We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location... Is not safe at all ... But the hotel and staff r really great ...”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you r looking to be near to the main sayts Its very good choice but u must be awere that this part of Athens is fool with emigrants and thay hanging around all day and doing nothing , I hope sow.I think its better to take a hotel in Plaka or Monastiraki evan on the beach because the transportation in Athens its very good

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
There are newer reviews for Centrotel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose this hotel for a five day family city break based upon previous reviews. The reservation was made in September 2013 for a family room. Despite more than six months passing, the hotel met and exceeded our expectations. Large room, two balconies, incredibly clean, very fresh bathroom, bathrobes, excellent lighting. We were three, but the room would easily accommodate four and still not feel crowded. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Our son had his eleventh birthday during our stay and the staff helped us find a cake and candles. The location is very good in that you have easy access to the Metro, a five minute walk. The neighbourhood is.. a neighbourhood. Some buildings run down, others not. We never felt worried walking about with our eleven year old son. The hotel recommended some local places to eat our evening meals that turned out to be great. Not tourist traps, required a bit of sign language and pointing but super food and value for money. In general this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in for city breaks offering great value for money. If we return to Athens we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 603. Very good room for families.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sepcm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is excellent for the price. The service, particularly the cleaning, was excellent. It is a 30 minute walk to the sights, but the trams are close and accessible. They were very helpful in ensuring that we had a timely taxi for a very early flight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Virkin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Superb value for such quality rooms and lovely friendly service. Everything was clean and had a couple of breakfasts which were great.
Location is very close to the underground and you are the city centre in no time. It is a bit run down in the immediate area, but it my thirteen year old son and I never felt uncomfortable walking to and from the hotel.
Will definitely stay again when I next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hogster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Due to a Lutthansa pilot's strike, our return flight from Athens (scheduled for April 2) was cancelled.

We needed another hotel to extend our stay, because our previous hotel was "full."

Checking out prices on Hotwire and TA, the rate of $37 Euros (2 persons, double occupancy) seemed Too Good To Be True, so we personally visited the property and made a room inspection.

Despite being touted as a 2-star hotel, the rooms were quite luxurious and were much larger than the highly-rated 4-star hotel that we had been staying for over a week.

The helpful desk clerk pointed out that the $37 online rate was "no breakfast included," so we chose the $50 Euros per night option that includes continental breakfast.

The lobby and the breakfast room seemed very nice and we would most definitely stay here if we returned to Athens a second time.

As it turned out, Lufthansa was able to get us out of Athens on time after all -- so we were able to cancel the rest of out tentative stay without being charged for the additional nights.

We would highly recommend this property to anyone who is adventurous enough to ride the Metro, as there are two stations within 8 blocks in either direction.

However, if you are someone who needs to be in the center of Acropolis and other attractions, you may want to consider another (higher priced) location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is fantastic for the price. A short walk from the metro, we were able to get anywhere quickly. The room was clean and had a small fridge that allowed us to go to the local grocery for simple supplies. The one con, and this is probably just from an American perspective, there wasn't a blanket. Sheet and then bedspread. The extra "blanket" was just another bedspread. Odd, but not a deal killer. I'd definitely stay here again. There was also a really good, reasonably priced cafeteria-style restaurant just a half block away. Fantastic place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityMouseBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We spent here 4 nights and just came back from the lovely Centrotel hotel.
Very nice, clean and quiet hotel in the center of Athens.

All compliments for housemaid who was taking care about room 202. Checking bed, pillows, bathroom, daily fresh towels... it was really nice! Thank you!

Hotel is very close to Victoria metro station, just one station away from Omonia square and you are in epicentre of Athens. If you are for the first time here like we were, just speak with the staff on the front desk, they will explane you everything you need and they will give you nice tips for visiting monuments and interesting areas here. All of them were nice but we would like to say special Thanks to Dina :)

We didn't eat in the hotel because we were mostly outside and running around (so we don't know nothing about food here), but don't worry - big supermarket is little bit down the street, 2-3 small shops, nice bakery and gyros next door from hotel down the street and Victoria Square can offer you few nice cafeterias and bistros.

We were just very sorry because 4 days were not enough for such a lovely place like Athens is but we will come back.

Thank you Centrotel, thank you Athens!!!

Vladimir & Marija ;)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank InformBiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#49 of 282 in Athens
301 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
614 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,360 reviews
Marble House
#18 of 282 in Athens
702 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing