We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, very clean and comfortable. Not the best neighborhood.”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Cheap, very clean and comfortable. Not the best neighborhood. If this was located a little bit more to the center , it was the perfect place. But the neighborhood is pretty shabby. We didn't feel unsafe though. Free parking and close to train and metro station and to archeological museum. Rooms are very good, spacious and good beds and bathrooms. Good for a city trip to Athens.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is AMAZING considering the neighborhood its in. Most hotels in greece are near Syntagma Square, but this hotel is near Victoria station. The neighborhood looks rough, but is harmless. We walked around at night no problems. The hotel is seriously 5 star quality, extremely clean, with amazing staff who are generous with their smiles. Hotel appears to be brand new even though it is 8 years old. Internet everywhere, even a courtesy laptop with a printer for convenience. They have a optional breakfast but I do NOT recommend it, for 7 Euro you don't get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Negative:
- Ugly neighborhood (but secure, even at night)
- 300m from metro station
- Expensive breakfast

Positive:
+ Large, beautiful, clean, comfortable, carpeted, room
+ With plenty of lights
+ With plenty of mirrors
+ With large, clean, beautiful WC with whirlpool
+ The hotel looks new

Room Tip: This hotel has small and large rooms. We went to a large room and where amazed! So, for a small pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our room was great and the staff was wonderful. Had a lot of room in the refrigerator for our own food and we could see the Acropolis from our balcony. Do not let the area put you off. It is in a regular neighborhood and only two short blocks to Victoria station. There are two big supermarkets right around the corner from the hotel for food and beverages.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite with Acroplis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pro's: Clean, modern, large bathroom with tub, fairly quiet, close to metro and Victoria Square (many restaurants)

Con's: Neighbourhood looks sketchy but we never felt unsafe, view from balcony (courtyard side) was not great

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I can not stress enough, do not stay here, no matter the price.

We had a 3 night stay but left after the 1st night and paid for a second hotel while losing the nonrefundable money we spent on Centrotel for nights 2 and 3. That's how bad. (Other hotel suggestions at end of review.)

My fiance and I did a long multi island and mainland tour of Greece. We have visited 10 places and stayed at many hotels, including 2 others in Athens and 2 others on the mainland, so we have a comparison and can give a quick honest review.

Good: Building lobby nice. Rooms spacious. Bathtubs are nice.

Bad: Incredibly shady and dangerous neighborhood.

Worst: No individual controls for the AC heat in each room. The rooms have fake controls but they do nothing. We discovered this after coming down to the desk and asking for another room to management that they have a central system with one temp for each room.

Then the next day we found out the AC system for the hotel was turned off during our stay! Our room was 80 degrees at night!! Other guests checking out complained of the same thing. Terrible!

The fan blew smokey air from inside the building. We could open the door for fresh air if we preferred to hear lots of street noise, car alarms, and see the sun rise.

Not worth it at all. Even at $1 I would never stay again. I've given most places I've stayed 5 and 4 star reviews so this is not my nature to complain.

Instead go stay near Acropolis at Plaka or Hermes hotels. Not expensive, and those have amazing location. Great service. The extra cost is worth it in saved cab fairs and enjoyment of facilities.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nothing but good things to say about this gem of a hotel in Athens. After a long haul from the other side of the world the warm and genuine greeting from proprietor Vassilis and the staff was a real pleasure. The welcoming complimentary beer on our balcony was a delightful added treat.
The room was bright, spacious, well appointed and meticulously clean and the bathroom was absolutely 5 star.
The location was far more user friendly than we had expected, with the metro only a block away and access to all points very straightforward, including the airport. The neighbourhood may seem a little dodgy at first but in fact was not the slightest problem, even late at night.
Also delighted to say the Athens taxi drivers have really cleaned up their act in the last couple of years and were helpful and courteous at all times. A taxi ride to the town centre was about €3.50 on the meter.
The only gripe I could possibly have have is that the bed is seriously firm.. I mean industrial strength hard and the pillows are pretty unforgiving too. However this won't stop us from being back again, or from recommending The Centrotel to our travelling mates.
All In all this hotel punches well above its weight in value for money.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor facing the street with balcony was terrific and we weren't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biniberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#52 of 281 in Athens
301 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Marble House
#17 of 281 in Athens
711 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 281 in Athens
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing