We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel... Great Service..”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel was above expectations. The rooms were nice, and the service was great. The only negative is the location. It is located in between two main train stations, about 3 stops for the city center. The walk to the hotel is through some seedy areas. But if you are not a night owl and will be returning to the hotel at a decent time, then you should be fine. The price is great.. a great hotel for couples, as the rooms have mood lighting....

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TwoYearTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

This hotel was definitely a hidden gem! I was travelling with 2 of my girlfriends, and all 3 of us felt very safe. It was also very clean - considering the area.
Our room had 3 single beds with a big balcony - although our view wasn't the greatest. The bathroom was fully equipped with everything... we even had a bathtub with jets! The only issue we had with our room was the fact that the bathtub didn't have a shower curtain and the shower head was hand-held.
The hotel's location was okay (5 minute walk from metro station), but it was in an area of town where there were alot of locals and not too many tourists.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to any travellers :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This hotel really is great to come back to after sightseeing in Athens. It's good value for money and has lovely comfortable bedrooms with aircon, balcony and the star ceiling. There's free internet access. The service is excellent. The hotel location is convenient for getting transport to the main tourist areas, just a couple of stops away. The area could seem a bit scary when you first see it late at night, but in fact it's fine and I felt safe here. The spa baths are wonderful too. The continental breakfast, delivered to our room, is huge and very good and the rooms were serviced to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We only stayed 1 night at Centrotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is beautifully designed and is great value for the money. The location is very good, and my wife and 3 teenage daughters had no problem with the area... in fact they enjoyed it more than some "touristy" areas of Athens. Food, groceries, you name it, everything around Victoria station was much less expensive than the Plaka or Syntagma area.
If you're looking for a great, stylish hotel at a reasonable price in an "authentic" area, Centrotel is a great choice !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank familyguyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Although the walk down to this hotel can be slightly sketchy at night (though not unsafe), once inside you feel like you got a bargain for a higher end hotel. The lobby is nice, there is free wifi, and the rooms are very modern, with great showers. Although our room smelled of smoke when we first arrived, opening the windows for a day alleviated that. The hotel is three blocks from a metro station in Victoria square, which in turn takes you to the acropolis in only a couple stops. There's also a supermarket around the corner if you prefer to get some cheap food/water during your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chueybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

This had definitely got to be one of the best hotels in Athens. It is relatively inexpensive, however, feels like a 5-star hotel. The location is great, rooms are fabulous (love the fairy lights on the ceilings and spa in the bathroom), the staff very friendly, and there is also free internet. Would strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w0rld_traveller1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel only for one night and wanted to stay for longer, we didn't expect a 3 star hotel to be a 5 star hotel. the hotel is just amazing and if you don't go to vIctoria station but to Larissa station than the location is not so bad and it is very close to the suburban train to the airport. and actually, other than kolonaki area, all the areas in athens look the same.. the room was amazing, great bathroom with everything you need, free wi fi, and very good and cheap places to eat across the street, recommanded to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#52 of 281 in Athens
301 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Marble House
#17 of 281 in Athens
712 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 281 in Athens
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing