We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a Gem.”
Review of Hotel Dryades

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Athens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dryades
Ranked #112 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I've just returned after spending 3 nights on a room only basis with my daughter at Dyades. I booked online. We arrived around 10pm. The man at reception was very kind and helpful and made an effort to speak English to us, he must have noticed how bad my Greek was! He didn't have our booking but dealt with the situation in an impressively calm and professional way. We had booked the budget room with no balcony. We were given a delightful room with 2 balconies and a wonderful view of the Acropolis at no extra cost. He also called the room to check that our heating was working, not that we needed it, but nice to know that it is of concern.I'd read that there was a communal kitchen so wasn't expecting much in the way of facilities in the room, so again was happy to find a fridge and kettle and all the necessities for making a hot drink. Small things make a difference like the cups and saucers were very pretty and slightly unusual. The general decor was quaint and attractive and the plasma TV was great too! We couldn't have been more comfortable. For a 2 star hotel and at such a reasonable rate I would thoroughly recommend it. Policy must have changed since the previous reviews because we were given a password for free wifi.
All the staff we had contact with were charming and helpful. When we asked for taxis to be ordered they also informed us that there were buses we could take. We felt very well looked after and secure which is important for us as we are not familiar with Athens.
The day we left we were able to store our cases after checking out and we were given a courtesy room to change in before finally setting off...another unexpected touch. I felt the hoteliers could not have been more helpful.
The area is amazing! Saturday morning there was a colourful lively fresh produce market on the street below the hotel. We easily found good places to eat within walking distance. It's a great base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent 2 nights in September 2012 in Hotel Dryades. We've booked the cheapest double-room, without view, we did not expect much. To our surprise, it was very good. The hotel is on a dead-end street, so there is no traffic, it is very quiet. The room is clean, spatious, we had a fridge, a water cooker, a third bed. The furniture is good, the ceiling is wooden, it makes a very good impression. The manager is solicitous and service-oriented.

Omonia metro station is at ~10 minutes on foot and the Archeological Museum even closer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were a group of 20 people and had booked the hotel with the help of some Greek friends, who also discussed a special discount price. The place is clean and located close to a University campus. The park next to it, is used by Greeks as a place to party at the weekend. So this is not a place if you want to have a quiet stay in Athens, though it was still possible to sleep. If you are the walking kind of tourist, it is possible to explore the city from the spot. We walked to and from the Akropolis. There are also nice restaurants and bars here. The roof top gives an amazing view, but unfortunately closes already around 11.30 pm. Internet is not free in this place, this was a downturn for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Not much to expect from this cheap hotel. Just good enough for the location. Others so so.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChunYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I booked this off my phone as soon as landing so I could get the lower non-refundable price of just 40 Euro. When we got there, they had not received the booking, and it didn't seem to go through, but they treated us right and gave it to us at the same price and even threw in an upgrade since the cheapest room that I thought I had booked was not available. We travel light, so we took the metro to Omonia Sq. , turned on Stadiou St., Left on Benaki for several blocks and when you come to Kallidromiou St., you will see some wide and high steps to the Orion Hotel, slight left. You can go on the street if it is easier with your roller board. It is next to Strefi Park, if you want to map it.

When we got to our room, we discovered that one of our bags had been stolen on the metro. If you can't keep your hand on every bag, consider taking a cab, it's a lot cheaper than losing a lot of valuables. Rozalia works the desk and was very accomodating and helpful. Her actions made of the pain of losing a bag a little more bearable.

We did do breakfast on their roof top eatery because it was Sunday morning a lot of people seem to enjoy the view of the Acropolis from there. It was mostly a lot of so-so bread and one hard boiled egg, coffee and orange juice for 6 Euro. They also have a very nice kitchen for your use and a fridge.

It isn't as convenient as staying on the Plaka, but it was completely silent and a good nights rest. We even had a good size balcony with a garden view and a view of the Acropolis. It's probably around a half hour walk to the Plaka, or you can take the bus/metro.

Lastly, the Hotel "Orion and Dryades" are one business. You can walk along the road and avoid all the steps up to it. We walked to it from the metro since we couldn't find the bus and no one could help us. It was around 6-8 blocks from the metro going up a hill on the end. It is situated on a quiet hill top park, with no through streets around it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleUnion_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pesso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Réserver la chambre avec vue sur l'Acropole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Dryades Hotel
Dryades Hotel
#92 of 284 in Athens
169 reviews
Syntagma
Lozenge Hotel
Lozenge Hotel
#25 of 284 in Athens
79 reviews
Athinais Hotel
#57 of 284 in Athens
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athenaeum Grand Hotel
#87 of 284 in Athens
89 reviews
Exarchia
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#107 of 284 in Athens
75 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#7 of 284 in Athens
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dryades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dryades

Address: 4 Driadon | Exarchia, Athens 114 73, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Strefi Hill in the center of Athens, this particular location offers a tranquil and verdant setting that boasts natural light and endless views of the city. All this in an authentic Athenian neighborhood that is very convenient since it is close to public transport, historical monuments, shopping and entertainment hubs.With a 24 hour reception and WiFi Internet available in all areas, breakfast room with amazing view and fully-equipped shared kitchens.The ideal choice for all those in search of a familial atmosphere, cleanliness and quality at exceptionally low prices.There are several choices of rooms to fit all requirements, so all you have to do is select the one for you! Enjoy your stay… ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing