We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only downside is no free wifi in rooms..”
Review of Crystal City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crystal City Hotel
Ranked #103 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Great terrace where you can see the acropolis. Excellent breakfast buffet. Strong wifi in the public areas. Ample rooms. The location is close to the main touristed sections of town and easily walkable. Plus it is on the bus route from the major Athens bus station.

To address some of the comments from other reviewers about the safety of the area.. We never felt unsafe, that said - Athens seems to be hurting quite a bit from the austerity. There is lots (I mean *lots*) of grafiti everywhere. Slightly less near the Acropolis-proximal hotels, but it is really hard to avoid. This gives an impression that one isn't in a good neighborhood that I'm not sure is fair to actual crime rates per se. We walked on our own at night and weren't over nervous at all.

Getting to the airport: Also, it is very easy to catch a cab to the airport from the street, I believe there is an upcharge if you have the hotel do this on your behalf.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

The place where the hotel is located is not nice at all, taxi drivers waited for us to get in the hotel at night cause they said it was dangerous.
Rooms are nasty, our room smelled really bad because of the bathroom and the dirty carpet. Inside the bathroom there were ants!
Breakfast was ok.
Next time I'm defenitely staying at Plaka or Syntagma Square!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vejota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Has the price of a cheap hostel and the confort of a hotel, the service is great the included breakfast its really good and the food in the comon areas is cheap and good, the personal its really nice and helpful. Its really near to the center and the metro station is really close, the tours leave from the same street. My experience was great the only thing is that the wifi doesnt work in the hight levels so u have to used in the comon areas that its a lilttle anoying for a internet adicted like me but its not so bad after you know it.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank Laura Lunita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a neat and tidy hotel, with good staff. It has a great location, close to the metro and the intercity train stop. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very good value for money. Close to metro station which is very handy, nice looks, clean and room, nice rooftop and helpful staff, well at least one of them.
Bad thing is that Internet only works at the reception.
Also at check in, there was a young men working at the reception that was trying his best to accommodate us in an early check in, then a lady came and was rude to us and to her colleague and gave us different information an made us wait an extra hour, I know they were doing us a favor let us in the room earlier but there was no need for her bad attitude.
The rooftop bar has no menu and the lady barely speaks English to give you the options available , so we decided not to eat there and just get some drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karinems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is located near the Metro station and in the city area, close to the main road. It's about 20 minutes away from Port. On the rooftop there is a restaurant that you can see the Acropolis from distant.

What is very outstanding about this hotel despite the air condition in the room wasn't functioning well, is the service of staffs. Both morning and night staff, they are very very professional, attentive and service beyond the expectation. I had to leave the hotel at 6, the reception suggested me to have a breakfast box after check out, he will let morning shift know to prepare nice breakfast box for me. When I said thank you very much, the young man said "Your welcome, it's not a big thing in a polite manner". I was feeling a big impression about this hotel is its reception staffs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the Crystal City Hotel in March for 3 nights and found it to be a very good 3 star hotel that was good value for money. We stayed on the 6th floor in room 605 which had a balcony with an excellent view of the Akropolis. The bedroom & en suite were clean and comfortable, there was a flat screen TV with some english speaking channels these were mainly american, but the BBC world news channel was available. The hotel staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. The hotel lobby has a bar and premier league football could be watched in it on the greek sports chanels. The breakfast was buffet and there was a large selection of continental, cereal, bacon, egg, tea, coffee etc... The breakfast we had was good and was ok for what we wanted. Wi-Fi is available at the hotel, it is free access in the hotel lobby, but if you want to access the internet in the rooms you have to buy a Wi-Fi access card which works in a similar way to a phone card, the cost was €20 for 500 minutes access which could be used over a 28 day period. The internet conection was very good.

The hotel is located very close to the metro station and is only a 5 minute metro ride to the centre of Athens, Akropolis, Plaka, etc.... which we found very convenient.

Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering stayin here, as you will get a good value for money clean and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: High floor with small balcony & Akropolis view - Room 605
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sambo_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Golden City Hotel
#194 of 282 in Athens
258 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 282 in Athens
1,633 reviews
Achillion Hotel
#108 of 282 in Athens
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#158 of 282 in Athens
137 reviews
Hotel Phidias
#130 of 282 in Athens
216 reviews
Hotel Minoa
#98 of 282 in Athens
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Hotel

Address: 4 Achilleos, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £39 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crystal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing