We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Thank goodness for the Centrotel! We were not enamored with Athens, but this hotel made up for it. The hotel is modern, clean, and just a 5 min walk to Victoria station, which can put you at the Acropolis in 2 stops.
We stayed at this hotel at the end of our trip and liked the location much more than the first hotel we stayed in which was near Omonia Square (neither are 'pretty', but the Centrotel's location was less seedy).
We loved the free WiFi and the jacuzzi tub. But we always ask ourselves why can't shower curtains be standard in Europe?

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopaholic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    400
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
166
656
85
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

...in a working-class neighborhood that will be a letdown for some travelers (for us, it was different in a non-scary way). We stayed on the top floor, amongst the forest of TV antennas on the roofs around the hotel. The balcony doors and shutters were adequate against the noise from the street.
We loved our room: it was well-appointed, spacious, clean and more than met our needs. The bathroom was, by Greek standards, supersized! All front desk staff were competent, friendly and helpful. City maps with transportation and tourist info were a nice touch, as were the computers in the lobby for the guests to use (this in addition to free Wi-Fi).
Eating in the neighborhood was somewhat a problem as no restaurants or tavernas we saw had menus in English. Recommendations from the hotel staff would have been helpful, especially as this district has large immigrant population and is bound to have some cool ethnic eateries.
Getting to the sights was easy: Victoria Square metro stop is only 5 minutes away, and the Archeological Museum is within walking distance. Centrotel was a great place to return to after a day of sightseeing, and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I'm glad we chose to stay at the Centrotel! It is located at a convenient walking distance from Victoria Metro station (Green line). My wife and I went through reviews of a lot of other hotels on Tripadvisor and location/neighbourhood was one of our main concerns. The hotel is located in a good neighbourhood, and is within walking distance of Victoria Square, which is dotted with restaurants.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. They helped us with all the arrangements for our daytrip to Delphi and the island cruises. We felt welcome and truly like guests during our stay here. It was also good value for money. Highly recommended...will stay here if I get a chance to visit Athens again.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Umm....not much really!
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arununni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

For the price, not bad but...I arrived at 11 pm and the room bar was empty. First floor is somewhere noisy. For business, ok, but if you are looking for greek style....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I had expected a budget hotel in a busy part of Athens, but not quite like this. The hotel itself is gorgeous - beautiful, modern (though small) rooms with a nice bathroom, a great-looking lobby and very clean. The hotel has free wifi-fi and the daytime manager was delightful. But the praise stops here. While the rooms looked gorgeous, they weren't functional - cardboard beds, no comfortable chairs and the jacuzzi design was impractical and created a lot of flooding. The evening manager was unhelpful - impatient, rude and exhibiting no customer service skills - I had asked him to make a dinner reservation for me and he was affronted by the request. When I wanted to know how to use the phone to call to make the reservation myself, he was curt. He didn't suggest any restaurants or try in any way to ensure that I was having a pleasant stay. Yes, it's a budget hotel, but there's no justification for poor customer service. As for the neighborhood. Yes, it's a close walk to both Larissa and Victoria and therefore easy enough to get around the city, but it is a dodgy neighborhood, even by daylight. I had wanted to avoid the Plaka area and its crazy tourist mobs but I hadn't expected something so run-down and desolate. Conversely, because it wasn't a touristy area, I had one of the best meals of my entire stay in Greece at a nearby taverna (where the only patrons inside were older Greek men) and it cost 5 Euro. The hotel was fairly cheap so depending on your needs and expectations, maybe it is the right place for you, but I'd rather have a plain lobby and no-frills room with a comfortable bed and helpful desk manager. As for food, the room service comes from Dominos Pizza (seriously) and the hotel serves breakfast but it is not included in the price (I believe it was an extra 10 Euro).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 77me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I spent two nights here. This is a business-or-better-class hotel near one of Athens' poorer neighborhoods (Victoria Square). The interior of the hotel is just fine, elegant and nice, and the rooms are comparable to a top USA chain like Four Seasons' rooms. There are a couple exceptions to this. One is the whirlpool bath. It can only be used at certain hours (something like 10am-3pm and 5pm-10pm) and is otherwise electrically disabled. The hours seemed reasonable but never seemed to match when I wanted to use the whirlpool. I believe these hours were set because the hotel's noise insulation, while good, is not good enough to block the noise of the whirlpool bath between rooms.
Our room faced the interior courtyard, and our window faced a cacaphony of residential balconies with laundry, junk, etc. and a couple people sleeping on them at night. So the curtains were essential.
The neighborhood is not the best, but is OK if you use the Larissa station instead of the somewhat closer Victoria station. Victoria is not recommended for nighttime use (it's one of Athens' two red light districts) and even during the day felt sketchier than Rio. Larissa is just a bit longer walk away (~8 min vs ~4 min for Victoria) but the walk to/from Larissa was fine even at night.
The hotel staff were excellent, accommodating, and spoke English well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We got to know of Centrotel hotel from Tripadvisor website and booked it for a very low price. The hotel was spotlessly clean, close to 5 star hotel and service. The front desk guys were extremely helpful and friendly, they guided us almost everyday during our stay.There is 24h room service, and it is extremely fast. The location is ok, 3 mins walk from Victoria metro station. Bathroom jacuzzis, room lighting,curtains were all of top quality and extremely soothing after a hot tired day sightseeing Athens.Breakfast was ok,I would rather grab a toast or sandwich from room service menu or nearby bakery. anyway breakfast is not included in the price and we didnt miss it very much.
Oh, and how can I forget the free WLAN facility, it was so very convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it heartily to everyone.

One general tip for Athens, pls be careful of pickpockets especially in the metros. We had a bad experience in one of the metros during our stay and heard that pickpocketing is quite common in touristy areas of Athens. So watch out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Friend007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#33 of 326 in Athens
291 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marble House
#24 of 326 in Athens
671 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing