We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sardelles

Sardelles
Ranked #167 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Psirri / Gazi
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Fish mezedes (delicacies )in traditional Greek way of cooking !!Mata the owner and the waiters are so helpfull and make you feel at home !!the spot place is easily reachable since it's in gazi area !!this fish tavern is gay friendly as well!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aristeidis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    78
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the place to go to if you are looking for fresh seafood at a reasonable price. We were lucky to have found this place since most of the establishments we ate at during our stay in Greece carried frozen seafood. We ordered a substantial amount of food including sardines, anchovies and mussels, all of which were excellent. Service was good and staff was very knowledgeable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant we went to in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Go here. It's great. The best taramusalta we had in all of Athens. Excelled squid and sardines. I think they are remodeling their old place but have opened up their menu at the adjacent Butcher Shop. It's a two minute walk from the Gazi metro station.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were in Athens just for 1 day, and a friend recommended Sardelles! This is just awesome! The freshest fish I have ever had in Athens. The sardines were good, but the grilled octopus was just extraordinary! But do not miss their fava and the politiki salad. On top of that the service was perfect. Do not miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foblire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great sardines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

During our visit, in early April 2013, Sardelles was still functioning from the next door restaurant (Butcher shop). I have been coming to Sardelles for many years and even in the current situation I think it's worth it. We went during the day and had lunch menu of grilled sardines and kalamari and as appetiser smoked herring. All was a tiny bit salty but otherwise very tasty.

I preferred the atmosphere of original Sardelles with its light island inspired decor but butcher shop is good looking place as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tarulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sardelles also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Sardelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing