We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Sardelles

Sardelles
Ranked #138 of 3,971 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Psirri / Gazi
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were in Athens just for 1 day, and a friend recommended Sardelles! This is just awesome! The freshest fish I have ever had in Athens. The sardines were good, but the grilled octopus was just extraordinary! But do not miss their fava and the politiki salad. On top of that the service was perfect. Do not miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foblire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    87
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great sardines”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

During our visit, in early April 2013, Sardelles was still functioning from the next door restaurant (Butcher shop). I have been coming to Sardelles for many years and even in the current situation I think it's worth it. We went during the day and had lunch menu of grilled sardines and kalamari and as appetiser smoked herring. All was a tiny bit salty but otherwise very tasty.

I preferred the atmosphere of original Sardelles with its light island inspired decor but butcher shop is good looking place as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sardelles, the freshest fish you can get in Athens.”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were told by a very good Swiss cook, that Sardelles has the only very fresh fish of Athens. And so it is.We were there several times and what we ate was always of best quality, although not cheep, but fish is nowhere cheep any more in Greece.The service is excellent , the decor very modern and stylish, and you get even a small pot of Basilikum as a gift. We have taken our guests several times there and they were always pleased.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Now in renovation (March 2013)”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We went to this restaurant and found out that it's in renovation (march 2013) but the closer Butcher Shop is handling also the clients of the Sardelles. We ate verybadly: there was only a limited selection of available fish dishes and the ones we choose were very small and salty! We must say anyway that when we complained with the main waitor he apologizes and offered some cakes and liquors. For the moment we think it's not worth to go there for eating fish unitil Sardelles will open again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graziafrontoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good quality - nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Very good quality at a price which is on the inexpensive side. Conveniently located, just around the corner from the Kerameikos metro station. Service is friendly but sometimes (especially weekends), it seems that they could use an extra hand. Try the spicy sardines, the mussels and in the summer the ''politiki'' salad.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FEB2Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sardelles also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Sardelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing