We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Athens”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A great place to stay in Athens”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We were a little hesitant in booking a hotel in Athens - lets face it, Athens doesn't always get the best reviews. We found Centrotel to be a great hotel to stay at and it was nice not to be staying right in the heart of the tourist district as we got to see a little more of what Athens is and has to offer by staying that little bit further out. The Metro stations are close by and whilst everyone should take care of their personal belongings on public transport we had no troubles and didn't feel unsafe. The hotel itself it wonderful and we couldn't have come across friendlier and more helpful staff if we tried. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller_cg4jn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    401
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
166
657
85
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The hotel is in a pretty run-down area, although I didn't find it dangerous. The rooms and common areas are very nice and the people very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Great hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Cheered us up during the metro strike! Room was a good size for Europe.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparti
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Very large rooms very clean and very quiet.
Trully hidden in the heart of Athens

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibagante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Centrotel in Athens was simply great. Very friendly management and staff. The location was relatively close to the central Athens railway station, within walking distance, an important point for us. There are plenty of good quality cafes and restaurants in the nearby Victoria Square offering a range of prices.

Our room was a good generous size with excellent facilities and a balcony that was actually big enough to use and enjoy and which had a charming neighbourhood view. The truly delightful "stars-in-the night" ceiling over the bed added something special...ooh la la!!

Being in a side street actually offers an interesting insight into the real .Athens street life

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Room was WOOHOO GREAT! The best hotel room I've ever stayed in my whole Europe trip actually. It was huge, more than enough space to put all our HUGE luggage. The ceiling even had these LED lights right above the bed which would change colour every other minute, like little twinkling stars. Mirrors all over the room and very brightly lit so it's a joy for girls who need their makeup done right (like me!). TV only had one English channel but who cares, really! Room service menu wasn't all that great but why need room service when you've got that great Palmie bistro and the Pitta Pan nearby! We did order a orange juice and a coke though. Upon check-out, they waived those charges which was a very, very nice touch. Extremely fast wifi for your iPhones and laptops. Don't even fret if you don't have one of those gadgets. 2 laptops are provided in the lounge area with printing services, and you can print as much as you want! Is that great or what?

Hotel staff was extremely friendly, polite and knowledgeable. Taxis from the hotel to the airport is 40euros. You can request for a Mercedes if you've got really huge luggage like ours. I know it's cheaper by metro but we travelled to the hotel from the airport by metro and almost got pickpocketed. Didn't have anything in our pockets but it was the getting surrounded by 7-8 men on the metro that was the scary part so keep your eyes peeled guys.

We got upgraded to a jacuzzi room but there were limitations to the usage. Jacuzzi was only available from 10am-2pm and 5pm-10pm. These were really inconvenient timings. I mean, it's a holiday afterall. People are entitled to come back at 12am and still be able to enjoy a relaxing hydro-massage in the jacuzzi. Glad we didn't have to pay for it since ours was a free upgrade, else I'd be real pissed.

As it is, you wouldn't want to go back to the hotel too late if you're the kind who uses the metro. Saying that the hotel is in a shady location is a compliment. In actual fact, the location is scary. When you get off at Victoria station, you go up the escalator and well, good luck facing the whole lot of people (mostly men) sitting/milling around on the huge square. I noticed that most people choose to walk right into the square, straight into the crowd of men to get to the other side. Call us paranoid people but my partner and I chose to play safe and walked on the side where the restaurants were so as not to draw any attention to ourselves. From there, just do a quick brisk walk all the way straight down about 2 streets and you'll see Centrotel on your left.

If you can get over the shady part, the hotel is really perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaslim13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This is a great hotel. I didn't time it, but its about a 5 minute downhill walk from Victoria station and another 5 minute walk (downhill) to Larissa Terminal. The area appears to be an immigrant neighborhood. My family and I received nothing but smiles from people we encountered. The hotel is fantastic! Nice firm beds, great bathrooms, good tv channel selection, and the staff is first rate. I've stayed here before and I've always been welcomed by the same quality service and hospitality. Free wifi in the room, too! Breakfast was 10 euros/person. They serve hot drinks like coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, together with juice and an assortment of fresh bakery items including croissants, cake, and bread. Yogurt was included by was store bought (oh how I miss the real greek yogurt (sakoulis)). Also included was cheese and ham, and a hard-boiled egg. It was perfect for us to get our day going. I didn't look for any restaurants or breakfast places, but I bet they are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#33 of 326 in Athens
292 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marble House
#21 of 326 in Athens
674 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,308 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing