We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with beautiful rooftop bar and pool overlooking the Acropolis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novus City Hotel
Ranked #40 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
362 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great hotel with beautiful rooftop bar and pool overlooking the Acropolis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I loved this hotel and especially loved the hip and gorgeous rooftop deck. A great place for a swim and some cocktails. My friends and I had an excellent meal up here as well. Rooms were very nice, the hotel has a modern sort of design. The location is excellent for being downtown and away from the tourist frenzy of Plaka.

Room Tip: They all seemed to be pretty good. Maybe lower to the ground floor to avoid elevator waiting times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    291
    82
    19
    9
See reviews for
101
268
69
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in Athens for a 4 night break as a friend was getting married. We opted for The Novus City Hotel as it was close to the other Hotel 'The President'(where other wedding guests were staying but nearer the main sites of Ancient Athens. The surrounding area did not have much to offer in terms of tourist attractions or shops but the underground stop ST.METAXOURGEIOU was across the roundabout offering cheap, clean travel throughout Athens.
We were pleased with our choice as the hotel was fresh, the staff friendly, free wifi and the buffet breakfast was vast and tasty.
The pool area with bar was a major bonus with a fine view of the Acropolis as well as the rest of the city.
Room was spacious with a walk in shower (no bath in our room, not that we use one).
The Décor was contemporary and modern giving the hotel a clean sharp look.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

May/2014. I enjoyed my stay Novus City Hotel in Athens, very much. Although not located in the most prestigious area of Athens, it was safe, had plenty of nice places to eat and travel agencies close by. The staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful. The room was clean. large enough and very nice. The view of the acropolis from the roof top bar and pool was fantastic! The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also very, very nice.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 207YHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located within walking distance to many sights. The staff was great and really tried to accommodate us as we had odd times for arrival and departure from the hotel. The pool bar area has great views of the city, though the food/drinks were not impressive. The rooms as basic (as in most European hotels) but were very clean which was most important to me. I'd recommend this place for an Athens stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adela05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The man at checkin was polite and efficient. Provided maps, directions and answered a few questions.

Room 410 is basic, similar to an ibis hotel, but with a few additional items, such as a safe, fridge and soaps.
The firm uncomfortable beds are very low to the ground.
The bedding consisted of one very thin blanket, a cotton sheet and one pillow pet person, no spare additional pillows or blankets are provided in the room.

The hotel's single guest lift / elevator can be slow at arriving to your floor.

Hotel has a number of restaurants nearby, within a five minute walk, laundromat, large and small super market, Metaxourghio metro station (linking to the airport, with 1 train change required) and a 5 minute train ride away from the Historical parts of Greece and Syntagma metro station (blue line and airport connection) and city centre.

Wifi is complementary and there is no password required to access it.
Problem being, this open system enables anyone nearby to access the Wifi. This makes it painfully slow, to the point it often takes over 3 minutes for the Google home page to open.

Breakfast selection is very good American Buffet, with a splash of Greek food. Breakfast starts at 7.00am, this is considered late when compared to other hotels. The food refill is a little slow.

If arriving from Athens International Airport (ATH), catch the Metro train. tickets are €8 each. Be sure to validate your ticket as you pass the Validations machine before you descend to the train platforms.
The travel time is approx 45 minutes, and as the train gets closer to the city, it does tend to fill up.
Change trains at SYNTAGMA station, to the red line (follow the signs on the platforms to the red line). As you exit the train, the escalators near the middle of the train can take you directly up to the platform for the correct train and red line. (Always check your on the correct train first).
Travel 3 stops and exit at the third stop called METAXOURGHIO station. Come up the escalators to the main ticket area. Turn to your left (exit name is Diligianni) and exit to the surface. The hotel is a short 3 minute walk away on your left.

All metro stations are very very clean, however there are no toilets. Train announcements are in Greek and English with all stations having lifts, escalators and stairs for easy access with luggage.

You can purchase a 3 day pass for €20 allowing a return airport travel (for travel within that 3 days) and unlimited travel on buses, trams or metro.
Another option if staying longer in Athens, is to purchase your one way airport ticket prior to travel (as a return trip must be used within 48 hours of purchase) and the purchase an unlimited day travel ticket on bus, tram and metro for €4 per person. This unlimited ticket expires for 48 hours after validation and are available at any metro station ticket machine.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the car park or rear of the property is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Athens in the summer is too hot, too noisy, too much. You will need a hotel with a view to try and understand this crazy city and, if possible, a swimming pool. Novus has both but that is pretty much it. The rooms have very tiny TV and are not very cosy. Mine was terribly noisy, but I believe it is hard to find quiet ones in Athens. This hotel is not particularly well located but right next to a subway station. I have to mention 2 major assets of Novus: the staff, always extremely friendly and useful, and the breakfast, which, for me, was perfect, offering a great combination of American style and Greek traditional products. All in all, given the reasonable price and the excellent service, I give 4 stars but 3,5 would be more adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Checked in at 1am - tired and jet lagged. The staff were pleasant enough. Nothing special, but certainly not rude. I would rate this hotel a 3 1/2 star, not the 4* it is. Definitely better then a lot of 3* hotels but not up to scratch with many 4* hotels.
Nothing to criticise really. The room was nice - clean, large enough with a big bathroom. The breakfast was fine. No frills, but pleasant enough & certainly more then acceptable. I've had a lot worse. I didn't like the location but I think that might just be how Athens! Stray off the main street the hotel is on and it feels a little scary. If I ever returned to Athens (which I hope I won't!) I would happily stay here again.
The rooftop pool and lounging area were a big bonus - decent food & a comfortable environment to sit & relax for the afternoon if you done with the sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoobyBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#42 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Property: Novus City Hotel
Address: 23 Karolou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing