We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facility, bad location”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

It took us a while to find the hotel and we were both pickpocketed in the Metro at Victoria station before ariving the hotel.
The hotel itself was beautiful and the front desk service was fantastic. We love the 24 hour internet access from our room. The jacuzzi was nce.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hxiaoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Centrotel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed at the Centrotel Hotel for a week in September on business. I was looking for a hotel located in the business area of Athens rather than the tourist areas and this one suited fine. Located a few minutes walk from two metro stations and the main railway station I felt perfectly safe at night going towards Larissa station, not so comfortable towards Victoria station.

When i arrived at Victoria Station with all my luggage I became hopelessly lost and took a long time to find the hotel but what an oasis when I arrived. The staff were so friendly and let me occupy my room immediately (11:30 am) to allow me to sleep off my jet lag.

The rooms are well furnished with a big firm bed, spa bath, AC and best of all Double Glazing - no noise from the street at all; which is a big deal in Athens owing to the canyon like nature of almost every street in the inner city.

I had a really good feel about the place and these are the highlights:

Enormous breakfast delivered to your room for only 10E - eat on the balcony and enjoy the Athens street life.

Complimentary Wireless Internet! What a blessing for business travelers.

Wonderful staff, who look after you.

Supermarkets and bakeries on the next block

My plans changed and I had to stay an extra night which was accommodated without any fuss at all.

One word of advice when traveling from the airport if you decide to try the train - it no longer runs direct to the city but terminates in the suburbs forcing a change of trains. Don't bother, get the Line 3 metro instead or a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainview547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This hotel exceeded our expectations. It is very close to both the Metro and the Subterranean Rail stations. The location is not a problem due to the outstanding public transportation in the city. The staff hooked us up with maps everywhere - shopping districts, restaurants, travel agencies for booking ferries - and responded quickly to every request we made. Our balcony with sitting area overlooked the nice little main street. The hotel is in a nice QUIET neighborhood and very safe. We stayed for 3 days and never got in a cab. It's about a 20-25 minute leisurely walk(or 3 minute metro ride) through a couple different boroughs of Athens down to The Acropolis. It afforded us a great opportunity to see a part of the city on foot that we wouldn't have seen staying at one of the hotels closer to the touristy area. This is great for travelers with a few days who are looking to experience the entire city, enjoy a nice walk, want some peace and quiet, and need access to both the railway(which is good for travelers with luggage/backpacks, it's purpose is for longer hauls, as it picks you up from the airport, and eventually continues to the port town of Piraeus) and the metro, which stops more frequently, used for hopping around town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetweenBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

this hotel was an excellent choice for cleanliness and value. We stayed two nights , while close to the Victoria Square we were advised not to walk at night ( see previous reviews) to our hotel and did find this to be the case. The jetted tub was heavenly upon return from a day of sightseeing. The staff was most helpful - George was kind. Only drawback was the very firm mattress. The hotel offered a continental breakfast - we found it cheaper to grab breakfast food items from the local supermarket and wonderful bakery very close by. Turn left from the hotel and then the first right to the end of the block. Hint - coffee delivered to your room - for one person 3E - is more than enough for two persons for the am "kick start".

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Canada55plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This hotel was fantastic. Don't let the exterior fool you. Inside rooms are modern, practical and comfortable. I arrived feeling a bit hot and bothered. Staff immediately took my luggage for me and after checkin took them to my room. The room included a spa bath that was wonderful for my weary legs. Lots of power points to use in the room. Location is great if you are visiting the museum and not far from the Metro. Make sure you find the hotel on a map before you go as it is a bit confusing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snake17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Centrotel has clean and comfortable rooms. It's reasonably priced and conveniently located, close to subway and railway stations. And the rooms are quiet at night. There's free indoor parking for guests. Staff are friendly and professional. In a word, excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coppereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Thanks to the complimentary reviews on Tripadvisor we stayed three nights at the Centrotel and were really impressed with the quality and excellent value. True, the area is not upmarket, and the there are no good restaurants nearby, but otherwise the hotel cannot be faulted. Do try the suoerb breakfast - really good value for 10 Euros. You won't need lunch!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#46 of 282 in Athens
301 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
616 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,364 reviews
Marble House
#19 of 282 in Athens
703 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing