We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nefeli
Ranked #109 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent one night in the Hotel Nefeli in Sept 2013. This is a travelers hotel, its plain and simple but is very reasonably priced and is located in the heart of the Plaka. The hotel is on a side street, so its fairly quiet, and clean with everything you need including breakfast. We caught a late flight out of Athens and had to check out of our room, but the hotel happily watched our bags during the day so we could see the town without lugging them around. It was a short 4 block walk to the city subway out to the airport. This was good find at a great value.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nefeli is a small hotel, very good location close to the Acropolis and Plaka. Very friendly staff, 24 hours/day. Rooms are not big but more than sufficient; the place is quiet and, hot water all day. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapteinGoosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great budget hotel in Plaka, especially for backpackers. It's walking distance from the Metro, Syntagma Square, and Monastraki. Breakfast is included. I would definitely recommend it if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of all major attractions. The acropolis is at most a 10 minute walk. Plaka restaurants and shopping less than 5 minutes. Going into area it may seem a bit run down, but very safe area, even after dark. The hotel is small but makes up for it in great customer service. Breakfast is good and the coffee out of this world. Nice to have a cooler in lobby stocked with water, soda, and beer for a nominal price. Rooms are small but who is in room for more than sleeping anyway. Showers are pretty small also and as a larger guy a bit tight but doable. Maid service top notch. Only issue was with air conditioner, after about a hour of being on it starts to drip water into room and had to put towels down to mop floor. I'm sure staff would have taken care of it if we said anything but didn't. Would stay here and recommend for sure.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The only thing positive about this hotel is that it is centrally located in Plaka, near the rest of the tourist sites in Athens. From here you can walk to the main drag in Plaka, walk to the Acropolis Museum or towards Monastiraki.

I was recommended this hotel by a friend and although it has some old charm...it's old, grimy and could use a renovation. The rooms are tight, shower water trickled in our room and the bed sheets narrow.

The hotel rate includes a "breakfast" of boiled egg, stale rusks, processed cake and generic jams. What resembled orange juice was in fact made out of drink cyrstals. Coffee was warm (at best) and too strong.

The staff are helpful, courteous but they seem little burnt out by working in hotels. Although the rate for this hotel is attractive, you can find better hotels for the same/similar price in Athens,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

A few words of advice, though: Neither the windows nor walls are soundproof, if you're a light sleeper consider bringing some earplugs. This is not to say that the area is particularly noisy (considering it's in Plaka). Also, our mattress was a bit on the firm side (try to get a twin room, the separate beds seem softer sprung). The staff is for the most part really friendly and helpful, don't hesitate to approach them with any questions or concerns you might have. Breakfast is basic (bread, eggs, honey, jam, butter and spread cheese as well as tea or coffee and orange limonade) but alright. I can recommend this hotel for people travelling on a budget.

Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The area that the hotel is in is very nice. Plaka is nice, too. No worries. Good to be in the middle of Syntagma and Acropolis and Ermou. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are typical of that age of hotel.... basic decor, plumbing, etc.. Not fancy, and not run-down/broken, either. Let the desk know if you have a problem. Nice to have a cooler in the lobby with water and beer and juice, when you head out or are coming back in. We will stay here the next time we visit Athens/Greece.

Room Tip: I read a lot of complaints about the noise of the doors. I agree, but, I found out a way to avoid A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 418larryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
505 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#124 of 282 in Athens
228 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#98 of 282 in Athens
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
679 reviews
Syntagma
Achilleas Hotel
Achilleas Hotel
#104 of 282 in Athens
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nefeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nefeli

Address: Iperidou 16 | Agiou Hatzimichali 2, Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £37 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nefeli 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of beautiful Athens city (Greece), in the scenic area of Plaka, on the foothills of the magnificent monument of Acropolis, you can find the comfortable "Nefeli" Hotel. Established in 1976, this small (18 room in total) family run hotel, has managed to gain many loyal customers over the years, both from Greece and abroad.Also, Nefeli Hotel has recently been refurbished in the neoclassical style to fit in harmony with its' surroundings. Nefeli Hotel is situated only five minutes on foot from Athens' city center and yet in a very peaceful area. It is located between the Metro Stations of Syntagma and Acropolis, close to tram and central bus lines. Staying at Nefeli Hotel is very convenient, as you are able to reach the many sights of Athens very easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nefeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing