hotel area is not dangerous as such, it is rather poor and I would not recommend wandering around on your own. In any case, there is nothing nearby open at night. I guess you get what you pay for and on those terms, it is good value.

Bottom line, if you are going for value, something affordable, have plenty of time and travelling in pairs/group, consider staying at Centrotel. Otherwise, pick somewhere closer to the main tourist areas. It will save you time travelling.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank kerwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Most of the "4-star" hotels we stayed at in Greece would be lucky to be rated 2 stars in America, as they had tiny rooms, tiny bathrooms, thin mattresses, 2 twin mattresses pushed together instead of a queen-sized bed, etc. However, Centrotel was an exception to that rule. Our room was huge, even larger than you would normally get in the US. The room was about twice the size of another hotel that we have stayed at in Athens, "Athens Center Square". No other hotel in Greece that we stayed at had a bathtub, but Centrotel had a jacuzzi tub.

Many reviews mention the sketchy neighborhood. It definitely would feel like a sketchy neighborhood to an American, but it's just an average Athens neighborhood. People might be shocked by the graffiti, which is everywhere in Athens (and even in most of the small towns we visited). Just remember that it's usually related to politics, not to gangs. Graffiti in Athens doesn't symbolize crime like it does in America.

They have an underground parking lot, which is a must-have if you will be driving in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasalbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

It's a 5 minute walk to the subway & maybe another 15 minutes to the Acropolis & the Agora. Our room had a little balcony looking into a residential area. The beds are comfy & the spotless bathroom had a really great whirlpool bathtub...a swell feature to come home to after 5 or 6 hours of walking!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is great. The neighborhood is a little poor, but the hotel is near from everything.
The rooms are large, clean and quiet.
I recomend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel staff is immediately friendly when you arrive! The rooms are clean and all a decent size. We stayed in two different rooms, the double room when we arrived to Greece and the small double room the day before our departure. The small double room is 10 euros less I believe and the size difference is not noticeable enough. So I would definitely stay in the small double room next time since there really is no difference. The bath is jetted, the wireless is included, and there are even little lights above the bed that light up like stars at night! Great stay if you are only in Athens for a stop over, otherwise I would pick a little bit better location. Cabs are shady and have given us different prices from the same main square. Some have been 5 euros and one recently tried to charge 24 euros, be wary! On the plus side there is a gyro place next door that is amazing!

Room Tip: Small double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustRachelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We booked this hotel completely based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. This is a gem of a hotel: sparkling clean, efficient, very friendly and helpful staff, great rooms, very ample breakfast included. It is a new building and purpose built, so isn't an old Greek building dripping with old charm (go to the Acropolis and the Plaka for that!), but it is very comfortable and very clean. It is true that the surrounding neighbourhood isn't fantastic - it is run-down but not dangerous - but if you're just sleeping at the hotel and going out to see Athens during the day, that's not a problem. The Larissa tube and train station is a 10 minute walk away so access to the main sights of Athens is quick and easy. For exceptionally good value for money, we would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#54 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
623 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#34 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
937 reviews
Marble House
#18 of 282 in Athens
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £30 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing