We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Friendly and Central - Free wifi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #137 of 325 Hotels in Athens
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and Central - Free wifi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

What it lacks in decor it makes up for in location (less than 5 minutes from the Metro), cleanliness and friendliness. The lobby is small but nice and the young man working the front desk is very friendly and helpful with map directions and recommendations. You also get free internet in the lobby/lounge area. The elevators are incredibly small though (even with a combined weight of just about 270 lbs, my fiance and I could barely fit in the elevator together). The rooms are a bit bare, but are very clean and the bed is pretty comfortable. What was a pleasant surprise was how great the A/C unit is in the room. It was almost TOO cold. There is some street noise, but a room in the back of the hotel is quieter. The hotel serves breakfast which may or may not be included in the price of the room (it was an extra 10 euros for us, if we had chosen to eat there). Overall, a pleasant experience and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_TWorldtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    41
    13
    3
See reviews for
11
76
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

The rooms are big and clean, well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The area might be a bit dodgy but you're still on the better side of Omonia Square. You can walk almost everywhere from here.
The only negative point has to be the showers : the whole bathroom will be flooded by the time you're finished.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elochness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Vienna hotel is great if you want a safe and clean budget hotel in the centre of Athens. The hotel staff were very friendly and showed us where all the interesting sites were on a map.

The area around the hotel is a bit dodgy at night. Lots of homeless people and men on their own hanging around. Fine during the day though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

I liked the Vienna for what it was. The location is prefect. Just down the street from Omonia Square (5 mins) in central Athens. The staff were great, we showed up last minute at 7 in the morning and they gave us a room for two nights. They also helped us with arranging a car to the airport when we left. The rooms are pretty simple, but large enough to be comfortable. The showers suck, one of those hand held Euro showers with no curtain, so water gets everywhere. All and all, for what you pay, it's a pretty good deal. We spent 60 Euro a night. It's cheap, clean and convenient.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Showers
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisTalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

We had tickets to the ballet and just wanted a budget family run 2 star hotel. Vienna hotel was not our first choice but we gave it a go, and we were quite impressed with the very good service we received. The room is as you would expect a 2 star hotel, clean, comfortable and secure. We asked for a room facing the back of the hotel to avoid any off street noise on Pireos street, and so it was quiet.
The location is very good too, only 2 minutes walk from Omonia metro, and 10 minutes walk to Plaka (beneath the Acropolis). We had no complaints about this hotel, and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — There were no safety boxes in the room.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hermione007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

Well, I agree it is not the Hilton, but I found the people at reception very kindly.
The room are large compared to the ones in other hotels of the zone (we stayed beforeward).
The relationship between price & quality is respectable!

  • Liked — recepion kindness
  • Disliked — bathroom is not so new!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luigi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2007

Yes I'm here after another Athens trip. We had been one night at the Vienna hotel and it was not good. The room size is more than enough but the room and bathroom comfort is not like that. Location is closer to the Omonia than to Monestraki. However the most hotels are max. 10 min. walking away from the city centeir, so location is not a problem. The hotel is very old building a located at the noisy street. The breakfast was average Athens two star breakfast and totaly junk. We pay 65 EUR / per night per room for double incl. breakfast. I don't recommend this hotel for a long period stays.

+ Staff was incredible sweet
+ Room space was big
- Building was too old
- Bathroom was like a public toilet
- Street was noisy

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank acik-pozisyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#70 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#118 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Dryades Hotel
Dryades Hotel
#84 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Hotel Moka
#144 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#165 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 20 Pireos St., Athens 104 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vienna 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing