We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal City Hotel
Ranked #125 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Handy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

For a start, some of the reviews that suggest the area is dangerous are, in our opinion, incorrect. Yes, the area is a bit scruffy, but we never felt unsafe. Even late at night it seemed to be perfectly safe to walk around the area, as there is so much traffic passing by. We were never hassled by anyone and didn't see any type of crime or feel any threat of crime.

The hotel itself has a very nice reception area and bar. The dining room is nice and the breakfasts were of good quality with a reasonable amount of choice.

The bedrooms are a bit small and the decor is a bit out-dated. However, the rooms were clean and perfectly acceptable for a short stay. There are several useful features in the rooms such as a safe, a fridge, and air conditioning (all provided free). The flat screen TV had (surprisingly) quite a lot of English channel TV stations, which was also nice.

The bathrooms have a shower and a tiny bath. The bathrooms are very clean and have a hairdryer provided along with complimentary shampoos, soaps, etc. Unfortunately the bath is so small that unless you're a young child (or a midget), then having a bath is not an option!!!

The best thing about the hotel is its convenient location, which is literally only one minute's walk from the underground station. The station is only a few stops from the Acropolis and all the other main attractions. This makes the Crystal City hotel an extremely convenient place to stay if you want to get about quickly and easily on the excellent cheap underground system (which incidentally, is very safe, even at night).

We would definitely consider staying at the Crystal again for the convenient location, and would recommend it for anyone who wants a reasonably priced, basic standard hotel for a short stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for an Acropolis view room. We had one, but the view of the Acropolis isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeedsRonnieRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    104
    67
    17
    14
See reviews for
37
81
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here in November 2012. Originally we had booked a triple room for us (couple) and my partner's mother. On getting there we discovered that the triple was the smallest one I had seen in my life.

I complained to the reception that this was not what we were expecting from the photos they had posted, and she explained that they were almost fully booked so we had lucked out on the triple rooms. She did however get us an extra room at no charge.

The rooms (certainly on the 2nd floor) are not big - we peeked into other rooms whilst they were being cleaned). Some have miniscule bathtubs - I really mean tiny! Our free room had leaking issues with the bath, so that everytime we let the water out, the place flooded. We came to the conclusion that they probably knew there was a prroblem, but as it was the only room available, had figured we would put up wth it for 2 days.

There is good wifi in the reception and mezzaine restaurant. The breakfast was very nice and had a wide range of things to eat. There is a café in the lobby area, which was very nice too.

Best thing about the hotel: the staff - extremely helpful and friendly! Location is also good ( very near metaxourgio station) You can walk to Acropolis and market areas (15 mins).

Do not walk on roads coming off Ammonia Square after dark flashing mobiles, watches or bling. We got chased by shooting up druggies at one point, who circled us like sharks and had to dive into the nearest hotel to get away.

Be prepared for grime and bad pavements, and people trying to sell you things because they have 5 kids at home. Some are fine, and you can see they are genuine, one woman was so pushy and followed me around the market, and I was really annoyed.

Room Tip: small rooms on 2nd floor. Ask if you want a bath tub as not all rooms have one. Some bath tubs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank primocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Crystal City Hotel. It has perfect location just next to underground station, few minutes away from Sintagma Square. If you are lucky you will be able to see Acropolis from your room. The food is not bad. Hotel is clean and staff friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: room 606 has very nice view of Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We came back from Cyclades and we stayed there two nights before flight back home. We came to the hotel at night, but there is a 24h reception. We got room as requested, on the top floor available. Room was enough size, bed was extremely comfy, bathroom was small but enough. Air con efficient, although it was rather noisy. Room was a little bit noisy, because its windows were facing the street, but this extremely comfy bed was compensating it. There was a nice view form the hotel room and even better form the rooftop bar.

It was very close to the subway station, so moving around the city was a piece of cake. As for surroundings – well, I saw some reviews referring to it as a ‘dodgy area’… Well, unfortunately every next time I come to Athens, it is not more and more not what I remember from my first couple visits. All Athens, except Plaka of course and Akroplis, is becoming “dodgy” unfortunately… You can see the effect of great economic problems, Omonia and Metaxourgiou is not an exception in this matter. We were coming back two the hotel twice at night, it was not the best experience ever, but we were not disturbed.

For us, it was a good budget choice for two nights in Athens, I could stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at crystal for five days, our agent has booked it from Lebanon. A very very welcoming staff and manager, the hotel is really clean rooms are neat and well kept. The crew responded to our concerns quickly and did their best to help us. The food is great and the breakfast is really generous. We were with students which means we did lots of noise but the only answer from the hotel was it is your house and you are welcomed. As for the area honestly we were told it is scary but we didn't face anything. The metro station is near the corner. For a welcoming, helpful and clean hotel I highly recommend crystal cause we really felt home. Thank you for all of the staff and for the manager Dina...Salute

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Verena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the Athens marathon and it was overall somewhere I would stay again. Our agent had booked us into candia which was overbooked so we were transferred to crystal. The chap on the day we arrived was fantastic, helpful - arranged breakfast for us at 4:45 on marathon morning. Unfortunately the staff who followed were terrible. Rude, lazy - seemed like an effort to be there. Great value - breakfast was very good and the bar and Resturant were cheap - dinner for Euro10. The bathroom was crazy - minute bath and you had to stand in it and hold the shower as there was no wall mounting for it. The plumbing was fault and our bathroom and room flooded when we emptied the bath. I thought the location was great too - really close to the metro

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Great terrace where you can see the acropolis. Excellent breakfast buffet. Strong wifi in the public areas. Ample rooms. The location is close to the main touristed sections of town and easily walkable. Plus it is on the bus route from the major Athens bus station.

To address some of the comments from other reviewers about the safety of the area.. We never felt unsafe, that said - Athens seems to be hurting quite a bit from the austerity. There is lots (I mean *lots*) of grafiti everywhere. Slightly less near the Acropolis-proximal hotels, but it is really hard to avoid. This gives an impression that one isn't in a good neighborhood that I'm not sure is fair to actual crime rates per se. We walked on our own at night and weren't over nervous at all.

Getting to the airport: Also, it is very easy to catch a cab to the airport from the street, I believe there is an upcharge if you have the hotel do this on your behalf.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#37 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#144 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#103 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delphi Art Hotel
Delphi Art Hotel
#83 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Hotel

Property: Crystal City Hotel
Address: 4 Achilleos, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing