We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and with friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #14 of 79 Athens B&B and Inns
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfy and with friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I was surprised to get such good service and attention on the one night I stayed in the hotel in December 2013. I arrived at the train station from another part of Greece at midnight in an area that is not the best in Athens. It is also not known for good hotels. However, this hotel was really nice, it seemed to be recently renovated and the receptionist was really friendly. I had the opportunity to select a room (I always go for a quiet room and the view comes second). I had a nice room and I understand that it was not the best in the hotel because they were really hesitant to give me that (due to its small size and lack of view). However I got exactly what I wanted - a good night's sleep in a really comfy bed and I enjoyed the treatment of all employees there. The price range is also very good. The only minus is the area it is located in, but still, it is really close to the metro station and you are directly opposite the train station. I recommend this hotel for an overnight stay!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist - there are some more quiet rooms in the back (without the view though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naoum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    136
    64
    12
    6
See reviews for
34
151
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I booked this hotel because of the location and the excellent reviews.
My plan was to visit Meteora for 3days and then return to Athens and run the Athens Classic Marathon.
I arrived on Tuesday afternoon, checked in and did some sightseeing in Athens.
When I returned to the hotel I found out the the Train to Meteora that I have booked will be on Strike... Sophia at the front desk was so kind and helped me find the bus ticket to Meteora!
I had a great conversation with her that night, I couldn't believe it how nice she was!
When I left I left my luggage here. I had a room booked for the night arriving From Meteora because the train was arriving late in the night. No problem with storing my luggage!

I'm from New York, noise from outside was noticeable but didn't bother me.
I probably won't stay here if I was staying in Athens. But for my purpose (taking a train to Meteora early in the morning, arriving Athens from Meteora late in the evening) it was an excellent pick.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiromi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

really nice hotel. well designed, nice rooms, good price and excellent location (50 metres from main station and metro) and very friendly and helpful staff. watch out for the map on Google - you need to turn LEFT out of the metro exit i.e. the hotel is south of the main station.

Room Tip: probably better to go for the highest floor (less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Have stayed there several times. Always very clean and comfortable. Newly restorated and calming modern decorated. Asked for a quiet room and gave me one I couldn't hear a thing!!! Personel very kind, warm and excellent service! The price was very low for what it offered, a real surprise ! Definitelly gonna prefer it for my next trip!

Room Tip: You can ask either for a quiet room in the back, or a room in the front with a balcony, view and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stasa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel was very clean. The staff was great, very helpful and the breakfast was very good. Athens is a little far from the airport, but we were able to find the hotel easily. The subway has signs in English, very helpful. There are some awesome resturants three blocks away near the church, and the food was great and NOT expensive. The bed was ok for me, but my girlfriend thought is was a little hard.

Room Tip: try to get an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

The the staff is welcoming and friendly. We could change our room to a room that didn't face the big street. The rooms are compact and the one facing the wide street are noisy. The breakfast was good for a budget hotel. Some fruits were available too. During breakfast you can follow the action on the street through the big glass front.
The location near a subway station is very helpful to reach the acients sites and the airport also without any traffic jam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I liked this hotel, it was clean, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. It was just a little bit out of the way for us. It is near the subway so you can get to town easily enough. The rooms were nice and big. It just would have been better to be closer to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
1,173 reviews
Victory Inn
#42 of 326 in Athens
297 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Hotel Athens
#86 of 326 in Athens
614 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
455 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#57 of 326 in Athens
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Property: Hotel Ariston
Address: Neofitou Metaxa 35 & Diligianni 50 | Station Larissis, Athens 10439, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing