We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second time staying at the Ariston and we were not disappointed!”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #10 of 72 Athens B&B and Inns
Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our second time staying at the Ariston and we were not disappointed!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great, clean, value for money hotel. The staff are friendly and eager to please. Neighbourhood a bit rough, watch for pick pockets on the metro. We would stay at the Ariston again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOANOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    135
    61
    12
    6
See reviews for
34
149
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stopped by Athens for 2 nights while going for a trip around the islands. Probably the best hotel we stayed in during the whole trip, complying with the most basic european standards (...yes we do consider hotels in the island a bit overrated compared to the rest of europe, but this was not the case).

staff is genuinely helpful, breakfast is abundant and definetely good value for money, also location is ok, 2 min walk from a metro station, even though the area might look a bit dodgy but it's ok.

the only downside: rooms facing the main road might be a bit noisy. We shut the window and turned the air conditioning on, still fans got pretty noisy as well, but nothing really you can get too much annoyed for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bum_around2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had an amazing vacation in Athens and Ariston Hotel made it even better! From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by an amazingly nice receptionist (thanks, Matina!) who upgraded our room form a regular one to a deluxe. When we got to our floor, some of the regular rooms were being cleaned and we got a peek: they look comfortable and the design is wonderful, but the deluxe is more spacious, has a bathtub and 2 balconies. They cleaned our room and changed our towels everyday. Oh, and it isn't that noisy! We bought earplugs, as suggested, because we thought we won't be able to sleep... we didn't need them. The hotel didn't have a map, but Matina got us one the next morning. Ariston is a great hotel, with extremely kind and helpful staff, great location (a few feet away from the metro), clean, confortable and has a cute, fresh design. We got a lot more than what we paid for! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InahcuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed at Hotel Astor for a few days in mid-June on my way to Crete. The location was spectacular--the front door was about 400 meters from the entrance to the Larissa metro station, which is only a couple of stops away from all of the main sites. There was also a Carrefour right next to the metro station, which made shopping easy. Some people in other review have described the neighborhood as 'dodgy', but I didn't feel at all unsafe. I probably wouldn't have walked down the quiet side streets alone at night, but I wouldn't do that in most foreign cities.

The rooms were very clean and decorated simply, but tastefully. There are all equipped with mini-refridgerators and split units (A/Cs), and there is a free DSL connection. The beds are standard for Europe--not particularly comfortable.

The people who worked at the front desk were very kind, but most of them (except for one woman) were not particularly helpful with questions about the city or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEOleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Good value, functional hotel in Athens. It's fairly no frills, but it's clean, it's cheap by Athens standards, and it couldn't be better located.We stayed for 3 nights,trying to pack in as much of Athens as we could before heading out to the islands, and it was perfect for that.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellisabatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Hotel looks modern from inside and the rooms are very clean, but you will need ear plugs as you can hear the traffic from the road outside. I often use ear plugs, so don't think it is a problem.
The staff was really nice and helpfull.

The hotel is very good located. Only 100meters away from Larissa Station, and there is a big supermarket also only 100meters away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangogirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

THE BAD NEWS: Hotel is not in a good area, particularly at night...Rooms are small...Cigarette smoke permeated our room...Bathroom had an unusual small tub which had a dangerous undulating bottom; sit, do not stand when showering...towels were alittle threadbare. THE GOOD NEWS: Hotel is clean & simply modern...staff is very friendly & responsive to our emails...nice simple breakfast...no restaurant in the hotel, but we had a good "home-cooked" meal next door at Cafe Nana (try the lemon roasted chicken!)...Metro from the airport is the cheapest way to get there; travel light since you'll need to change from Blue to Red line & will probably get onto a very crowded Metro (we were warned to watch our wallet!), get off at Larisis Stn stop, & hotel is around the corner & about 1 block away...The price was right for Athens & a short one-night stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kahiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Centrotel Hotel
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Athens Lotus Hotel
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#112 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victory Inn
Victory Inn
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Property: Hotel Ariston
Address: Neofitou Metaxa 35 & Diligianni 50 | Station Larissis, Athens 10439, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing