We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ideal Two-Star Hotel in the Plaka”
Review of Hotel Nefeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nefeli
Ranked #110 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have just returned from a most enjoyable week in Athens, where I stayed at the Nefeli Hotel. This was my 25th trip to this fascinating city and I have stayed at the Nefeli for well over one hundred nights in total over the past twenty years. I have always found the hotel to be completely clean and comfortable and the staff to be efficient and extremely helpful. The Nefeli represents exactly the amazing value-for-money that the best two-star hotels can provide. It is tucked away in the Plaka, a hundred yards from the nearest tourist-packed or traffic-filled main streets, but at the same time only five minutes walk from the airport bus stop at Syntagma Square. Again, five-minute walks in other directions will take you to most of the principal ancient sites and to civic amenities such as the restful National Garden or vibrant modern shopping streets. If you are inclined to place yourself in the evocative atmosphere of the Plaka, you will do yourself a favor by staying at the Nefeli!

Room Tip: This is a small hotel among minor streets. So all rooms tend to be equally desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Worst night ever! There were bed bugs in the bed. I slept for 2 hours and left. They didn´t do anything to make me feel better. My body is full of itchy bites. Besides were they very unflexible at reception. We planed to stay together (2 People), but I came on my own. They didn´t make any discount that I used just one bed. They still charged 74 € which is definitely way too much for a basic room, which smells old. I am very disappointed! And suffering from the bites!! Worst place I stayed in my hole life!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AMShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanouela K, E-sales manager at Hotel Nefeli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear AMShanti,

We appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay with us.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay.
Regarding your comments, please note that the reservation you have made on 03/05 was for 1 double room on non refundable basis. According to this policy, the hotel has the authorisation to charge your credit card with the total amount of the reservation, cause guests cannot amend or cancel their bookings. That was the reason why you did not get any discount.
In addition, please note that cleanliness is the hotel's top priority and all roomsare checked daily, in order to ensure that guestrooms are in good condition. However, your comment has been taken seriously into consideration and all necessary measures have been taken towards this end.
Hope we will have more opportunities to welcome you in the future and extend the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind Regards,

Emmanouela Kouka
E-sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Centrally located, very close to Acropolis and all major Ancient Athens sites. I chose this hotel because of the price and location based on the Acropolis location and then it appeared to be a great cross of very beautiful old streets and all the main tourist sites can be reached walking. Friendly staff, basic breakfast. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2014. Ideally located, and reasonably priced, staff were very friendly and room was cleaned daily. Although a small room, it was enough for our needs, however, the real disappointment was the bathroom - a shower curtain that didn't reach the tray, and the shower itself had the be held by hand - there was no hook on which to suspend it making showering very difficult.

It was also very noisy in the mornings from the street noise outside so take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel based on location and price and we were very happy with our choice. The area is fantastic, very close to the sites and both the Syntagma and monostiraki metros. The hotel room itself was small, with a tiny 1 person shower, but we are backpacking and not looking for frills. Breakfast was simple, boiled, egg, bun, toasts, cheese, honey, jam, bread coffee and juice made from crystals. The giant water bottles in terms lobby fridge are cheaper than anything we could find while out, but we drank tap water too bad seem fine. I would absolutely recommend this place to any budget traveller.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kla_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have a small apartment next to this hotel. It is located in a very safe and quiet part of Plaka, within easy walking distance to all sites. We use this hotel for overflow guests. It is a simple hotel - the beds are comfortable - the rooms and bath are clean. The owner/manager is helpful and takes pride in providing a clean, comfortable hotel at a good price.

I suggest selecting two single beds for a couple - you will end up with more sleeping space

Smoking is allowed in the lobby area - so if smoke bothers you - this may not be a good choice
Make sure to specify non-smoking room

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eur0peanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Quaint and quiet, safe in the Plaka, a Great location!--0.2 miles from Syntagma Square, 0.2 miles from the Acropolis walkway, 0.2 miles from the BEST cheese pies at Ariston Bakery, and a few miles from the National Museum. Everything within walking distance. Small, but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beamer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
505 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#125 of 282 in Athens
228 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#92 of 282 in Athens
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#120 of 282 in Athens
460 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nefeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nefeli

Address: Iperidou 16 | Agiou Hatzimichali 2, Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nefeli 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of beautiful Athens city (Greece), in the scenic area of Plaka, on the foothills of the magnificent monument of Acropolis, you can find the comfortable "Nefeli" Hotel. Established in 1976, this small (18 room in total) family run hotel, has managed to gain many loyal customers over the years, both from Greece and abroad.Also, Nefeli Hotel has recently been refurbished in the neoclassical style to fit in harmony with its' surroundings. Nefeli Hotel is situated only five minutes on foot from Athens' city center and yet in a very peaceful area. It is located between the Metro Stations of Syntagma and Acropolis, close to tram and central bus lines. Staying at Nefeli Hotel is very convenient, as you are able to reach the many sights of Athens very easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nefeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing