We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Lively, Well Run - neighborhood a bit gloomy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novus City Hotel
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, Lively, Well Run - neighborhood a bit gloomy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My stay was only one night, but I'm returning in a couple of week for a longer visit. Expecting to stay across the street at the Katrina and finding my reservation '"cancelled," for a mysterious reason, I headed to Novus. The room was clean and quiet, and the breakfast of the highest quality. And the value for the price was great!

Room Tip: no recommendations I know nothing about fitness center or spa, but Trip Advisor will not accept t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadOrderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    292
    85
    19
    9
See reviews for
103
268
71
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The first thing that strikes you as you near the Novus City Hotel in Athens is the fact that it is centrally located with a sightseeing stop on the bus route and the subway station just round the corner. Add to this the innumerable eateries in the nearby Omonia Square and you realize why this hotel is thronged by tourists. The accommodation is spacious and full of modern amenities and the bathrooms are functionally superb. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and pool on the roof top allowing guests to have a grand view of the Acropolis and sunset. Hot and cold breakfast is served in a lounge area. The hotel offers free parking as well as free high speed Internet access. The staff is well trained and serves you professionally and the best part is that most of them speak English.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Reasonably priced, offering good services, very good standards of comfort and sleep quality.
Really nice minimal design and decoration.
Professionalism and very friendly staff.
Excellent breakfast... one of the best continental breakfasts I've tried... Great variety, good quality and good taste!

Very satisfied!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iknowgoodfood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is very near the Omania Square and it is almost walkable. The hotel has a 24/7 receptionist available to cater to all needs of guests staying in the hotel. The concierge services were also equally good. I enjoyed the roof top bar and pool which was quite scintillating. There was also a complimentary wifi internet connection to enable guests to browse through. I saw a couple enquiring for a babysitting service and the hotel was having that unique service which I never expected them to have. They also offered adventurous trip service and I used it. The car parking had three levels with 60 slots, which is more than enough. Could not write enough to describe my fantastic experience in this hotel during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMollit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had chosen this hotel for my stay in Athens after some reviews on tripadvisor and I was very happy with the stay. It offers a great value for money. I stayed in an Executive Room which was very spacious, with a big bathroom with bathtub. The superior rooms are smaller but still very nice decorated. The hotel is renovated less than 3 years ago and offers free parking (a great advantage for the ones that are coming with the car) and free WiFi. The breakfast was very good and the service in the hotel was excelent. They offer all you can need from a city hotel. They have even a small swimming pool on the terrace from where you can have great views to Acropolis.
Is 10 minutes walking from Omonia Square and 3 minutes from a metro station.

Room Tip: If you need extra space or if you are with the kids, book an executive room because is much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragos_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel was nice and renovated recently. The rooms were small, i didnt like that the WC doors are glass and no seperation (even curtains) between shower and WC. We were 3, and the room was small. Service were good and the breakfast was average, but nothing special!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Returning to Athens after 25 years was an absolute delight. finding so much new and so many memories.
A big part of the great experience is due to the fab hotel we've stayed at. Novus is located perfectly for tourists, with a subway station and even a "hop-on-hop-off" sight seeing bus stop right around the corner. Omonia Square with its lively restaurants is in walking distance.

Welcome and check-in was friendly and efficient, the receptionist spoke very good English (as actually all the staff, including the bell boy, a pleasant surprise!).
The rooms are spacious, funished in a modern style with vibrant colours - some refreshing difference to the usual stuffiness of 4-star hotels. Squeeky clean bathroom, comfy bed (an additional blanket was supplied within minutes when I asked for it), a fridge big enough for my own beverages, safe box, TV with several international channels.
Breakfast is served in a cosy lounge area, the buffet is well stocked with pastries, some warm dishes (I particularly liked the omelette style egg dish) cold cuts, jams, musli, joghurt etc. The coffee was not to my liking, so I usually settled for tea or juice and had a proper Greek coffee or Frappee later during our city tours.
The hotel has a little pool on the roof top, which we didn't use. But we enjoyed the adjacent roof top bar/restaurant, which has a spectacular view: sunset in one direction and the illuminated Akropolis in the other direction - we felt like having booked VIP seats. The selection of food and beverages is nothing extraordinary, but it is fresh and tasty. Some Greek meze or burgers, wine, fresh juices etc. Service could do with a little more efficiency, but was always very friendly.

Novus is a great hotel for a city trip, I would book it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saluki_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#42 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Property: Novus City Hotel
Address: 23 Karolou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing