We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Crystal City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal City Hotel
Ranked #103 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Crystal City Hotel. It has perfect location just next to underground station, few minutes away from Sintagma Square. If you are lucky you will be able to see Acropolis from your room. The food is not bad. Hotel is clean and staff friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: room 606 has very nice view of Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

We came back from Cyclades and we stayed there two nights before flight back home. We came to the hotel at night, but there is a 24h reception. We got room as requested, on the top floor available. Room was enough size, bed was extremely comfy, bathroom was small but enough. Air con efficient, although it was rather noisy. Room was a little bit noisy, because its windows were facing the street, but this extremely comfy bed was compensating it. There was a nice view form the hotel room and even better form the rooftop bar.

It was very close to the subway station, so moving around the city was a piece of cake. As for surroundings – well, I saw some reviews referring to it as a ‘dodgy area’… Well, unfortunately every next time I come to Athens, it is not more and more not what I remember from my first couple visits. All Athens, except Plaka of course and Akroplis, is becoming “dodgy” unfortunately… You can see the effect of great economic problems, Omonia and Metaxourgiou is not an exception in this matter. We were coming back two the hotel twice at night, it was not the best experience ever, but we were not disturbed.

For us, it was a good budget choice for two nights in Athens, I could stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at crystal for five days, our agent has booked it from Lebanon. A very very welcoming staff and manager, the hotel is really clean rooms are neat and well kept. The crew responded to our concerns quickly and did their best to help us. The food is great and the breakfast is really generous. We were with students which means we did lots of noise but the only answer from the hotel was it is your house and you are welcomed. As for the area honestly we were told it is scary but we didn't face anything. The metro station is near the corner. For a welcoming, helpful and clean hotel I highly recommend crystal cause we really felt home. Thank you for all of the staff and for the manager Dina...Salute

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank Verena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for the Athens marathon and it was overall somewhere I would stay again. Our agent had booked us into candia which was overbooked so we were transferred to crystal. The chap on the day we arrived was fantastic, helpful - arranged breakfast for us at 4:45 on marathon morning. Unfortunately the staff who followed were terrible. Rude, lazy - seemed like an effort to be there. Great value - breakfast was very good and the bar and Resturant were cheap - dinner for Euro10. The bathroom was crazy - minute bath and you had to stand in it and hold the shower as there was no wall mounting for it. The plumbing was fault and our bathroom and room flooded when we emptied the bath. I thought the location was great too - really close to the metro

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Great terrace where you can see the acropolis. Excellent breakfast buffet. Strong wifi in the public areas. Ample rooms. The location is close to the main touristed sections of town and easily walkable. Plus it is on the bus route from the major Athens bus station.

To address some of the comments from other reviewers about the safety of the area.. We never felt unsafe, that said - Athens seems to be hurting quite a bit from the austerity. There is lots (I mean *lots*) of grafiti everywhere. Slightly less near the Acropolis-proximal hotels, but it is really hard to avoid. This gives an impression that one isn't in a good neighborhood that I'm not sure is fair to actual crime rates per se. We walked on our own at night and weren't over nervous at all.

Getting to the airport: Also, it is very easy to catch a cab to the airport from the street, I believe there is an upcharge if you have the hotel do this on your behalf.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

The place where the hotel is located is not nice at all, taxi drivers waited for us to get in the hotel at night cause they said it was dangerous.
Rooms are nasty, our room smelled really bad because of the bathroom and the dirty carpet. Inside the bathroom there were ants!
Breakfast was ok.
Next time I'm defenitely staying at Plaka or Syntagma Square!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vejota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Has the price of a cheap hostel and the confort of a hotel, the service is great the included breakfast its really good and the food in the comon areas is cheap and good, the personal its really nice and helpful. Its really near to the center and the metro station is really close, the tours leave from the same street. My experience was great the only thing is that the wifi doesnt work in the hight levels so u have to used in the comon areas that its a lilttle anoying for a internet adicted like me but its not so bad after you know it.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank Laura Lunita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden City Hotel
Golden City Hotel
#196 of 281 in Athens
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#106 of 281 in Athens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#133 of 281 in Athens
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#105 of 281 in Athens
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novus City Hotel
Novus City Hotel
#34 of 281 in Athens
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Hotel

Address: 4 Achilleos, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £39 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing