We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Hotel”
Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novus City Hotel
Ranked #34 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had chosen this hotel for my stay in Athens after some reviews on tripadvisor and I was very happy with the stay. It offers a great value for money. I stayed in an Executive Room which was very spacious, with a big bathroom with bathtub. The superior rooms are smaller but still very nice decorated. The hotel is renovated less than 3 years ago and offers free parking (a great advantage for the ones that are coming with the car) and free WiFi. The breakfast was very good and the service in the hotel was excelent. They offer all you can need from a city hotel. They have even a small swimming pool on the terrace from where you can have great views to Acropolis.
Is 10 minutes walking from Omonia Square and 3 minutes from a metro station.

Room Tip: If you need extra space or if you are with the kids, book an executive room because is much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragos_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel was nice and renovated recently. The rooms were small, i didnt like that the WC doors are glass and no seperation (even curtains) between shower and WC. We were 3, and the room was small. Service were good and the breakfast was average, but nothing special!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BishoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Returning to Athens after 25 years was an absolute delight. finding so much new and so many memories.
A big part of the great experience is due to the fab hotel we've stayed at. Novus is located perfectly for tourists, with a subway station and even a "hop-on-hop-off" sight seeing bus stop right around the corner. Omonia Square with its lively restaurants is in walking distance.

Welcome and check-in was friendly and efficient, the receptionist spoke very good English (as actually all the staff, including the bell boy, a pleasant surprise!).
The rooms are spacious, funished in a modern style with vibrant colours - some refreshing difference to the usual stuffiness of 4-star hotels. Squeeky clean bathroom, comfy bed (an additional blanket was supplied within minutes when I asked for it), a fridge big enough for my own beverages, safe box, TV with several international channels.
Breakfast is served in a cosy lounge area, the buffet is well stocked with pastries, some warm dishes (I particularly liked the omelette style egg dish) cold cuts, jams, musli, joghurt etc. The coffee was not to my liking, so I usually settled for tea or juice and had a proper Greek coffee or Frappee later during our city tours.
The hotel has a little pool on the roof top, which we didn't use. But we enjoyed the adjacent roof top bar/restaurant, which has a spectacular view: sunset in one direction and the illuminated Akropolis in the other direction - we felt like having booked VIP seats. The selection of food and beverages is nothing extraordinary, but it is fresh and tasty. Some Greek meze or burgers, wine, fresh juices etc. Service could do with a little more efficiency, but was always very friendly.

Novus is a great hotel for a city trip, I would book it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saluki_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I advise all who intend to plan a trip to athens to book this hotel. We stayed here 6 nights. If you come with your car, this is what you are looking for. Hotel is clean, breackfast is excellent, parking is free, wi-fi is free, metro station is 5 ' walk. After a day full of walking, you can enjoy roof bar with view to acropolis. Staff is very helpfull and polite. It's true there isn't a fine neighbourhood, but we never had any problems with that. So go for it, price is also very good. I must say I cancelled a previous novotel reservation and I was very happy I did it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a great value hotel in a convenient location for the metro - red line. Rooms are better than I expected for the price(Around 60 euro) with a modern style and loads of drawer space and large comfy bed. Breakfast was good - American buffet style and had loads of choice.Spent 5 nights there and would absolutely consider going back. Loved the roof terrace - view of Acropolis was to die for and reasonable for house wine and cocktails for a city hotel. We went there every night to start our evening.Sunbeds were limited in number is the only con for me. No restaurants I would recommend in the area but we walked to Exharia at night where there are loads of restaurants and bars and not touristy so good prices and quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenlovestravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel looks new, the rooms are big, the view from the top in the night is nice, during summer, the top of the breakfast room, opens, the natural light gives you a feeling of space. They should improve their breakfast with better quality food. One minus is the fact that during night the light from the lounge was coming in the room because the doors were not good isolated. First we spend 4 night in the hotel, we left for a couple of days for an island and when we returned on our fifth night in the hotel, we received a smoking room. The smell was so bad, that we had trouble sleeping, for us it was to late to change the room but for you it won't.
It's a 7min walk to the historic center, but i advise you to use the main streets, late at night the area seems a bit scary and dirty. After a couple of days in the city you'll understand it only appears like this due to the graffiti and the many foreign citizens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrascu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we just stayed here and it was an ok stay honestly. not sure I would say a 4 star hotel, but barely if so.. the reviews had us expecting a lot more.
here is my honest review/comments

the good:
-nice view of acropolis
-very close to metro (red line which is best)
-hotel is the nicest thing in this area it appears
-staff was very nice and spoke English. no complaints with staff at all.
-wifi worked decent in room
-room had a safe and a small fridge
-ac worked well
-for Europe, the room was a vey good size.
-good water pressure in shower
-everything was clean. lobby, rooms bar. hallways only thing a little rough in spots

The not so good:
-one slow elevator
-small bathroom, shower splashed/soaks half the bathroom and counter
-rooftop pool closes sometimes at 6, sometimes at 8. no nightime swim despite the wonderful promo pics at night. also just changed water, so it was ICE cold when we were here. not heated.
-no spa, no hot tub
-2 twin beds pushed together (common in Europe it seems) with only 2 pillows total, 1 per person. one sheet and one paper thin blanket
-1 20" or so TV on a patched/repaired wall that needed painted
-towels were coarse and thin, very cheap
-no nice restaurants or good shopping in the area. area nearby wasn't great. dirty
-with bathroom door open, little room to walk by, so enjoy stepping on the closet door rail on the floor a few times. a day. lol

They could improve this place if they wanted. a few little things would go a long way (towels/sheets/pillows/TV's/paint...). we will stay near Plaka next time. better shopping and food choices, cleaner area etc..

Still had a great trip, hotel served its purpose, but was expecting more based on the reviews/ratings. My honest feedback above. I call it average.

also worth noting, our flight to santorini was at 6am, so we had to take a cab to airport over metro. the flat rate is 35 euro in day and 50 at night. this was confirmed by the hotel. the cab driver went in, gave the desk guy some cash, then overcharged us 5 euro at the airport. sure it is 5 euro, but the principal... nobody likes being scammed. said it was a called service which is more. [--]/scam and the hotel chose to use this cabby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 216EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#27 of 281 in Athens
2,112 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 281 in Athens
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Athenes
#56 of 281 in Athens
2,311 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Address: 23 Karolou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £76 - £681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing