We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent hotel, not sure 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novus City Hotel
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“decent hotel, not sure 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

we just stayed here and it was an ok stay honestly. not sure I would say a 4 star hotel, but barely if so.. the reviews had us expecting a lot more.
here is my honest review/comments

the good:
-nice view of acropolis
-very close to metro (red line which is best)
-hotel is the nicest thing in this area it appears
-staff was very nice and spoke English. no complaints with staff at all.
-wifi worked decent in room
-room had a safe and a small fridge
-ac worked well
-for Europe, the room was a vey good size.
-good water pressure in shower
-everything was clean. lobby, rooms bar. hallways only thing a little rough in spots

The not so good:
-one slow elevator
-small bathroom, shower splashed/soaks half the bathroom and counter
-rooftop pool closes sometimes at 6, sometimes at 8. no nightime swim despite the wonderful promo pics at night. also just changed water, so it was ICE cold when we were here. not heated.
-no spa, no hot tub
-2 twin beds pushed together (common in Europe it seems) with only 2 pillows total, 1 per person. one sheet and one paper thin blanket
-1 20" or so TV on a patched/repaired wall that needed painted
-towels were coarse and thin, very cheap
-no nice restaurants or good shopping in the area. area nearby wasn't great. dirty
-with bathroom door open, little room to walk by, so enjoy stepping on the closet door rail on the floor a few times. a day. lol

They could improve this place if they wanted. a few little things would go a long way (towels/sheets/pillows/TV's/paint...). we will stay near Plaka next time. better shopping and food choices, cleaner area etc..

Still had a great trip, hotel served its purpose, but was expecting more based on the reviews/ratings. My honest feedback above. I call it average.

also worth noting, our flight to santorini was at 6am, so we had to take a cab to airport over metro. the flat rate is 35 euro in day and 50 at night. this was confirmed by the hotel. the cab driver went in, gave the desk guy some cash, then overcharged us 5 euro at the airport. sure it is 5 euro, but the principal... nobody likes being scammed. said it was a called service which is more. [--]/scam and the hotel chose to use this cabby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 216EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    292
    85
    19
    9
See reviews for
103
268
71
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Novus City Hotel is modern, bright, clean, comfortable and friendly. Rooms are fairly spacious and attractive, with in our case, a good sized WC with walk-in (semi) power shower. Air-con worked but was a bit slow in getting the room temperature down to something reasonably comfortable. We were at the back on the 5th floor and had a wee bit of a view but also a wee bit of traffic noise from the corner of the square and street across the parking/garage area. Breakfasts are excellent both in terms of quality and range with only the synthetic fruit juice letting things down. The roof top pool and sunbathing area is lovely but small. The cafe-bar terrace has fantastic views of the Acropolis and other Athens landmarks. A bit pricey but I suppose you are paying for the setting and views.

The hotel is situated in a bit of a scruffy run-down area but we found some of the local bars and cafes with their varying Balkan nationality identities very friendly, interesting and atmospheric. Maybe best to steer clear of the Omonia Square area at night though. In any case the hotel is only 2 minutes walk away from Metaxourghio Metro station, so the delights of more central Athens are only 2 or 3 stops away.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are probably a bit quieter than those at the front and the higher up ones may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great little hotel, very accomidating. Location not too far from Old Town to walk. Pool and roof deck are beautiful but watch out for the prices, they are outrageous! The Staff are wonderful and will go above and beyond typical customer service standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acruzicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have now had the opportunity to stay at the Novus City Hotel in Athens twice. It is my new favorite hotel in Athens.

The hotel is located just a five minute walk from the nearest metro station (Metaxourghio on line 2--the red line). From there, one can easily travel anywhere in Athens. It is just two stops from Syntagma Square where one can take the X95 express bus to and from the airport.

The hotel itself has been renovated and modernized. It has a very hip, upscale feel to it right down to the music in the lift. The rooms are very clean, modern, and generously sized, especially by European standards.

When I stayed there for the second time in September, the manager at the front desk actually recognized me from my first stay in May. I had such a good experience on that trip that I didn't need to consider other hotels when planning my repeat visit.

I have never had time to try the breakfast, since I am always just passing through Athens on my way back to the US. I always seem to be rushing to get packed and get myself to the airport.

The rooftop pool and deck have an amazing view of Athens. I only wish the pool were open late at night.

I can recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyguyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I travel often to Athens (just about once a month for 7-10 days), ever since I stayed at this hotel a year ago, I refuse to stay anywhere else in Athens. The service is really awesome, the hotel is spotless, the breakfast is unbelievable, the fresh fruit in the morning and homemade sweets are really good!!!! The location is excellent, walking distance to the metro, easy access to the national highway, walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, (I highly recommend the roof garden restaurant, it has excellent food, the chicken kabob or the grilled vegetable dish is out of this world!!!). Can't say enough about this beautiful and clean boutique hotel.........

Room Tip: Any room is good at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel was a lovely choice. Bright and colourful with a clean room.
Pool area upstairs had a fab view of the Acropolis.

Hotel is in walking distance of the metro station and for the hop-on hop-off bus stops.
Cab is about 3-5 euros to Monastiraki where there is bars, restaurants, shops & the flea market.

I have given 4 stars rather than 5 as I feel that during the day there wasn't a great service up at the pool. One of the receptionist said we could get towels up there, but we never got one and hardly anyone about to ask.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our trip camping/hotelling through the Balkans. The view at night of the Acropolis is incredible! We went to Poros for 4 days after staying here and they let us store our tent & electrics here free of charge, for us to pick up before we travel to the Airport home. Very worthy of its good reviews. #2backpackingbrits

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#60 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#42 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Property: Novus City Hotel
Address: 23 Karolou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing