We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Hotel Cosmopolit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Cosmopolit
Ranked #166 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This Hotel is one of the Best in Athens, with excellent service, very nice and helpful staff. I stayed there for a couple of nights because i liked it very much. The area is quite and very friendly and definitely i ll return there when i ll be back in Athens!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demetries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    64
    49
    14
    24
See reviews for
26
54
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was really surprised when I arrived in this hostel. Very nice service, good location (10 mins walk from Syntagma sq and Monastiraki sq, 1 min from metro station).
Rooms are very nice and new, wi fi was great, cleanliness is their biggest plus.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
I stayed in this ho(s)tel 3 nights (in 4 bad mixed room) and I would stay again.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomoVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

As the title already says - we were really surprised by arriving in that ho(s)tel. On the ferry I was very nervous and scared about arriving here and expect bad things.
But everything is absolutely ok for 50€/room ( that's what we paid mid-august ) - the rooms are clean, not super new but still ok, the breakfast is also good for a 1star hotel.
It's bit difficult to find it in that small street behind the omonia square but it's not dangerous around the hotel .
The omonia square is a good place to start your trip trough Athens - it is connected by two metro lines!

We would def. fully recommend it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel is in short pedestrian street which is <1min walk from Omonia metro station - this is convinient since this part of Athens is considered unsafe. I did notice mostly men looking around in unpleasent way but nothing more...Still, because of that feeling I wouldn't choose this hotel again as solo traveler. Hotel is small, clean and truly basic, including very, very basic breakfast. If you need room in city center to have shower and sleep - this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Each day the staff puts out breakfast with hard boiled eggs, yogurt, several types of bread, greek salad, cereal, milk, coffee, apples...etc. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is within a mile of most of the major sights. The room is small, but updated and clean, for the price, it's a steal!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel Cosmopolite is highly recommended hotel for budget travellers for it is truly the best for value hotel.
The location of the Hotel is just perfect, located downhill the Omonia Square at the heart of Athens and very near the Metro, a Mall with nice roof top view restaurant, cafes and most of all it is only walking distance to major tourist spots of Athens. Don’t worry about the porno building on the side as other reviews said, it is really safe and quiet.
It is newly renovated so it gives the fresh glow and lively ambiance. The rooms are quiet small but well kept, clean and comfortable. It has basic furnishing and amenities. Ideal bathroom size but water can be over flowing for it is a bit higher than the room flooring ( no big deal). Breakfast is simple but enough to start the day. Wifi, functioning.
What I like in this Hotel is their 5 star service from the reception, to the cleaning staff, dining crew, each one gives you a homely feeling. For that it’s two thumbs up.
So, for wise travellers who are to explore Athens and wants a nice value for money hotel, then Hotel Cosmopolite is the best place to stay.
Thank you to Hotel Cosmopolite for the nice experience and warm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed her a few days in the beginning of July in a 6 bed dorm room. The hostel is really clean and nicely decorated, it even looks like it's like 3* hotel. The breakfast is very nice. Many people mentioned it's noisy around but I never heard any anoying noises at night. Wifi worked very well even though I was staying in the 4th floor. The hotel is located no more than 20 mins walking distance from most of tourist attractions.
Now about the drawbacks, there were a few of them. First of all the bathroom - it doesn't look which makes you feel less comfortable being in the shower amd other stuff. Plus, the lighting is extremely bad, in the whole bathroom with dar walls there was just one tiny light. The shower does not have doors so after you have a shower there is a giant puddle on the floor, we used to use the towels which are provided by the hostel to clean the floor. The beds are pretty wobbly but I gues most of bunk beds feel like that if you sleep on the top. Lastly, i was surprised when i saw people smoking inside the hostel!
All in all, I recommend this hostel. Although it has some drawbacks, it's still amazing value for the money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kristinap795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Chris Hotel
#7 of 10 in Kifisia
64 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#82 of 325 in Athens
584 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#135 of 325 in Athens
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pergamos
#169 of 325 in Athens
300 reviews
Hotel Moka
#148 of 325 in Athens
163 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#72 of 325 in Athens
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmopolit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmopolit

Property: Hotel Cosmopolit
Address: 7 Kotopouli Marikas, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cosmopolit 1*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cosmopolit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing